Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2008, 12:04 PM   #1
brownam
Junior Member
brownam began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: PRS505
Calibre Failes to start after upgrade

I've been using prevoius versions of Calibre with no problem. I have
Windows Vista Help Premium Service Pack 1. I upgrade to V0.4.112. I've
gone back to previous version that did work (4.86) and that now fails too.

After reading the FAQ I:
Deleted _python* and lib*.db1
Delete the Calibre dir
Deleted Books dir
Deleted any keys in RegEdit32
and re-installed still fails to start.

The Debug comes up with
c:\Program Files\calibre>.\calibre-debug -c "from calibre.gui2.main import main;
main()"
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "debug.py", line 96, in <module>
File "debug.py", line 80, in main
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
File "c:\Program Files\calibre\library.zip\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 1423, i
n main
File "c:\Program Files\calibre\library.zip\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 74, in
__init__
File "calibre\gui2\main_ui.pyo", line 143, in setupUi
File "calibre\gui2\library.pyo", line 547, in __init__
File "calibre\gui2\library.pyo", line 115, in __init__
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 452, in __getitem__
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 459, in get
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 449, in refresh
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 388, in parse
File "calibre\utils\config.pyo", line 310, in parse_string
TypeError: expected string without null bytes
brownam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 02:43 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,801
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Delete all the files in the folder that contains the file global.py and then restart calibre.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:20 AM   #3
brownam
Junior Member
brownam began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: PRS505
Calibre Failes to start after upgrade

Hi thanks for the very quick reply. I can't find a copy of global.py on the system. Calibre is installed in C:\program files\calibre
brownam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:43 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,048
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
It should be somewhere under your user profile.

On my system (running XP) it is found under:
C:\Documents and Settings\MyUser\Application Data\Calibre
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:23 AM   #5
brownam
Junior Member
brownam began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: PRS505
Hi itimpi

Thanks for your reply put thet tother with Kovids suggestion and calibre started first time. Global.py was in
C:\Users\Andy\AppData\Roaming\calibre

Can't understand why a seach from my computer didn't pick it up (Thanks Vissta). Thankyou to both of you for this. I really like Calibre and have been blown away by the support on this forum

Andy
brownam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't even start Calibre. Please help DrZoidberg Calibre 12 01-20-2010 04:51 AM
Calibre will not start - ever Photonboy Calibre 7 10-24-2009 02:04 AM
Calibre won't start nathancabopino Calibre 14 06-30-2009 11:40 AM
Calibre fails to start after upgrade njw7 Calibre 0 12-18-2008 05:41 AM
PDF failes to load after 2.10 upgrade Drops iRex 4 06-13-2007 05:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.