Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2009, 05:44 PM   #1
raptir
Junior Member
raptir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Stanza/Kindle on iPod Touch
Adding chapter breaks by number of pages/lines

I have a few PDFs that I want to convert to ePub to use with Stanza on the iPod Touch. Unfortunately, the chapter divisions are simply in the format of:

(CHAPTER NUMBER):

(CHAPTER NAME)

In the same font and size as the rest of the text. As a result, when it is converted to HTML, the chapter titles take on the same attributes as the rest of the text, and none of the filters I can think to set up will catch these chapter titles. Stanza seems to need chapter breaks, as any file that has long chapters will take a very long time to load every time. Is there any way to add a chapter break every certain number of pages or lines? Or any other way to arbitrarily break down this document so that it will load faster in Stanza? Thanks.
raptir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,323
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
change your output profile to sony reader. calibre will automatically split the epub file into smaller chunks internally
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:14 PM   #3
raptir
Junior Member
raptir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Stanza/Kindle on iPod Touch
That unfortunately did not seem to change anything. There's still no TOC, and opening the book in Stanza still causes it to freeze while trying to load.
raptir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:21 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,323
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
in that case its not because of the size.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:24 PM   #5
raptir
Junior Member
raptir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Stanza/Kindle on iPod Touch
Well, if I cut the book down it loads fine.

EDIT: And by that I mean cut just a chunk of converted book using Signet and transfer that to my iPod. Also, when I use Stanza Desktop to convert it, which does automatically throw some chapter breaks in, it loads fine. The only problem with Stanza Desktop is that it completely mangles the formatting.
raptir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:04 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,323
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You can manually force chapter breaks using the various chapter/page break detection options.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:43 PM   #7
raptir
Junior Member
raptir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Stanza/Kindle on iPod Touch
Well, I found a decent work around. After converting it to an ePub, I extracted it and edited the HTML. I changed the chapter titles to class='chapter', and then converted the ePub again. That split it up, obviously.

I did have one other question, and I don't want to clutter up the forum with a new thread. When converting the PDF, it added in paragraph breaks at every point where there was a new line on the PDF, even if it was just due to word wrap. Is there a way to correct that without editing it manually?

EDIT: I figured out the "line unwrapping" for PDFs. I chose 0.5, since it said it was the default, and that seemed to work. Will that work in most cases? What would a value of 1 do?

Last edited by raptir; 10-20-2009 at 12:25 AM.
raptir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:36 AM   #8
raptir
Junior Member
raptir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Stanza/Kindle on iPod Touch
Is there a way, using the built-in options, to add a chapter break every 20 pages or something? I've found a few books that I want to convert that do not lend themselves well to editing the class to chapter.
raptir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:11 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,323
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Not by 20 lines but certainly by every 2nd paragraph or whatever. Just use the page break XPath expression. You will have toread up on and understand XPath however.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ebook chapter titles: with or without chapter number? amoroso Writers' Corner 16 06-14-2011 07:35 AM
Calibre making unwanted chapter breaks PatNY Calibre 6 10-08-2010 10:58 PM
Automating splitting at Chapter Breaks John Everett Sigil 9 06-01-2010 03:53 AM
Remove Chapter Breaks and Search an Entire Document Marcy Sigil 6 04-15-2010 01:11 PM
Help w/ Chapter Breaks pastorjamie Calibre 1 02-25-2010 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.