Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2009, 10:15 PM   #1
ees
Member
ees began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Device: none
prs505 cli

Hi,

Is there a command-line interface for adding and removing books to the PRS-505? I noticed that there exists a prs500 utility, but using that tool to copy books to a PRS-505 device doesn't seem to update the metadata. (Seems reasonable.)

If no tool exists for the PRS-505, is it a matter of copying over the cli adapter code from prs500 and hacking it to make use of the prs505 driver?

Thanks,
-e
ees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:24 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,438
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
The command line program doesnt copy metadata, only files for both the 500 and the 505
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:32 PM   #3
ees
Member
ees began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
The command line program doesnt copy metadata, only files for both the 500 and the 505
Is there any reason why a command line program couldn't copy the metadata as well? (I ask because I would be willing to work on it, so long as there isn't a show stopping reason why it could never work)

It would be really neat to be able to automate updates to the Reader without reliance on the GUI.

Thanks,
-e
ees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:27 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,438
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yeah you can do that. i just haven't bothered
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FBReader for PRS505 ShellShock Sony Reader Dev Corner 3 02-01-2010 04:42 PM
Prs505 not seeing all books Mr. Coconut Sony Reader 5 10-20-2009 01:02 AM
de-authourising my prs505. jolfc Sony Reader 3 07-14-2009 10:39 AM
V3 vs PRS505 Hellmark Which one should I buy? 20 07-12-2009 02:44 PM
Adding online metadata using ISBN from CLI EditorJack Calibre 17 01-20-2009 01:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.