Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2008, 08:09 AM   #1
zander_nyrond
Member
zander_nyrond began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2007
Device: Sony PRS500
Smile Calibre and Python: do they get along?

Hi. I've just downloaded Calibre and found that it did not run. I've looked for library1.db in all the usual dives and bars and come up empty. I'm now combing the rest of the system just in case, but I've noticed that some people have had to delete Python-related files from their systems before Calibre would work for them.

This could be a problem, as I need to keep Python around for other purposes. Can Calibre work with Python, or am I going to have to give up on it?

Last edited by zander_nyrond; 07-20-2008 at 07:03 AM.
zander_nyrond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:25 AM   #2
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,883
Karma: 18755150
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
I've used some of the command line programs from Calibre while having Python 2.5 installed. Not a problem here at all. I'm using Windows XP Pro service pack 3.
JSWolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:45 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,340
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yeah as far as I know calibre works just fine with python installed.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 09:33 PM   #4
zander_nyrond
Member
zander_nyrond began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2007
Device: Sony PRS500
In that case, I think I have a problem. I'm using Windows XP Home on a 2.25 GHz system with 2Gb RAM. Here's my Calibre.log:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 28, in <module>
File "calibre\gui2\main_ui.pyo", line 284, in <module>
File "calibre\gui2\widgets.pyo", line 18, in <module>
File "G:\Program Files\calibre\library.zip\calibre\utils\fontconfig .py", line 145, in <module>
WindowsError: exception: access violation writing 0x00000000

As I said, I don't have a library1.db file anywhere on my computer. What have I done or failed to do?
zander_nyrond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:00 PM   #5
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,340
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
try this build of calibre http://theory.caltech.edu/~kovid/calibre-0.4.77.exe
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 12:19 AM   #6
zander_nyrond
Member
zander_nyrond began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2007
Device: Sony PRS500
That seems to have done the trick. Thank you.
zander_nyrond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 06:11 PM   #7
FizzyWater
You kids get off my lawn!
FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FizzyWater ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
FizzyWater's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,044
Karma: 8946055
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Device: Dell Axim, PRS350/650, Nook Glow, PB Touch Lux 623
Should upgrade be delayed if Python is installed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Does this mean, if I'm running Windows XP and have Python installed, I should avoid upgrading to 0.4.78 at the current time?

Thanks!
FizzyWater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,340
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
no 0.4.78 includes the fixes in the special build
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, python

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Python/Calibre question horsegoalie Calibre 0 12-15-2009 09:25 PM
Calibre custom news feed and python help. harrynewman Calibre 4 10-08-2009 10:26 AM
Python 2.5 and Calibre FizzyWater Calibre 1 03-27-2009 03:15 AM
Having some trouble with Calibre 0.4.109(python upgrade) ould Calibre 13 12-04-2008 04:28 PM
calibre python-lxml problem on ubuntu carpii Calibre 5 11-29-2008 06:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.