Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2009, 04:20 PM   #1
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
Ubuntu Hardy Calibre Problem

Pardon for my english.

I have Ubuntu Hardy 64-bits. I install Calibre-binary. When I write:

> feeds2lrf elmundo.txt

Result:

0% Buscando canales de noticias...
0% Obteniendo canales de noticias España...
ERROR: Failed feed: España
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/web/feeds/news.py", line 999, in parse_feeds
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
0% Obteniendo canales de noticias Internacional...
ERROR: Failed feed: Internacional
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/web/feeds/news.py", line 999, in parse_feeds
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
0% Obteniendo canales de noticias Economía...
ERROR: Failed feed: Economía
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/web/feeds/news.py", line 999, in parse_feeds
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
0% Obteniendo canales de noticias Ciencia y Ecologia...
ERROR: Failed feed: Ciencia y Ecologia
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/web/feeds/news.py", line 999, in parse_feeds
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
0% Obteniendo canales de noticias Madrid 24 Horas...
ERROR: Failed feed: Madrid 24 Horas
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/web/feeds/news.py", line 999, in parse_feeds
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>


In windows this scripts works perfect.

Thank you. Calibre is a great application.
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Do you have a proxy setup or some other non standard networking setup? That error indicates an inability to resolve domain names into IP addresses
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
No, i don't have proxy. In prompt i write:

vakya@vakya-laptop:~/SonyPRS/desweb/elmundo$ ping www.yahoo.com
PING www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net (87.248.113.14) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from f1.us.www.vip.ird.yahoo.com (87.248.113.14): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=254 ms
64 bytes from f1.us.www.vip.ird.yahoo.com (87.248.113.14): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=87.1 ms
64 bytes from f1.us.www.vip.ird.yahoo.com (87.248.113.14): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=97.1 ms
64 bytes from f1.us.www.vip.ird.yahoo.com (87.248.113.14): icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=86.3 ms

Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Do you have a proxy setup or some other non standard networking setup? That error indicates an inability to resolve domain names into IP addresses
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:38 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
cat /etc/resolv.conf

set | grep -i proxy
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:48 PM   #5
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
With these commands, it still does not work. Say you which previously had Ubuntu Intrepid and I always had everything worked properly. And it has cost me to install Calibre, I had to install many packages ubuntu.
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:52 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I meant post the output from those commands
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:55 PM   #7
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
vakya@vakya-laptop:~/SonyPRS/desweb$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
### BEGIN INFO
#
# Modified_by: NetworkManager
# Process: /usr/bin/NetworkManager
# Process_id: 6241
#
### END INFO



nameserver 192.168.2.1


vakya@vakya-laptop:~/SonyPRS/desweb$ set | grep -i proxy

[nothing]
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:38 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Now try

Code:
calibre-debug -c "from calibre import browser; br = browser(); br.open('http://www.google.com').read()"
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:47 PM   #9
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
httrack (similar aplication web2disk) works correctly.
Could it be a problem in the latest version? Previous versions in Intrepid It worked perfectly. but no problem if it is hardy, my installation or failure of a calibre. The application calibre is almost perfect, must be the first two options
Pardon for my bad english.
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:56 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It's not a bug in calibre (I use calibre on linux), its something in your system config that's causing problem.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:34 AM   #11
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
vakya@vakya-laptop:~$ calibre-debug -c "from calibre import browser; br = browser(); br.open('http://www.google.com').read()"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/tmp/init.py", line 45, in <module>
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/debug.py", line 89, in main
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
urllib2.URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
Segmentation fault
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:46 AM   #12
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
OK how about the following

Code:
python -c "import urllib2; urllib2.urlopen('http://www.google.com').read()"
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:48 AM   #13
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
Now I'm not in home, try it this afternoon. Surely that is what you say, because I install something wrong.

Indeed, what I find strange is that it leaves /usr/lib/python2.6/. I have instaled python 2.5.2, believe
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:22 AM   #14
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,469
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
The binary installer installs its own private version of python 2.6
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:46 PM   #15
vakya
Connoisseur
vakya doesn't littervakya doesn't litter
 
vakya's Avatar
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 164
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spain
Device: Sony PRS-500, PRS-505, IREX DR800, Kindle 3 y Kindle 4 NT
vakya@vakya-laptop:~$ calibre-debug -c "from calibre import browser; br = browser(); br.open('http://www.google.com').read()"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/tmp/init.py", line 45, in <module>
File "/home/kovid/work/calibre/src/calibre/debug.py", line 89, in main
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 209, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_mechanize.py", line 236, in _mech_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_opener.py", line 191, in open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 401, in _open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 361, in _call_chain
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 729, in http_open
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/mechanize/_http.py", line 706, in do_open
urllib2.URLError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Nombre ó servicio desconocido>
Segmentation fault
vakya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Calibre and Ubuntu azurita Calibre 2 05-03-2009 09:22 PM
ubuntu hardy problem with binary install `Illegal instruction` lampadena Calibre 2 02-10-2009 03:57 AM
downloading calibre in ubuntu hardy ElizabethN Calibre 1 12-29-2008 01:56 AM
calibre install fails on Ubuntu hardy Xpi6 Calibre 16 11-16-2008 02:29 PM
New versions of calibre in Ubuntu Hardy 64 Bit deedward9 Calibre 19 10-18-2008 12:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.