Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2009, 06:35 AM   #1
logley
Junior Member
logley began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
Sending LRF's to PRS-505

If I have a book in Calibre, in two formats (say .lit and .lrf), and I send the book to the PRS-505, Calibre sends BOTH formats to the device, rather than just the .lrf book.

The book started off in just .lit format, and I used Cailbre to convert the book to .lrf.

Is there a way to ONLY send the .lrf format book, if Calibre lists multiple versions of the book.

Regards

Lee.
logley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:29 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,993
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
calibre should only be sending the LRF format, if it's sending both its a bug. Can you tell us what version of calibre you are using and on what operating system.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:59 AM   #3
logley
Junior Member
logley began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
Calibre 0.4.136
Windows XP Pro SP3

Lee.
logley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 12:06 PM   #4
DixieGal
Hi There!
DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DixieGal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DixieGal's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,473
Karma: 2930523
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Device: iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by logley View Post
Calibre 0.4.136
Windows XP Pro SP3

Lee.
SP3 ate my computer. Now I have a new computer! GOOD LUCK!
DixieGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 03:02 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,993
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm works for me. Incidentally, how do you know its sending both formats?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 03:39 AM   #6
logley
Junior Member
logley began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Sony PRS-505
I transfered two books to the device. I then browsed the device using Windows Explorer. Within the Calibre directory on the SD card, the card had both the .lit and .lrf versions of the book.

Regards

Lee.
logley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 04:09 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,993
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
How did you transfer the book? By clicking send to device or save to disk?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:09 AM   #8
kevin_boone
Enthusiast
kevin_boone began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 35
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: prs-505
I've noticed that I can send the same book to my PRS-505 multiple times. I wonder if the present problem is related? To be honest, I didn't think of this as a defect -- I just assumed that it was supposed to work that way. I got in the habit of deleting old versions on my 505 before sending new ones.

I've only noticed this problem when I've actually updated the Calibre library and re-sent the updated books. So I wonder if what's happened is that you've added a book in .lit format and then sent a batch of books to the device (including that one) then added it in .prs format and sent the same batch again? Of course, I don't know if Calibre will even attempt to send a .lit book -- I don't think it will, without conversion. So I don't know, either. But I have noticed the same file being installed on the PRS multiple times.
kevin_boone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 12:59 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,993
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
calibre allows you to send the same book multiple times. THe idea being that if you update the conversion, you might want the new file. calibre hasa listof supported formats for each device and only sends those. I'm guessing hte OP used Save to disk rather than Send to device
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 03:40 PM   #10
kevin_boone
Enthusiast
kevin_boone began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 35
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: prs-505
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
calibre allows you to send the same book multiple times. THe idea being that if you update the conversion, you might want the new file. calibre hasa listof supported formats for each device and only sends those. I'm guessing hte OP used Save to disk rather than Send to device
Fair enough. Personally, I can't really think of occasions where I'd want to keep multiple copies on the PRS, but it's not a biggie. The only slightly tricksy point is that (so far as I can tell) they end up with the same title on the PRS, so you have to sort by date to see which is the most recent.
kevin_boone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 05:32 PM   #11
olddumbguy
Member
olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 272
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SoCal, USA
Device: Kindle 3, HTC EVO, iPad, Sony PRS-505, Sony PRS-700, Ipod Touch
I've been having the same problem and it drove me nuts.

I have the PRS 505 and I've been using a version about a month old. I would transfer the files directly to the device and end up with both copies.

Today I received a new PRS 700 and downloaded the new version of Calibre and tried again and it seems to be working ok (only transferring the LRF).
olddumbguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 07:42 PM   #12
ddavtian
Addict
ddavtian has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.ddavtian has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.ddavtian has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.ddavtian has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 262
Karma: 332
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Francisco, USA
Device: Sony 505 & 900, Kindle DX, Samsung Galaxy Tab, EVO
I use Calibre to send books to both 505 and 700, I cannot recreate this problem. It sends the lrf only. It would be good, at some point, to have a choice between lrf and epub. I have few books in both lit and lrf, sent them to readers, no lit transfered.
ddavtian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:57 PM   #13
olddumbguy
Member
olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.olddumbguy has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 272
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SoCal, USA
Device: Kindle 3, HTC EVO, iPad, Sony PRS-505, Sony PRS-700, Ipod Touch
I've recently re-installed windows and installed the newest (as of yesterday) version of Calibre, and it is not happening with me anymore. But I can verify this is a real problem I experienced with my last setup.
olddumbguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 02:11 PM   #14
ulsterfry
eBook addict
ulsterfry began at the beginning.
 
ulsterfry's Avatar
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: Sony PRS 505 SC
Having the same problems :-( ... Windows XP Professional SP2 and Calibre 0.4.137 .... several copies of .lrf or .epub ( same book) placed on 505... I'm uncertain in which directories they should go but I have to go in with Windows Explorer to find and remove the surplus copies otherwise I have multiple books in the index.
Best regards

Ray
ulsterfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 03:57 PM   #15
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,993
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulsterfry View Post
Having the same problems :-( ... Windows XP Professional SP2 and Calibre 0.4.137 .... several copies of .lrf or .epub ( same book) placed on 505... I'm uncertain in which directories they should go but I have to go in with Windows Explorer to find and remove the surplus copies otherwise I have multiple books in the index.
Best regards

Ray
what button are you clicking to put them on the device?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help ! Manually copying LRF's onto Sony PRS-500 W0lfgang Sony Reader 1 01-25-2010 11:39 AM
Crashes when sending to Sony PRS-600 SpyKiIIer Calibre 3 01-12-2010 10:15 PM
Issue sending PDF file to Sony 505 jabberwock_11 Calibre 4 12-28-2009 02:14 PM
calibre - prs-505 - sending to sd corrupts files ykmm Sony Reader 5 07-31-2009 06:47 PM
Bought a PRS-505, but thinking of sending it back. Help? micomicon Which one should I buy? 43 12-23-2007 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.