Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2009, 10:44 PM   #1
nemo81
Junior Member
nemo81 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 12
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: Prs-505
new version 6.12 does not start

Hello,
I just finish to install the new version 6.12 on my laptop with windows xp service pack 3.
Good installation proces, but if I try to lunch the program, nothing happen. The hard disk work for 2sec and then nothing.
already tryed a second installation and varius restart.
any idea?
nemo81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 07:58 AM   #2
nemo81
Junior Member
nemo81 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 12
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: Prs-505
actually I uninstall the version 6.12. I have only the installer of version 6.07 on my laptop, so with this everything work.
waiting for version 6.13 in order to solve the problem.
nemo81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:10 AM   #3
awake738
Junior Member
awake738 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: prs505
same problem here with 0.6.12 - calibre process starts up but dies almost as quickly.. unfortunately I don't seem to have an older rev to hand...
output from calibre-debug is as below.. hopefully this means something to someone... ;-)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 16, in <module>
File "calibre\startup.pyo", line 35, in <module>
File "calibre\utils\localization.pyo", line 66, in set_translators
File "calibreutils\localization.pyo", line 27, in get_lang
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 23, in <module>
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'special_folder_path'

this is on WinXP SP2 BTW...

Last edited by awake738; 09-12-2009 at 09:19 AM.
awake738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 09:13 AM   #4
labhaoise
Junior Member
labhaoise began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
Same as

I have the same issue as all of you. Upgraded to version 6.12 and now it is not opening. I actually have the same results on debug as Awake does, so it's not just something I did. I have opened a ticket on the Calibre website, so hopefully this can be seen and resolved.
I am running it with Windows XP Service Pack 3.

Last edited by labhaoise; 09-12-2009 at 09:30 AM. Reason: system running under
labhaoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:00 AM   #5
GRiker
Comparer of the Ephemeris
GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,462
Karma: 402333
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: iPad
Works for me in Vista.

G
GRiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 10:02 AM   #6
yekim54
What the Dog Saw
yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.yekim54 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
yekim54's Avatar
 
Posts: 303
Karma: 981684
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dunn Loring
Device: Sony PRS-505, PRS-650, Asus TF101
I upgraded from version 0.6.11 to 0.6.12 and calibre seems to be working fine for me (Windows XP, SP2, and Avira AntiVir Personal edition).
yekim54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:10 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,762
Karma: 4369667
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Post the result of running

calibre-debug -c "from calibre import plugins; print plugins['winutil']"
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:18 PM   #8
labhaoise
Junior Member
labhaoise began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
As I am getting the same error, line for line as awake738, I entered what you suggested and this is the result:

C:\Documents and Settings\Louise>calibre-debug -c"from calibre import plugins; print plugins['winutil']"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 16, in <module>
File "calibre\startup.pyo", line 35, in <module>
File "calibre\utils\localization.pyo", line 66, in set_translators
File "calibre\utils\localization.pyo", line 27, in get_lang
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 23, in <module>
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'special_folder_path'

I tried a fresh reinstall, and still getting the same result.

Last edited by labhaoise; 09-12-2009 at 12:21 PM.
labhaoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:29 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,762
Karma: 4369667
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try first uninstalling and then re-installing.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:39 PM   #10
labhaoise
Junior Member
labhaoise began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
I initially upgraded from 0.6.11 to 0.6.12. I then uninstalled and reinstalled. I unfortunately am getting the same outcome. I hope that I can resolve this, as this is an excellent program
labhaoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 12:58 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,762
Karma: 4369667
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Download the build linked to below and then try the debug command I typed previously, it should give us more useful information about the problem.

http://calibre.kovidgoyal.net/downlo...bre-0.6.12.exe
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:01 PM   #12
cvkemp
Loving life
cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 563
Karma: 1007698
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hutto, Texas
Device: Samsung Note 2, Nexus 7 32 gig. (2013), Dell 2350 , touch screen 23
Not sure what the issue is I am using .612 and it is working great on my win 7 32bit setup

I do have to stop the anti-virus service if I wish to import ebooks

Chuck
cvkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:03 PM   #13
dreamers
Member
dreamers began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tatsuno, Japan
Device: KOBO Touch, iPad, iPhone
i am on win7 64 bit with nod32 and it works like a charm.
dreamers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:19 PM   #14
labhaoise
Junior Member
labhaoise began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
This is the result after doing a fresh install with the link you gave me:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Louise>calibre-debug -c "from calibre import plugins;
print plugins['winutil']"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 16, in <module>
File "calibre\startup.pyo", line 31, in <module>
RuntimeError: Failed to load the winutil plugin: DLL load failed: This applicati
on has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reins
talling the application may fix this problem.

Thank you in advance for any solutions you can give me

Last edited by labhaoise; 09-12-2009 at 01:22 PM.
labhaoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 01:24 PM   #15
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 24,762
Karma: 4369667
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
OK next thing to try is

uninstall calibre, then manually delete any files remaining in C:\Program Files\calibre (or wherever you chose to install it) and then re-install
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.27 won't start mtravellerh Calibre 3 12-12-2009 11:37 AM
Where do I Start????? artemisblossom Workshop 1 10-02-2009 05:28 PM
Ubuntu Jaunty: New version of calibre won't start adouma Calibre 4 10-01-2009 10:35 PM
So, how do I start? fbrII Upload Help 7 08-05-2009 06:01 PM
Help -- Where to start? toddyl Sony Reader 4 03-30-2007 02:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.