Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2009, 06:23 PM   #1
earthq
Enthusiast
earthq began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: none
calibre 0.6.12 does not migrate DB nor launch

Hi,

I am running 0.5.14 (Windows) fine.
When trying to upgrade to 0.6.12 (same happened with 0.6.2), calibre.exe starts and unexpectedly shutsdown. No window or icon are shown.

Guessing that there is an underlying DB upgrade issue, I tried to upgrade db manually using calibre-debug.exe --migrate.
This command throws the following error:

Migrating Calibre DB ...
Upgrading database from version: 4
Upgrading database from version: 5
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 216, in <module>
File "debug.py", line 203, in main
File "debug.py", line 88, in migrate
File "calibre\library\database.pyo", line 808, in __init__
File "calibre\library\database.pyo", line 699, in upgrade_version5
sqlite3.OperationalError: no such trigger: fkc_delete_books_tags_link

Any hints?
earthq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:27 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,415
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
calibre-debug --migrate is actually for migrating 0.4 series databases to 0.5

Run calibre in a terminal as

calibre-debug -g

to see why it is not starting.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 09-16-2009, 06:39 PM   #3
earthq
Enthusiast
earthq began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: none
I am usually running "calibre --with-library" and using CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY environment variable.

How can I do this now with calibre-debug.exe -g ?
earthq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:49 PM   #4
earthq
Enthusiast
earthq began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: none
calibre-debug -g throws:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 216, in <module>
File "debug.py", line 184, in main
File "H:\eBooks Library\calibre\library.zip\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 33, in
<module>
File "calibre\gui2\widgets.pyo", line 21, in <module>
File "calibre\utils\fonts\__init__.pyo", line 17, in <module>
RuntimeError: Failed to load fontconfig with errorLL load failed: The specifie
d module could not be found.
earthq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:59 PM   #5
earthq
Enthusiast
earthq began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 30
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: none
Wrong dir ...

Ups... I run it from a wrong dir.
Running it from inside calibre dir it shows:

link hasn't been detected!
link hasn't been detected!
Using proxies: {'ftp': '127.0.0.1:8080', 'http': '127.0.0.1:8080'}
Upgrading database to version 5...
Upgrading database to version 6...
Upgrading database to version 7...

Then shows UI with books...
When closing, no more output is shown.

Found the issue ...
For 0.5.14 this was my Calibre start script:

@echo off
echo Starting Calibre ...
set CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY=%~dp0UserData
"%~dp0calibre\calibre.exe" --with-library "%~dp0Library"

This works for 0.5.14, but calibre 0.6.* seems to need to be started from Calibre directory rather than a parent directory, such as:

@echo off
echo Starting Calibre ...
set CALIBRE_CONFIG_DIRECTORY=%~dp0UserData
cd "%~dp0calibre"
calibre.exe --with-library "%~dp0Library"



Thanks.
earthq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre launch failure marcaronson408 Calibre 4 07-23-2010 08:43 PM
Can't launch Calibre on MacOS peterloron Calibre 2 12-31-2009 02:35 AM
Calibre won't launch at all, Leopard 1.5.6 gconway Calibre 3 05-28-2009 07:24 PM
Calibre re-launch problem tonyt Calibre 5 04-16-2009 04:15 AM
impossible to launch calibre littoral Calibre 22 11-09-2008 06:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.