Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > Miscellaneous > Feedback

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2008, 03:12 PM   #1
Axelos
Axelos
Axelos began at the beginning.
 
Axelos's Avatar
 
Posts: 14
Karma: 13
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany/Bremerhaven
Device: MDA Touch
User / Password every 5 Min.

Hi,

Is there a reason why i have to enter my Username and Password more or less every 5 min. again into mobilread or is it a bug
Axelos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:20 PM   #2
Leep
Guru
Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Leep ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Leep's Avatar
 
Posts: 739
Karma: 1018859
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Near Seattle
Device: kindle1, K3, K3G (thanks MR), iTouch, Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelos View Post
Hi,

Is there a reason why i have to enter my Username and Password more or less every 5 min. again into mobilread or is it a bug
I had the same problem until I checked the dialog box to "remember this password" You might want to try that
Leep is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 07-17-2008, 06:40 PM   #3
RickyMaveety
Holy S**T!!!
RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.RickyMaveety lived happily ever after.
 
RickyMaveety's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,186
Karma: 108401
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, California!!
Device: Kindle and iPad
And make sure your brower has cookies enabled.
RickyMaveety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 02:35 PM   #4
MonkeyKnits57
Member
MonkeyKnits57 began at the beginning.
 
MonkeyKnits57's Avatar
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2008
Device: Kindle
i have the same problem, and I have checked the box, and I DO have cookies enabled. It's very annoying. If anybody has a solution, I would love to hear it. Thanks
MonkeyKnits57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 02:41 PM   #5
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,618
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyKnits57 View Post
i have the same problem, and I have checked the box, and I DO have cookies enabled. It's very annoying. If anybody has a solution, I would love to hear it. Thanks
What browser, platforms and such are you using? What about tool bars or add-ins. Something may be clearing the authentication cookie without you knowing it. It is just "trying to help".

Are you using a proxy server?

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 03:01 PM   #6
MonkeyKnits57
Member
MonkeyKnits57 began at the beginning.
 
MonkeyKnits57's Avatar
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2008
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotbob View Post
What browser, platforms and such are you using? What about tool bars or add-ins. Something may be clearing the authentication cookie without you knowing it. It is just "trying to help".

Are you using a proxy server?

BOb
Mozilla FireFox browser ver. 2.0.0.16, Vista (ugh), no proxy server. I have the the google toolbar, and AVG is my virus scan. TIA.
MonkeyKnits57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 07:46 PM   #7
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,618
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyKnits57 View Post
Mozilla FireFox browser ver. 2.0.0.16, Vista (ugh), no proxy server. I have the the google toolbar, and AVG is my virus scan. TIA.
Does the google toolbar have some type of cookie blocker or remover? What about Firefox? What add-ons are you running?

Do you have this problem if you run IE?

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 11:06 PM   #8
MonkeyKnits57
Member
MonkeyKnits57 began at the beginning.
 
MonkeyKnits57's Avatar
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2008
Device: Kindle
the google toolbar just lets you search your computer as well as the internet, and gives you a search window when you press the ctrl key twice. I have never had it cause a problem before. i blame vista. it's is evil. It is junk. i tried to put xp on this laptop, but xp could not find my hard drive. grrr
MonkeyKnits57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #9
desertgrandma
Enjoying the show....
desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.desertgrandma ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
desertgrandma's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,278
Karma: 8334629
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arizona
Device: A K1, Kindle Paperwhite, an Ipod, IPad2, Iphone, an Ipad Mini & macAir
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyKnits57 View Post
the google toolbar just lets you search your computer as well as the internet, and gives you a search window when you press the ctrl key twice. I have never had it cause a problem before. i blame vista. it's is evil. It is junk. i tried to put xp on this laptop, but xp could not find my hard drive. grrr
Why do you blame Vista? I am running it, with Firefox 3 and haven't had any problems anywhere. Is there a specific problem (besides this one) that you are having? Actually, the first thing I did besides get rid of IE was getting rid of the google toolbar......
desertgrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 11:59 PM   #10
pilotbob
Grand Sorcerer
pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.pilotbob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
pilotbob's Avatar
 
Posts: 19,618
Karma: 11337367
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Device: Kindle Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyKnits57 View Post
the google toolbar just lets you search your computer as well as the internet, and gives you a search window when you press the ctrl key twice. I have never had it cause a problem before. i blame vista. it's is evil. It is junk. i tried to put xp on this laptop, but xp could not find my hard drive. grrr
Actually, that sounds like Google Desktop not Google Toolbar. The google tool bar adds a toolbar to your browser. It has suff like auto form file, pop-up blocker, page rankings, and other stuff... it may also have a cookie blocker too.

You should upgrade to Firefox 3 if you get the chance, it is much better than 2... uses alot less memory and is faster too.

BOb
pilotbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2008, 07:21 AM   #11
Alexander Turcic
Fully Converged
Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Alexander Turcic ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Alexander Turcic's Avatar
 
Posts: 17,331
Karma: 10995944
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Switzerland
Device: Sony PRS-650 / Nexus 7 / Kindle PW
It's most likely cookie related, as cookies are used to store user sessions on your computer to prevent you from having to enter your login credentials every time.

What you could do is run Firefox with a new temporary profile (to make sure no extensions or blockers are enabled), and see if the problem persists. See here on how to create another profile:

http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Managing+profiles
Alexander Turcic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 05:54 AM   #12
Over
Wizard
Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Over ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Over's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,449
Karma: 3949068
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cascais, Portugal
Device: Cybook Gen3, Kindle DXi, Kindle 3, iPad and iPhone 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyKnits57 View Post
the google toolbar just lets you search your computer as well as the internet, and gives you a search window when you press the ctrl key twice. I have never had it cause a problem before. i blame vista. it's is evil. It is junk. i tried to put xp on this laptop, but xp could not find my hard drive. grrr
Don't blame Vista. I've been using it for 1,5 years and I just love it. Wouldn't go back to XP.

Do you have any mantainance software? Things like CCleaner and other tools that clean up your PC? Usually they clean up your cookies too.

Try IE7, to see if it's a Firefox issue or not.
Over is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic Why my Nook use GPRS for 10 min. after reboot? bthoven Barnes & Noble NOOK 2 04-08-2010 06:02 AM
User Password Protected PDF Ebook debbielovesbooks PDF 1 01-09-2010 03:04 PM
Why is it asking for my password? sigma8 Calibre 5 08-25-2009 04:24 PM
Received a survey promising $75 but requires 30 min of phone time spirits Lounge 36 03-22-2008 05:01 PM
Environmental study: 30 min of e-paper reading = 30 mins of print reading Steven Lyle Jordan News 36 12-14-2007 04:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.