Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2014, 09:52 PM   #1
clockmaker
Member
clockmaker began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Kindle 2
Calibre with Win 8.1

I have just started using Win 8.1. In thee connect/share -- content server the connection at the other end works but the menu it gives on login is not the normal Calibre menu but a few lines which have the names of the earlier screen followed by the address of the caliber files on the server. Clicking on any of the lines gives a cherry 404 error and then goes on to the yahoo site.
I have tried it with 2 versions of Calibre, with the same results. It appears to be a problem with Win 8.1, I think.
Has anyone found this difficulty or should I be doing something, that I am not doing? The mode of use is otherwise exactly the same as was in Win 7.

If there is a solution to this please let me know. Thanks
clockmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 12:16 AM   #2
eschwartz
Irrational Optimist
eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
eschwartz's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,386
Karma: 15135993
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch fw5.3.7 (Wifi only)
Did you check your firewall?
eschwartz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 02:00 AM   #3
clockmaker
Member
clockmaker began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Device: Kindle 2
Dr

Thank you for your suggestion.
Yes the firewall for Calibre is public. The output still is as below:

→ home ←


Mobile
Old
Feed
Submit
Sort by:




Choose a category to browse by:

NewestNewest
All booksAll books
Random bookRandom book
Virtual Libs.Virtual Libs.
AuthorsAuthors
LanguagesLanguages
PublisherPublisher
RatingRating
SeriesSeries
TagsTags
[F:\KB]

and clicking on these lines gives

404 Not Found

The path '/xxpils/browse' was not found.

Powered by CherryPy 3.2.2

I do not know why it is looking for a directory path that does not exist
clockmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 02:02 AM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,444
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Where is /xxpils/ coming from? Have you specified a URL prefix in Preferences->Sharing over the net?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I import Calibre settings from regular Win Calibre to Calibre Portable? ABW Calibre 9 05-20-2013 03:34 PM
Calibre on Win 7 mccormw Calibre 5 01-19-2013 06:52 PM
Calibre under Win 8 Kumabjorn Calibre 4 10-29-2012 04:39 PM
Cannot use Calibre 0.7.42 with Win XP Pro honeyrose Calibre 18 02-05-2011 12:31 PM
Win Vista to Win 7 Upgrade messed up Calibre Amy44 Calibre 2 06-01-2010 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.