Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre Companion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2013, 11:58 AM   #16
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,187
Karma: 821512
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbo1967 View Post
Belkin 4365e8
I can't find that model number, but it doesn't matter as the ping test proved that guest mode is not an issue.
Quote:
(web browser test)Yep, didn't work.
That tells us that the problem isn't isn't CC. It is something in your environment. Given the ping results, that "something" is almost certainly on your laptop.
Quote:
The computer running Calibre is a laptop and is not connected to my home network using a cable. Does it need to be?
No.
Quote:
The ping was successful.
That means that there is definitely network connectivity between the laptop and the N7, and that your laptop can make outgoing connections, thus no guest mode problems. However, that also means that the CC connection problem must be in the security SW on your laptop, preventing incoming connections. Which one are you running?

Sometimes the security software has a way to disable it temporarily. Does yours? In particular, can you disable the firewall to see if doing so lets CC through?

Note that the FAQ discusses the Windows Firewall, by Microsoft. There are a zillion other firewall packages, such as Avast, Norton, McAfee, Kaspersky, ZoneAlarm, AVG, ESET, etc. Each of these packages has its own firewall and its own way of letting applications through it.
Quote:
I quite simply cannot get the laptop to start in Safe Mode with Networking!
Oh well...
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 01:36 PM   #17
Bilbo1967
Not scared!
Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Bilbo1967 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Bilbo1967's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,108
Karma: 25330868
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midlands, UK
Device: Sony 650, Sony T2, Xoom, Nexus 7 (2012 & 2013), Nook ST (x3)
The only software I can see is Norton, and that seems to be not working (I can't open it or even uninstall it).

I have allowed everything through the firewall and even tried disabling the Windows firewall altogether. I think CC just isn't for me I'm afraid!

Thanks for all the help.
Bilbo1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 12-12-2013, 01:57 PM   #18
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,429
Karma: 5560777
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbo1967 View Post
The only software I can see is Norton, and that seems to be not working (I can't open it or even uninstall it).

I have allowed everything through the firewall and even tried disabling the Windows firewall altogether. I think CC just isn't for me I'm afraid!

Thanks for all the help.
You appear to be describing a Malware infection

(Some would also say Norton was Malware Peter! Why did you sell out to the Big Yellow?)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calibre - Not using existing metadata from *.opf files when Add books rolandt99 Library Management 16 03-03-2014 02:45 PM
Calibre Companion - Where are my books? Chapter One Calibre Companion 8 11-02-2013 11:30 PM
Can Calibre Companion Download books from Nook to Calibre? Rika24 Library Management 5 10-03-2013 12:55 AM
Problems Reading Some Calibre Library Books Using Calibre Companion eurasiarc Calibre Companion 17 09-28-2013 02:45 PM
Syncing Calibre Companion with already existing books JimPAX Calibre Companion 1 08-13-2013 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.