Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2008, 01:19 PM   #1
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
Can't start Calibre in Windows

Here's the calibre-debug results:

C:\PROGRA~1\calibre>calibre-debug -c "from calibre.gui2.main import main; main()
"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 10, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 12, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: Invalid access to memory location.

C:\PROGRA~1\calibre>
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 01:53 PM   #2
trilla
Junior Member
trilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmostrilla has become one with the cosmos
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 21918
Join Date: Dec 2008
Device: Kindle Paperwhite, Nook Simple Touch GL, Nook Tablet
I have same trouble, but I don't know how to read debug messages. I just download calibre-0.4.117.exe (I have Windows XP SP2), install it. On first launch program asks me about new format and offer to select folder for library. When I select folder - nothing happens. Calibre just didn't launch.
Every next launch - all above repeated: program asks me to choose folder and can't launch.
trilla is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 12-22-2008, 06:08 PM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotech_Master View Post
Here's the calibre-debug results:

C:\PROGRA~1\calibre>calibre-debug -c "from calibre.gui2.main import main; main()
"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 10, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 12, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: Invalid access to memory location.

C:\PROGRA~1\calibre>
I'm guessing you have some form of virus/malware protection that is preventing the DLL from being loaded.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 06:10 PM   #4
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
That's the thing, though. As far as I know, I don't. No firewalls, no anti-virus. I'm behind a router and I don't visit unsafe sites, so I don't have them installed.
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 06:34 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
What version of windows are you on?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 06:41 PM   #6
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
XP Professional 2002 SP 3.
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 07:15 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Do you have an installation of python on your machine?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 07:47 PM   #8
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Do you have an installation of python on your machine?
Yes, v2.5
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:01 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try renaming c:\python25 and see if that helps (you can rename it back later)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:06 PM   #10
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
Nope. Calibre still doesn't start, debug still gives me

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 10, in <module>
File "calibre\__init__.pyo", line 10, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 12, in <module>
File "PyQt4\QtCore.pyo", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: Invalid access to memory location.
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:22 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm out of ideas I'm afraid. You can always use the command line tools (most of them dont need the Qt DLLs)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 05:54 AM   #12
madeinsoviets
Junior Member
madeinsoviets began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Device: prs505
I have the similar problem - i tryed to do as it is described in FAQ, so, nothing helps, here the output:
OS WinXP SP3 RUS

Last edited by madeinsoviets; 12-23-2008 at 05:56 AM. Reason: I forgot that my OS is updating now)
madeinsoviets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 12:41 PM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@madeinsoviets: Looks like a problem with one of the translations. What language are you using?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 12:42 PM   #14
Robotech_Master
Evangelist
Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Robotech_Master ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 422
Karma: 351205
Join Date: May 2006
This is very frustrating. :/
Robotech_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 01:22 PM   #15
madeinsoviets
Junior Member
madeinsoviets began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2008
Device: prs505
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
@madeinsoviets: Looks like a problem with one of the translations. What language are you using?
using where? in windows - russian, in colibre - noone because i can't start it)
madeinsoviets is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't start Calibre Cor Wessels Calibre 1 04-05-2010 07:48 AM
Start in Tray in Windows 7 geneaber Calibre 2 02-28-2010 11:10 PM
Calibre doesn't start slothrop Calibre 1 12-14-2009 09:23 PM
Calibre won't start nathancabopino Calibre 14 06-30-2009 11:40 AM
Calibre 0.4.89 won't start ould Calibre 3 10-02-2008 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.