Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2009, 03:54 AM   #1
sherman
Addict
sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.
 
Posts: 279
Karma: 134960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland - NZ
Device: Sony PRS-505/SC, B&N Nook, Sony PRS-650/BC, Kobo Glo
Windows 7 (64 bit) + Calibre 0.5.14 + crashing

Hey, I'm trying to run Calibre 0.5.14 on my new 64 bit windows 7 RTM install, however I can't even start using the GUI, let alone do any importing and conversions.

What happens is that the Calibre window appears, and immediately the following error pops up.

Code:
u'pubdate'
Detailed traceback:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "calibre\gui2\library.pyo", line 556, in headerData
KeyError: u'pubdate'
Pressing OK makes a new error box replace it (the same error) and I can't go any further. The only way to exit calibre is to end task via the task manager.

I installed 0.6.7 first to try it out (it worked fine) before uninstalling it and installing 0.5.14. I find I much prefer the LRF generation that 0.5.x produces. It seems more...reliable than that of the 0.6.x series (eg: font embedding actually works...).
sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 05:20 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,103
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Calibre 0.6.x series makes changes to the format of the metadata.db file that means it is no longer usable by the 0.5.x series of Calibre.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 08-23-2009, 06:49 AM   #3
sherman
Addict
sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.
 
Posts: 279
Karma: 134960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland - NZ
Device: Sony PRS-505/SC, B&N Nook, Sony PRS-650/BC, Kobo Glo
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
Calibre 0.6.x series makes changes to the format of the metadata.db file that means it is no longer usable by the 0.5.x series of Calibre.
I made sure to delete the metadata.db file - infact, I removed my entire "library" (such as it was - only two books). It even does it after creating a brand new calibre library.
sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:45 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,433
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That error indicates you are running code from an 0.6.x release on a database from an 0.5.x release.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 06:02 PM   #5
sherman
Addict
sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.
 
Posts: 279
Karma: 134960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland - NZ
Device: Sony PRS-505/SC, B&N Nook, Sony PRS-650/BC, Kobo Glo
???

Ok, so apart from uninstalling, what else do I need to do to completely remove all traces of 0.6.x?
sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 06:10 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,433
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Delete the installation folder.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 06:28 PM   #7
sherman
Addict
sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.
 
Posts: 279
Karma: 134960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland - NZ
Device: Sony PRS-505/SC, B&N Nook, Sony PRS-650/BC, Kobo Glo
Right, so I unstalled Calibre 0.5.14, deleted my library, and then looked in Program Files (x86) for any signs of the calibre directory, there was none, so I renstalled. Same thing happened.

Uninstalled again, and this time did a search of C: drive for all calibre related files and directories. And Bingo! there's the problem. It seems that uninstalling calibre 0.6.x didn't remove the calibre files from Users\<user>\AppData\Local\temp .

Removed those, reinstalled 0.5.14 and it's all working fine.


Thank you for your help Kovid.
sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 03:39 PM   #8
Faenad
Ad astra per aspera
Faenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enoughFaenad will become famous soon enough
 
Faenad's Avatar
 
Posts: 347
Karma: 724
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mexico
Device: PRS-505, PRS-300 & HTC HD2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman View Post
Uninstalled again, and this time did a search of C: drive for all calibre related files and directories. And Bingo! there's the problem. It seems that uninstalling calibre 0.6.x didn't remove the calibre files from Users\<user>\AppData\Local\temp .
In my case, it was also necessary to do a search for "calibre" in Regedit and then delete all relevant entry. Digging it out is takes indeed some works!

Finally I was able to reinstall calibre 5.5, which solved a bug I have with LRF output (the margins settings were ignored and replaced by a big margin).
Faenad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 03:46 PM   #9
jshoemaker
Junior Member
jshoemaker began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Linux Netbook w/calibre
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That error indicates you are running code from an 0.6.x release on a database from an 0.5.x release.
I never noticed a problem during any upgrade phase - somehow the metadata db must have been converted by an upgrade version? Losing the metadata db in a future upgrade is a large concern for me, as I have thousands of books in the collection, most with manually tagged metadata; a manual retagging would take weeks...
jshoemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:31 PM   #10
sherman
Addict
sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.sherman can bend spoons with a thought.
 
Posts: 279
Karma: 134960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland - NZ
Device: Sony PRS-505/SC, B&N Nook, Sony PRS-650/BC, Kobo Glo
The problem only occurs going from 0.5.x to 0.6.x then BACK to 0.5.x...

Needless to say, I bit the bullet and switched to epub, so I no longer need to run 0.5.x
sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:40 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,433
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman View Post
The problem only occurs going from 0.5.x to 0.6.x then BACK to 0.5.x...

Needless to say, I bit the bullet and switched to epub, so I no longer need to run 0.5.x
Yeah going forward then back is not supported (the database schema changes with time).
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-300 Installation Interrupted on Windows XP 32-bit Chrill Sony Reader 3 08-17-2010 11:07 PM
Crashing Problems With Windows 7 and Built in Viewer Athryn Calibre 6 12-28-2009 04:47 PM
PRS-300 Windows 7 64 bit issues I should know about? CupofDice Sony Reader 10 09-22-2009 05:09 PM
Calibre - Ever on 64 bit Vista or Windows 7? estral Calibre 16 08-22-2009 05:38 PM
Calibre and Windows 7 64 bit with Sony PRS-505 ChrisW Calibre 1 08-06-2009 08:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.