Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2009, 06:57 PM   #1
coplate
Member
coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.coplate ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 426280
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: prs-505, Kindle Keyboard 3g
Calibre 0.5.14 issues when installing

First I wanted to thank kovidgoyal for writing this software, I use it on my Mac and windows box, but I have seom problems installing it on Windows XP MCE 2005, I though I'd post.

I have 0.5.3 installed, and wanted to upgrade to 0.5.14

I download the installer to my desktop and double click it, I can see in the task manager that it begins to execute, but then the process ends.


I do not see any entries in the event viewer in control panel.

I have replicated this issue as my user ( with admin privileges ) and when logged in directly as Administrator


THe path to my desktop is :
C:\Documents and Settings\Anonymo usnameA.ANONYMO-7893CC8\Desktop
The path to administrator's is of course:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop


However, when I run if from any of the following, the installer starts up fine:

c:\
C:\Documents and Settings
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Setup Files
C:\A folder name with spaces\another one

So the issue is clearly not length of path, or spaces in path.


I wasn't sure If I should open a bug request for this, but Hopefully someone will find this and sparethemselves a few hours of searching down a problem, and just copy the installer to
c:\
coplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:27 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,436
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Weird bug, thanks for posting it.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Calibre on MAC arjay99 Calibre 12 06-05-2012 05:49 PM
Problem installing calibre jamic1301 Calibre 3 08-10-2011 11:05 AM
INSTALLING 0.6.29 CALIBRE VERSION nones Calibre 12 12-25-2009 11:40 AM
installing calibre on JJ: Help! Bierius Calibre 11 06-17-2009 05:56 PM
Re-installing calibre and having issues 0.4.124 Granitefall Calibre 3 01-03-2009 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.