Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2009, 03:02 PM   #1
Clif_Hamel
Junior Member
Clif_Hamel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vermont
Device: prs500
Calibre <> PRS-500

Wow, been looking at Calibre for my PRS-500 and so want to use it instead of eReader. Been looking for instructions on how to get my PRS to work with Calibre but can only find bits and pieces on how to stop eReader and get PRS to recognize Calibre. (Window XP, latest eReader, latest Calibre, not too keen on deleting drivers until I'm sure everything will work). I'm really anxious to start using Calibre so much that I erased all my books on PRS and need to fill it up again.
Anybody have some line by line instructions on how to make it all work.
Clif_Hamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 06:14 PM   #2
Landrovan
Enthusiast
Landrovan began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 42
Karma: 14
Join Date: Jul 2009
Device: dr800sg
Never use eReader and Calibre at the same time when plugin the PRS. Close eReader and open Calibre and then plug our reader. It should work directly!
Landrovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 08:53 PM   #3
Clif_Hamel
Junior Member
Clif_Hamel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vermont
Device: prs500
When I plug in my PRS ereader starts automatically so I deleted the Sony ereader on my computer, then started Caibre and plugged in my PRS. Same response, PRS indicates a connection but Calibre says no unit is plugged in so I re-installed Sony ereader. I have a work around for now which gets my books on the reader:
1. Convert the books I want to PRS format.
2. Use Calibre to save only the PRS books to a new folder, close Calibre.
3. Start Sony ereader locate the new books in the directory I just saved them to.
4. Move the books to my reader.
Yes, I know Calibre would be so much better but if I can't get it to work this is the only way I can get my reading done.

I'll keep looking for a way to get the Calibre to see my PRS in the meantime.
Thanks...
Clif_Hamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, prs-500, recognize

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect my prs-500 to calibre nerys Calibre 5 02-28-2010 02:24 PM
Calibre 0.6.30 and PRS-500 Tamara Calibre 5 12-29-2009 10:44 AM
PRS-500 not recognized by Calibre? TheMooch Calibre 29 12-15-2009 09:29 AM
Calibre not seeing prs-500 Gamgee72 Calibre 3 09-05-2008 07:05 PM
Question-Calibre and Prs-500 moosejons_dad Calibre 4 07-20-2008 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.