Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2009, 04:58 AM   #16
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
Hi Joop,

Thanks for your suggestion. I monitor it by using standard Windows Task Manager (Process tab) seeing its CPU and memory usage. What additional benefit of the software you suggest?
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:13 AM   #17
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,051
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
I am not sure if this related, but I have noted that I have a problem with Calibre 0.6 series where if I tried to convert books the memory usage of the main Calibre process grows by an amount directly proportional to the number of books to be converted, and that this memory is not released when the conversion finishes. Therefore after a while it is necessary to close and restart Calibre to avoid the system running into problems because of excessive RAM usage.

It would be useful to know if others see the same behavior so I have an idea whether it is genuine Calibre issue, or simply a problem with my system in some way.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:32 AM   #18
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
Hi Joop,

My problem is like yours; but the growing memory was on Calibre-parallel process when I was fetching a few enews. It used to grow up to 8xxMB and even after the enews fetching completed, the process was still running consuming 8xxMB of my memory. I also saw several Calibre-parallel.exe processes running, not just one.

When this happens, I saw my hard drive activity light on all the time (as if it was busy doing something I don't know), and my system was slow to crawl.

This happened in version 0.6.4.

I've not tried 0.6.6 yet.

Last edited by bthoven; 08-20-2009 at 05:35 AM.
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:59 AM   #19
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,051
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthoven View Post
When this happens, I saw my hard drive activity light on all the time (as if it was busy doing something I don't know), and my system was slow to crawl.
I would guess this is Windows paging kicking in. It does kill performance if you get a lot of it.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 04:58 PM   #20
JvdW
Zealot
JvdW doesn't litterJvdW doesn't litter
 
Posts: 115
Karma: 146
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands Veenendaal
Device: Palm T5, Sony PRS-505, Nook Color
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthoven View Post
Hi Joop,

Thanks for your suggestion. I monitor it by using standard Windows Task Manager (Process tab) seeing its CPU and memory usage. What additional benefit of the software you suggest?
For one thing it allows you to monitor each process individually and it shows you if a process dies by colouring it red and its green when its starting up.
Further I think it allows you to see way more information than the TaskManager can/will.
It will even show you what files a process is accessing, network connections.

Give it a try, there is no installation process involved (one exe) and you can even start it from the website, IE/FF settings allowing it.

Regards,

Joop
JvdW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:21 AM   #21
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JvdW View Post
For one thing it allows you to monitor each process individually and it shows you if a process dies by colouring it red and its green when its starting up.
Further I think it allows you to see way more information than the TaskManager can/will.
It will even show you what files a process is accessing, network connections.

Give it a try, there is no installation process involved (one exe) and you can even start it from the website, IE/FF settings allowing it.

Regards,

Joop
Thanks a lot. This is now interesting.
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:15 PM   #22
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
sorry

Last edited by bthoven; 08-22-2009 at 05:06 AM.
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:15 AM   #23
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
Hi,

Even using the latest version of Calibre, my notebook (Pentium Dual 1.6ghz, memory 1.5gb, plenty of C: drive free space) become very slow whilst retrieving enews. I notice the harddrive led light is on all the time. Any idea what cause this problem?
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 02:34 AM   #24
bthoven
Evangelist
bthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enoughbthoven will become famous soon enough
 
bthoven's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 544
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Device: Kindle'r 3, iPhone 3Gs, iPad 2, Galaxy Tab Wifi
As I still cannot solve the problem of slowness when retrieving the enews, probably due to my own pc setup, I decide to go back to Mobipocket desktop for enews retrieval and use Kindle app on iPhone to read those enews. It works very well.

See how I do it here:

http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...277#post602277
bthoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic replace old enews files, how? bthoven Calibre 4 11-08-2009 10:33 AM
eNews of the MobiPocket. llwwss Bookeen 21 10-22-2009 10:52 AM
Possible to replace some 500 files with 505 firmware? TadW Sony Reader 8 08-03-2008 08:49 AM
Auto correcting RTF files in Open Office jckatz Sony Reader 1 01-30-2008 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.