Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2009, 10:54 PM   #1
MTBSJC
Member
MTBSJC began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Device: Sony PRS-700
Unhappy Problems with Economist recipe 0.5.1

Recipe only downloads headlines. Problem appears to be malformed URL.
Trace of job follows:
Job: Fetch news from The Economist
INFO: Downloading

INFO: Downloading

INFO: Downloading

INFO: Downloading

INFO: Downloading

DEBUG: Fetching http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13279498

DEBUG: Fetching http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13279569

DEBUG: Fetching http://www.economist.com/daily/kalle...ry_id=13278780

DEBUG: Fetching http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13278305

DEBUG: Fetching http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13278163

WARNING: Could not fetch link http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13279498

DEBUG: Error: nonnumeric port: ''
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "calibre\web\fetch\simple.pyo", line 390, in process_links
File "calibre\web\fetch\simple.pyo", line 186, in fetch_url
File "mechanize\_mechanize.pyo", line 209, in open
File "mechanize\_mechanize.pyo", line 236, in _mech_open
File "mechanize\_opener.pyo", line 191, in open
File "urllib2.pyo", line 401, in _open
File "urllib2.pyo", line 361, in _call_chain
File "mechanize\_http.pyo", line 729, in http_open
File "mechanize\_http.pyo", line 685, in do_open
File "httplib.pyo", line 656, in __init__
File "httplib.pyo", line 668, in _set_hostport
InvalidURL: nonnumeric port: ''
INFO: http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13279498 saved to

WARNING: Could not fetch link http://www.economist.comhttp://www.e...ry_id=13279569
MTBSJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 01:14 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,790
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Works for me try it again
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 03-16-2009, 08:52 PM   #3
MTBSJC
Member
MTBSJC began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Device: Sony PRS-700
Tried it multiple times

I've tried it several times with this version and the 2 previous versions. The last time the recipe worked properly was 27 February 2009. Computer has been rebooted several times. How can I diagnose the problem further?
MTBSJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 09:08 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,790
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Are you using a custom economist recipe? If so delete it and use the built in one
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:05 PM   #5
MTBSJC
Member
MTBSJC began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Device: Sony PRS-700
Don't think it is a custom recipe

I'll try uninstall then reinstall, as I've been updating with each new version. I may have accidentally modified the recipe. If that does notwork, I'll post again on this thread.
MTBSJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:38 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,790
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
re-installing wont remove custom recipes, since they're stored in your database. Use the custom recipe dialog to remove custom recipes (click the arrow next to the fetch news button)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:03 PM   #7
MTBSJC
Member
MTBSJC began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Device: Sony PRS-700
Understanding custom recipes

So, if I open the Economist recipe in the custom recipe viewer to look at it, a new copy gets created in my database, even though I make no changes and cancel out of the dialog? What happened to the builtin Economist recipe? I don't see it listed under English language recipes. What happens if I delete the custom recipe? Does the builtin recipe get restored?
I had in mind to create a second version of the Economist recipe that I would modify by hand to retrieve past issues from the website. But, it is not clear to me how to rename the second recipe to distinguish it from the original. It is not even clear how I can create a second Economist recipe, except by copy and paste using the advanced window. Am I missing something?
Where is the database kept? I managed to get a new clean install, but do not recall what directories and files I had to delete to make this happen?
Is this information online somewhere? I don't have time to analyze the sources and searching the forums has not provided the answers. I am a software developer and would like to help, but can't afford the time to do very much. I hate to keep bugging you for newbie information.
MTBSJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:54 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,790
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yes a custom recipe witht he same name attribute will override a builtin recipe. Just delete the custom recipe to restore the builtin one. As for where the database is stored, its the first line in the preferences dialog
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
economist, problem, recipe

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with economist recipe lady kay Calibre 1 08-06-2010 07:49 AM
The Economist (free) recipe not working paladin10000 Calibre 1 01-28-2010 12:44 PM
Economist (Free) Recipe geneaber Calibre 2 01-08-2010 09:21 PM
Economist Free Recipe geneaber Calibre 10 12-31-2009 03:45 PM
Economist Recipe - broken? dieterpops Calibre 1 02-20-2009 09:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.