Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
troymc
Groupie
troymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 161
Karma: 608
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Device: Sony PRS-505 + B&N Nook + Motion LE1700 + Motorola Xoom Wifi
multiple calibre-servers?

Does anyone know if you can run multiple calibre-server instances on one system to serve multiple libraries?

In other words, can you point calibre-server at a specific library like you can some of the other tools?

eg:
calibre has --with-library=WITH_LIBRARY
calibredb list has --library-path=LIBRARY_PATH


troymc
troymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 06:21 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,990
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
With a bit of scripting you probably could. In the script change the path to the calibre library in global.py, launch the server instance and change it back and launch the next server istance and so on
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 08:16 PM   #3
troymc
Groupie
troymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enoughtroymc will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 161
Karma: 608
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Device: Sony PRS-505 + B&N Nook + Motion LE1700 + Motorola Xoom Wifi
Thanks! That appears to work fine. I now have 6 libraries up & running and proxied thru a secure central apache instance.

Is there a "correct" or "preferred" way to shut down calibre-server? Is a 'kill -HUP' on the loader PID safe?

And am I correct in thinking that I should NOT be running calibre & calibre-server against the same library simultaneously?

troymc
troymc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 08:42 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,990
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You should only ever run one write process against a given library. Since the server doesn't do writes, you should be fine, however changes you make with the GUI wont show till a server restart.

-HUP is fine to kill the server.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ODPS client to calibre (Bug #1665, Download from Bookshelf/Stanza servers) hakan42 Calibre 11 12-05-2010 12:19 PM
Calibre with Multiple Devices? Chrysanthemum Calibre 5 07-24-2010 03:15 AM
Calibre 0.7 and Multiple devices itimpi Calibre 2 06-05-2010 04:45 AM
Multiple version of Calibre? John F Calibre 2 05-07-2010 11:02 AM
Calibre on multiple PC's? chaznsc Calibre 12 10-03-2009 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.