Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2016, 02:06 PM   #1
Hattie
Enthusiast
Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
Posts: 31
Karma: 1942
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: many
Calibre won't load on Mac

I'm running version 2.56 with a Macbook version 10.10.5. When I try to open Calibre, I get the bouncing icon, then it disappears without loading the app. I created a new user in OS X and was able to access my libraries. This happened several installations ago & I've just been switching users but this is less than optimal. I've seen several suggestions in the forums. I'm not sure whether to completely uninstall (and if so, how?) or delete prefs (couldn't find that file?)

Thank you for your suggestions!
Hattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 02:17 PM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 18,873
Karma: 17287248
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT,Galaxy Tab 2
I suspect a damaged file in Calibre Preferences folder

(not a MAC person)

Search for a (hidden) file gui.py
That should find the preferences folder.
If you rename the Containing folder. Calibre will recreate a new one when it starts and can't find it.

Note: ALL CUSTOMIZATIONS done in preferences will default to original

Note IF you have a Backup of this folder from BEFORE things went south, just REPLACE it
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 05-01-2016, 03:03 PM   #3
Hattie
Enthusiast
Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
Posts: 31
Karma: 1942
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: many
I appreciate you taking the time to answer so quickly, @theducks!

You were correct! I was able to find the gui.py file & renamed the folder, and Calibre started fine! Unfortunately, the oldest backup I have of gui.py is evidently after this started. Is that file the one that contains all my prefs, or is there another file in that folder that has all my customizations?

Thank you again!

Last edited by Hattie; 05-01-2016 at 04:54 PM.
Hattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 03:46 PM   #4
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 18,873
Karma: 17287248
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT,Galaxy Tab 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hattie View Post
I appreciate you taking the time to answer so quickly, @theducks!

You were correct! I was able to find the gui.py file & renamed the folder, and Calibre started fine! Unfortunately, the oldest backup I have of gui.py is evidently after this started. Is that file the one that contains all my prefs, or is there another file in that folder that has my all my customizations?

Thank you again!
They are all spread out (by type/function)
Calibre must NOT be running
Try putting A FEW pieces back at a time. Start Calibre
Repeat until it fails (the reason for doing in small sets )

I would copy All the OLD sub folders (PI, ...) first (all in a big batch)

Then I would do files a few at a time, that DO NOT have files of the same name-different extensions... Those are usually Pairs that need to be done together: eg gui.py+gui.json ( 1 pair at a time?)
Do the pairs last

You probably will be safe coping, if the file has a really old (well before the problems) date
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 06:14 PM   #5
Hattie
Enthusiast
Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.Hattie once ate a cherry pie in a record 7 seconds.
 
Posts: 31
Karma: 1942
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: many
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
They are all spread out (by type/function)
Calibre must NOT be running
Try putting A FEW pieces back at a time. Start Calibre
Repeat until it fails (the reason for doing in small sets )

I would copy All the OLD sub folders (PI, ...) first (all in a big batch)

Then I would do files a few at a time, that DO NOT have files of the same name-different extensions... Those are usually Pairs that need to be done together: eg gui.py+gui.json ( 1 pair at a time?)
Do the pairs last

You probably will be safe copying, if the file has a really old (well before the problems) date
Some great tips here! This thread will be invaluable for the next time my prefs get out of sorts!

I decided to work backwards from what you said so I would have my most current config & prefs.

1. I put the most recent Library/Preferences/Calibre folder in its place again.
2. Using your tips, I started with the folders. I switched them out with an older backup until Calibre would open. The problem folder was "metadata sources" All of the identifiers would allow Calibre to open but "global.json" Once it was deleted, Calibre would open with the most current prefs folder.
3. I had to restore the database of my main library for some reason.

All seems to be fine now, without losing any prefs, customization, etc. What a pleasure to be back in business, all in the same user account!

My sincere thanks to you for your help, @theducks!
Hattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 07:35 PM   #6
theducks
Well trained by Cats
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 18,873
Karma: 17287248
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT,Galaxy Tab 2
Wow!
Something went way south. Did you have a power issue back 'when'?

Glad you got it all good again
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre won't load wwwordsmith Library Management 7 02-20-2015 03:43 PM
Calibre won't load. FennecTheFox Calibre 2 01-26-2015 08:12 PM
Calibre won't load jcrawfordx Calibre 12 03-24-2013 01:47 PM
Calibre won't load trumphodge Devices 7 07-13-2012 07:05 AM
Calibre Won't Load calibrepf Calibre 6 12-10-2009 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.