Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2008, 04:36 PM   #1
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Browse your calibre book collection from anywhere

As of version 0.4.102 (released later today) calibre has a built-in webserver that will allow you to access your books from anywhere in the world using a web browser. See attached screenshots

You can run the server from the GUI by using the config dialog or from the command line by using the command calibre-server

Note that while running both the command line server and the GUI at the same time is possible, it is not recommended.

At the moment the web interface allows readonly access (i.e. you cannot add books or edit metadata).

Enjoy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	server1.png
Views:	3902
Size:	110.5 KB
ID:	17633   Click image for larger version

Name:	server2.png
Views:	3068
Size:	381.9 KB
ID:	17634  
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 12:54 AM   #2
simond
Addict
simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 390
Karma: 1029009
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK
Device: Kobo Aura HD,Kobo Mini,iPad Mini,iPhone, Icarus HD, Nexus 7
Nice, I'll give it a try today
simond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:51 AM   #3
simond
Addict
simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.simond ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 390
Karma: 1029009
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UK
Device: Kobo Aura HD,Kobo Mini,iPad Mini,iPhone, Icarus HD, Nexus 7
Quote:
C:\Documents and Settings\Simon>calibre-server
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "server.py", line 15, in <module>
File "cherrypy\__init__.pyo", line 161, in <module>
File "cherrypy\_cptools.pyo", line 226, in <module>
ImportError: cannot import name tidy
It doesn't seem to want to run on my XP SP2 system (upgraded from .101)
simond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 07:03 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm looks like the windows freezing process has left out a few neccessary modules. I'll fix that in the next release.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:13 PM   #5
Raduz
Member
Raduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 1000
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Device: PRS-505, Kobo Glo
Quote:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/cherrypy/wsgiserver/__init__.py", line 983, in communicate
File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/cherrypy/wsgiserver/__init__.py", line 304, in parse_request
File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/cherrypy/wsgiserver/__init__.py", line 317, in _parse_request
File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/cherrypy/wsgiserver/__init__.py", line 212, in readline
File "build/bdist.linux-i686/egg/cherrypy/wsgiserver/__init__.py", line 823, in readline
AttributeError: 'cStringIO.StringO' object has no attribute 'find'
Running on Debian testing
Raduz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:07 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Does that happen on startup or when you make a request? calibre requires cherrypy >= 3.1 It has a bundled sherrypy but your system cherrypy appears to be interfering.

Last edited by kovidgoyal; 11-06-2008 at 02:52 PM.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:36 AM   #7
Raduz
Member
Raduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheeseRaduz can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 21
Karma: 1000
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Device: PRS-505, Kobo Glo
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Does that happen on startup or when you make a request? calibre requires cherrypy >= 3.1 It has a bundled sherrypy but your system cherrypy appears to be interfering.
Startup is apparently ok (no errors in server log), but I get previously mentioned error message when I click "Test server", or try access the server directly from a web browser. I don't have any system-wide version of Cherrypy installed. Python version is 2.5.2.
Raduz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 11:00 AM   #8
Cold
Junior Member
Cold began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: prs505
Really liking this feature

I run Calibre on a machine inside my home network and I have an Apache server on the edge of the network. I serve all the internal applications I use (Well, those with web interfaces) to the outside using this server via mod_proxy and mod_proxy_html (if required).

Calibres new web UI *nearly* works with this out of the box.

The issue I have is the gui.js file has references to /library and /get (The ajax calls for data) ... and I can't easily rewrite those.

Would you consider changing gui.js so that it's aware of the path it's been served from and sticks that in front of those two URIs?

Maybe using something like:

Code:
path = self.location.pathname.substring(0,self.location.pathname.lastIndexOf('/')));
Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 11:20 AM   #9
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,597
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
You can run the server from the GUI by using the config dialog or from the command line by using the command calibre-server
I assume this doesn't set up a demon by default I hope.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 01:33 PM   #10
astrodad
Guru
astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
astrodad's Avatar
 
Posts: 945
Karma: 568242
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 1, iPad, iPhone 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cold View Post
Really liking this feature

I run Calibre on a machine inside my home network and I have an Apache server on the edge of the network. I serve all the internal applications I use (Well, those with web interfaces) to the outside using this server via mod_proxy and mod_proxy_html (if required).

Calibres new web UI *nearly* works with this out of the box.

The issue I have is the gui.js file has references to /library and /get (The ajax calls for data) ... and I can't easily rewrite those.

Would you consider changing gui.js so that it's aware of the path it's been served from and sticks that in front of those two URIs?

Maybe using something like:

Code:
path = self.location.pathname.substring(0,self.location.pathname.lastIndexOf('/')));

Is your goal to get this to run under Apache directly?
astrodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 01:49 PM   #11
RoninTech
Groupie
RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RoninTech ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
RoninTech's Avatar
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jplumey View Post
Is your goal to get this to run under Apache directly?
I believe he's just using Apache's reverse proxy features to provide access to various _other_ webservers on his network. Very handy and works well.

Cheers,
Crazy
RoninTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 02:14 PM   #12
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotbob View Post
I assume this doesn't set up a demon by default I hope.

BOb
No it doesn't, assuming by demon you mean daemon
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 02:17 PM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raduz View Post
Startup is apparently ok (no errors in server log), but I get previously mentioned error message when I click "Test server", or try access the server directly from a web browser. I don't have any system-wide version of Cherrypy installed. Python version is 2.5.2.
How have you installed calibre? via the binary installer or easy_install?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 02:37 PM   #14
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@Cold

Would it help if gui.js used relative paths instead of absolute ones?

EDIT: I've changed gui.js to use the hostname+absolute path

Last edited by kovidgoyal; 11-07-2008 at 04:10 PM.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 04:52 PM   #15
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,597
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
No it doesn't, assuming by demon you mean daemon
Yes... and I have seen it spelled both ways.

Thanks,
BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS+ 300 (Browse Folders, Book History, Key Bindings, Dictionary, epub customization) kartu Sony Reader 137 03-06-2012 03:20 PM
Calibre Collection (can I transfer) madcatz990 Calibre 3 09-27-2010 06:13 PM
calibre - collection metadata? roffles Calibre 7 09-08-2010 10:08 PM
Cannot browse other sites after using Calibre Content Server duckbill Amazon Kindle 0 09-08-2010 12:08 AM
calibre creates collection on Sony PRS700 but does not transfer book into it leday Calibre 3 12-22-2009 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.