Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > Bookeen

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2009, 02:41 PM   #1
Tremir
Junior Member
Tremir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: cybook gen3
Computer doesn't recognize cybook

I've had a cybook gen3 for about a year now, I've upgraded to a new laptop, running vista sp2, and the new computer doesn't recognize the cybook.
the old computer doesn't have any trouble.

When I connect the cybook to the new computer when the cybook is off, it charges normally, but if I turn it on then it stops charging and I can read normally. It doesn't go into slave mode, and I can't access it or the SD card on it.
Tremir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:01 AM   #2
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
HarryT's Avatar
 
Posts: 62,621
Karma: 40373079
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Device: PW2, iPad Retina Mini, iPhone 4, MS Surface Pro, Onyx T68, N7,
Have you tried all the USB ports on your new computer? Not all USB ports are equal - very often, some are connected directly to the USB controller and will work, while others will go via an internal hub and won't.

Does the Windows device manager show anything as being connected when you plug in the Gen3?
HarryT is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 08-21-2009, 04:58 AM   #3
Tremir
Junior Member
Tremir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: cybook gen3
I have 2 USB ports, and I get the same results with both.
The device manager doesn't show anything when I connect the device.
Tremir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:59 AM   #4
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
HarryT's Avatar
 
Posts: 62,621
Karma: 40373079
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Device: PW2, iPad Retina Mini, iPhone 4, MS Surface Pro, Onyx T68, N7,
Do you have a different cable that you could try?
HarryT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:01 AM   #5
T_Frain_K
Booyah!
T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.T_Frain_K once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
T_Frain_K's Avatar
 
Posts: 673
Karma: 1753
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austria
Device: Cybook Gen3 // Samsung Galaxy S
Then you should not be able to access anything esle via these ports, are you?
T_Frain_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:27 AM   #6
Tremir
Junior Member
Tremir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: cybook gen3
I have no idea what you mean. I'm able to use those ports to connect anything else I try, except for the cybook.

As for another cable, not on me. I have the original cable at home, which I'll try when I get there.
Tremir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:59 AM   #7
Jellby
frumious Bandersnatch
Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Jellby's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,985
Karma: 4346919
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Spaniard in Sweden
Device: Cybook Orizon, Kobo Aura
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tremir View Post
As for another cable, not on me. I have the original cable at home, which I'll try when I get there.
Ah... Could it be that the cable you are using does not have a thin enough tip at the Cybook end? If the plastic bit is too thick, it won't go all the way inside the Cybook and the connection will be deficient, the symptoms you mention are consistent with this.
Jellby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:25 PM   #8
Idoine
Which book will be next ?
Idoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it isIdoine knows what time it is
 
Idoine's Avatar
 
Posts: 662
Karma: 2172
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Device: Cybook Gen3 1.5, Sony PRS 600 RC, Samsung Omnia...
I'm using Vista too ! No problem for me, but I always turn my Cybook ON before connecting it.
What is your Cybook version, by the way ?
Idoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:20 PM   #9
Tremir
Junior Member
Tremir began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2009
Device: cybook gen3
hmm.
switching the cable didn't seem to matter, but switching the cybook on before connecting it solved the problem, which is really weird considering that turning it on after connecting wasn't a problem before I changed computers.
Then again, the cybook just got back from repairs, and it returned with the latest version, which might have started it.
No idea, really, but it works now.
Tremir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 06:26 AM   #10
Godzil
a pthread?? where? where?
Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.Godzil can even cheer up an android equipped with a defective Genuine Personality Prototype.
 
Godzil's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,741
Karma: 30462
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Somewhere in EU
Device: Newton MessagePad 2100, and only this
Bookeen changed the way the Cybook is started (if you have a 400Mhz one) before they never really stop if you press the reset button, or plug the USB cable when it was off. They correct this behavior on more recent version of the firmware.
Godzil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-300 My computer won't recognize my Sony PRS-300 tbfont Sony Reader Dev Corner 3 09-11-2010 04:52 PM
Computer doesn't recognize PP? Doranwen Astak EZReader 3 06-30-2010 05:29 PM
PRS-600 Computer doesn't recognize my reader? sminarovich Sony Reader 4 01-06-2010 11:30 AM
Computer wont recognize PRS 500 Reader SillyBear80 Sony Reader 2 12-20-2008 01:55 AM
Won't recognize Reader on 2nd computer KlondikeGeoff Sony Reader 3 04-29-2007 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.