Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Alternative Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2009, 10:53 AM   #1
tr_tr
Member
tr_tr began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 22
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: none
Smartq7 + SD card compatibility

Hi,

I have received my Smartq7 and played with it for a while. Installed Xournal and that is probably the reason I can't boot the OS anymore. Every boot ends up with a blank screen.

Reflashing the firmware doesn't seem to work and it might have something to do with my sd cards.
I have tried a SanDisk ultra II SDHC 4GB (class 4) - a Peak Ultra 1 GB and a SanDisk 1 GB microsd

I don't mind buying a new card, but I want to be sure that what I buy is compatible with the smartq7. So could someone post their brand and type of card that was able to flash the smartq7.

Thanks.
tr_tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:25 AM   #2
Nation.A.List
Addict
Nation.A.List doesn't litterNation.A.List doesn't litter
 
Posts: 270
Karma: 112
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: England
Device: SmartQ 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr_tr View Post
Hi,

I have received my Smartq7 and played with it for a while. Installed Xournal and that is probably the reason I can't boot the OS anymore. Every boot ends up with a blank screen.

Reflashing the firmware doesn't seem to work and it might have something to do with my sd cards.
I have tried a SanDisk ultra II SDHC 4GB (class 4) - a Peak Ultra 1 GB and a SanDisk 1 GB microsd

I don't mind buying a new card, but I want to be sure that what I buy is compatible with the smartq7. So could someone post their brand and type of card that was able to flash the smartq7.

Thanks.
I have used 8GB Transcend Class 6 SDHC cards for flashing.
Are you fully conversant with re-flashing? (especially using mains power whilst doing so)
http://chronolytics.com/MID.html
Nation.A.List is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:47 AM   #3
tr_tr
Member
tr_tr began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 22
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nation.A.List View Post
I have used 8GB Transcend Class 6 SDHC cards for flashing.
Are you fully conversant with re-flashing? (especially using mains power whilst doing so)
http://chronolytics.com/MID.html
I have flashed a lot of stuff, so I know you always have to have enough power. Power is connected during the process. I think I have done everything according to the instructions.
Haven't tried this firmware link. Will give that a try too.

Begins to smell like something to unbrick though.
tr_tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:24 PM   #4
rebski
Member
rebski began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 12
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: SmartQ 7
Quote:
I have used 8GB Transcend Class 6 SDHC cards for flashing.
16Gb Transcend Class 6 works for me.

Power is essential. Although my USB charging facility is enough to charge up the battery it is too low for flashing the firmware. I got caught out on that one before I realised what the issue was.
rebski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:42 PM   #5
Nation.A.List
Addict
Nation.A.List doesn't litterNation.A.List doesn't litter
 
Posts: 270
Karma: 112
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: England
Device: SmartQ 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr_tr View Post
I have flashed a lot of stuff, so I know you always have to have enough power. Power is connected during the process. I think I have done everything according to the instructions.
Haven't tried this firmware link. Will give that a try too.

Begins to smell like something to unbrick though.
The firmware in that link uses a 'special' graphics driver that is supposed to run a little faster than the stock driver (but still no 3D driver yet ). It also is smaller so leaves more space on the device for apps etc.

Mine Q7 is bricked at the moment, won't turn off and flashes Green & Red when attempting (unsuccessfully) to re-flash.
Nation.A.List is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:54 PM   #6
rebski
Member
rebski began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 12
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: SmartQ 7
Quote:
Mine Q7 is bricked at the moment, won't turn off and flashes Green & Red when attempting (unsuccessfully) to re-flash.
Ouch!
rebski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 04:58 AM   #7
keng2000
Researcher and Consultant
keng2000 has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.keng2000 has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.keng2000 has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.keng2000 has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 210
Karma: 364
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Device: MACBOOKPRO17" HP2400TX SONYUX27
32G SDHC Works fine also multiple OS.
keng2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My SmartQ7 is Kaput ColdSun Alternative Devices 13 11-05-2009 12:23 PM
smartq7: lost wifi serwei Alternative Devices 3 09-30-2009 05:52 AM
Anyway to install apps in SD card on Mer - SmartQ7? m26k9 Alternative Devices 10 09-10-2009 08:50 AM
Why this happening in SmartQ7 m26k9 Alternative Devices 13 09-10-2009 06:16 AM
Help on installing apps in SmartQ7 m26k9 Alternative Devices 2 09-09-2009 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.