Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-10-2009, 05:49 PM   #1
Abisha
Connoisseur
Abisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it is
 
Abisha's Avatar
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 2272
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A.
Device: Sony PRS-505, Sony PRS-950
Unhappy HELP! Please Please Please! (Calibre Database Crash)

Okay, here's the deal. I'm using Calibre 0.5.14 on M$FT Windows, and in every instance that I try to add a new book to my database, the library crashes and Calibre gives me the following error message:



I have tried cleaning out my appdata directory, performing a clean install, additionally I've tried creating a library from scratch with zero books. Once this error occurs It's like I'm forever being locked out and can't add any more books to my database. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Abi

Code:
 C:\Program Files\calibre>calibre-debug.exe -g
link  hasn't been detected!
link  hasn't been detected!
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "calibre\gui2\add.pyo", line 212, in run
  File "calibre\library\database2.pyo", line 1248, in import_book
  File "calibre\library\sqlite.pyo", line 146, in run
DatabaseException: table books has no column named uri
        RemoteTraceback (most recent call last):
          File "calibre\library\sqlite.pyo", line 119, in run
        OperationalError: table books has no column named uri

QObject::setParent: Cannot set parent, new parent is in a different thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QObject::startTimer: timers cannot be started from another thread
QApplication: Object event filter cannot be in a different thread.
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread
QPixmap: It is not safe to use pixmaps outside the GUI thread

C:\Program Files\calibre>

Last edited by Abisha; 06-10-2009 at 05:53 PM.
Abisha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:07 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
I got that after I had tried running 0.6 beta 1 and then reverting to 0.5.14. I had assumed that 0.6 removed that column as it was no longer needed, but I could be wrong.

I had a very recent backup of the metadata.db file, so I got around it by simply restoring that file.

I would have thought it should be possible to add that column manually to the database as an alternative using a tool like SqliteMan.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:29 PM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That error is caused by running 0.6 and then reverting to 0.5. You have to restore the backup of your library first.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 08:47 PM   #4
sirbruce
Provocateur
sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
sirbruce's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,859
Karma: 505847
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Device: Kindle Touch, Kindle 2, Kindle DX, iPhone 3GS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That error is caused by running 0.6 and then reverting to 0.5. You have to restore the backup of your library first.
You mean I can't downcovert to 0.5 after my earlier attempt to install 0.6 to use another library failed? Great. Just great. You know that's specifically why I tried to install it elsewhere to avoid this issue.
sirbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 09:30 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbruce View Post
You mean I can't downcovert to 0.5 after my earlier attempt to install 0.6 to use another library failed? Great. Just great. You know that's specifically why I tried to install it elsewhere to avoid this issue.
It is stated in the beta annoucement that you can't use the same library with 0.5 and 0.6

It is also stated quite clearly that you should backup your library before trying the betas.

That said, if your attempt to install 0.6 failed, your original library should remain unmolested, depending on what stage the process failed at.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 11:20 PM   #6
sirbruce
Provocateur
sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sirbruce ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
sirbruce's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,859
Karma: 505847
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Device: Kindle Touch, Kindle 2, Kindle DX, iPhone 3GS
I agree, but specifically starting 0.6 with a different library would seem to avoid the need to backup the previous library. However, as you know from a previous thread, 0.6 failed to function properly in that case the first time it is run. So it's a bit annoying.
sirbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 11:52 PM   #7
Abisha
Connoisseur
Abisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it isAbisha knows what time it is
 
Abisha's Avatar
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 2272
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A.
Device: Sony PRS-505, Sony PRS-950
Post

Admittedly I did use a .6* beta build. I do want to be clear though about the steps I took when I reverted to build 0.5.14. When I reinstalled 0.5.14 I took the following steps:

  1. Uninstalled 0.6* via "Programs and Features > Uninstall"
  2. Manual deletion of "C:\Users\********\AppData\Roaming\calibre"
  3. Manual deletion of "metadata.db" (Yes, I completely scratched my entire ".db" and started over from the ground up. I wanted to take the opportunity while I have some free time during my summer break to 'clean up' my library, properly tag, etc..)

Point being, this error is occurring after a clean install, with a virgin database. I hope this makes the circumstances a little clearer. Thanks everyone for taking a look at my situation. I hope someone can spot an error in my installation or offer some suggestion.

Thank you. -Abi
Abisha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 11:54 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,335
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That error definitely indicates the use of a metadata.db that has been altered by an 0.6 version of calibre. Try running a search on your computer for all metadata.db files and delete them all to make sure you're starting with a clean slate
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preferences causes Calibre to crash PKFFW Calibre 2 06-07-2010 07:01 PM
Calibre 0.6.51 Preferences crash GexMax Calibre 0 05-02-2010 10:04 AM
Conversions crash calibre slantybard Calibre 0 07-20-2009 01:50 AM
Bebook forces Calibre to crash carrie Calibre 3 07-17-2009 07:38 AM
Calibre GUI crash on convert aapezzuto Calibre 1 08-02-2008 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.