Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2008, 06:48 PM   #1
artcoffeewords
Reading & Knitting
artcoffeewords began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Device: Sony PRS-505 and Palm Zire 72
Pictureflow Error: Wrong Elf class on Ubuntu 8.04 AMD_64

Is there a way to get the pictureflow working on 64-bit Ubuntu. The error is "wrong ELF class: elfclass32" which I assume is because I am running the 64-bit os. Calibre is working perfectly for me other than the cover flow.

Here is a screenshot of the full error message:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	211
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	14355  
artcoffeewords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:33 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,924
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
pictureflow is the only thing in calibre that uses C code and it's compiled on a 32-bit system (I dont have a 64 bit system). You can compile it manually if you're up to the challenge.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:41 PM   #3
artcoffeewords
Reading & Knitting
artcoffeewords began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Device: Sony PRS-505 and Palm Zire 72
Thanks for the answer. Compiling it myself is a bit beyond my current knowledge level, but I can learn A challenge is always fun.
artcoffeewords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:36 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,924
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
just get the source code (instructions are at https://calibre.kovidgoyal.net/wiki/...ctionsforlinux)

In the instructions, change the second line to
Code:
cd calibre && make plugins
That will compile the pictureflow plugin placing the output into the directory src/calibre/plugins. Just copy the files there into the calibre installation overwriting the existing ones (do a find or a locate to learn where the files to overwrite are on)

Note that for the compilation to succeed you may need to install the qt-dev and pyqt-dev packages.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 04:45 AM   #5
artcoffeewords
Reading & Knitting
artcoffeewords began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Device: Sony PRS-505 and Palm Zire 72
I got the source code and I am pretty sure I have the dependent dev packages. When I run the code to make the plugin I get this output with the error code at the end and the /src/calibre/plugins/ folder is empty.
Quote:
mkdir -p src/calibre/plugins
mkdir -p src/calibre/plugins && rm -f src/calibre/plugins/*pictureflow* && \
cd src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow && rm -f *.o && \
mkdir -p .build && cd .build && rm -f * && \
qmake ../pictureflow.pro && make staticlib && \
cd ../PyQt && \
mkdir -p .build && \
cd .build && rm -f * && \
python ../configure.py && make && \
cd ../../../../../.. && \
cp src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow/PyQt/.build/pictureflow.so src/calibre/plugins/ && \
rm -rf src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow/.build rm -rf src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow/PyQt/.build
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/teresa/calibre/src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow/.build'
g++ -c -pipe -fpermissive -g -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I../../pictureflow -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4 -I../../pictureflow -I../../pictureflow -I. -o pictureflow.o ../pictureflow.cpp
../pictureflow.cpp:1380: warning: unused parameter ‘index’
../pictureflow.cpp:1381: warning: unused parameter ‘index’
/usr/bin/moc-qt4 -DQT_SHARED -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I../../pictureflow -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4 -I../../pictureflow -I../../pictureflow -I. ../pictureflow.h -o moc_pictureflow.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -fpermissive -g -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -fPIC -DQT_SHARED -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I../../pictureflow -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4 -I../../pictureflow -I../../pictureflow -I. -o moc_pictureflow.o moc_pictureflow.cpp
rm -f libpictureflow.a
ar cqs libpictureflow.a pictureflow.o moc_pictureflow.o
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/teresa/calibre/src/calibre/gui2/pictureflow/.build'
sh: /usr/bin/sip: not found
Error: Unable to open "pictureflow.sbf": [Errno 2] No such file or directory:
'pictureflow.sbf'
make: *** [pictureflow] Error 1
artcoffeewords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 10:50 AM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,924
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
you need python-sip and python-sip-dev as well. Note the line sh: /usr/bin/sip: not found
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:03 PM   #7
artcoffeewords
Reading & Knitting
artcoffeewords began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Device: Sony PRS-505 and Palm Zire 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
you need python-sip and python-sip-dev as well. Note the line sh: /usr/bin/sip: not found
I had both of those installed already, but I re-installed them. That did the trick. It is working beautifully now. Thanks!
artcoffeewords is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] ubuntu 0.6.46 ERROR: No internet connection bigreat Calibre 16 04-09-2013 06:03 PM
Calibre Content Server error in Ubuntu 10.10 Bodman456 Calibre 1 07-07-2010 03:26 PM
DateUtil error when running on Ubuntu donnyspi Calibre 0 01-20-2010 11:45 AM
Error in script on 0.4.113 - 64bit Ubuntu CaptOzone Calibre 10 02-12-2009 05:27 PM
Problems with installing Calibre, Ubuntu 7.10 Gusty AMD_64 with PRS-500 deedward9 Calibre 2 07-07-2008 08:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.