Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2009, 10:21 PM   #16
Jill75
Zealot
Jill75 doesn't litterJill75 doesn't litter
 
Posts: 135
Karma: 150
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
All I meant was that the encoding you have to tell calibre to use is "ascii"
Is this just a simple command on calibre?
Jill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:32 PM   #17
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,327
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It's a conversion option that you (optionally) set when converting a book
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:20 AM   #18
slantybard
my parent's oops...
slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 334
Karma: 1427200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Vx->Handera->Clie-> Axim->505->650->KPW/Aura
Kovid, what do I tell calibre the source encoding is if it is "Western(ISO-8859-1)"? thanks.
slantybard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 02:29 AM   #19
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,327
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
latin1
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 03:55 AM   #20
slantybard
my parent's oops...
slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 334
Karma: 1427200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Vx->Handera->Clie-> Axim->505->650->KPW/Aura
Hmm, that didn't work. When examining the html using firefox or kompozer on the Mac, the html shows encoding in western, but when calibre converted using latin1, the dashes, apostrophes, and quote marks show up as weird characters in the viewer. I will send you the zip'd html to play with and see. I am using 5.14 on the Mac OS X.
slantybard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:08 AM   #21
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
That probably means that the "smart" versions of those characters are being used rather than the standard ASCII variants.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 10:58 PM   #22
slantybard
my parent's oops...
slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 334
Karma: 1427200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Vx->Handera->Clie-> Axim->505->650->KPW/Aura
Is there any way to put in a conversion to include "smart" punctuation? I tried latin1, utf-8, ascii, and the cp1200's all with problems. When I use Kompozer to replace all the smart punctuation, the conversions go well, but it would be nice to have an option in calibre to recognize smart punctuation and convert without the extra step.
slantybard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 11:57 PM   #23
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,327
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
As long as your smart quotation is in a consistent encoding, calibre will convert it fine. If it's in a mix of encodings, it wont
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 06:38 AM   #24
slantybard
my parent's oops...
slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 334
Karma: 1427200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Vx->Handera->Clie-> Axim->505->650->KPW/Aura
Hmm, must be a mix of encodings then. thanks for the help though.
slantybard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:48 AM   #25
kiklop74
Guru
kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.kiklop74 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
kiklop74's Avatar
 
Posts: 780
Karma: 194644
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Device: Kindle PaperWhite, Motorola Xoom
try with cp1252 encoding. It usualy helps with smart quotes.
kiklop74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 11:24 PM   #26
slantybard
my parent's oops...
slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.slantybard ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 334
Karma: 1427200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Vx->Handera->Clie-> Axim->505->650->KPW/Aura
Tried that as well already. Basically tried all the common encodings. Best solution was to open the file and globally replace all smart punctuation and resave it, then convert. I really think that the problem was the mixture of smart punctuation that confused calibre.
slantybard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simpler Way to Smarten Punctuation Rand Brittain Calibre 3 10-10-2010 09:16 PM
Thanks for new 'Smarten Punctuation' feature jackie_w Calibre 1 09-21-2010 03:53 PM
Punctuation Dresden Calibre 7 08-31-2010 06:14 AM
Correct formatting of punctuation ghostyjack Workshop 12 08-16-2010 02:36 PM
Punctuation jgray Workshop 10 04-14-2010 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.