Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Uploads - Patricia Clark Memorial Library > IMP Books

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
RWood
Technogeezer
RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
RWood's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,233
Karma: 1601464
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Device: Sony PRS-500
Zangwill, Israel: Without Prejudice. 10 March 2008

A unique and interesting UK writer. This volume is a collection of his writings from the Pall Mall Magazine and cover a wide range of topics. One of the more unusual ones is as follows:

Quote:
I must really give up not smoking, at least till the American Copyright Act works smoothly, and I am in a position to afford luxuries. At present this habit of not smoking is a drain upon my resources which I can ill support. Whenever a man comes to my house, I have to give him cigars, or else gain the reputation of a churly and ill-mannered host. In the olden days, when I was economical and smoked all day long, I could go to that man’s house and get those cigars back. Very often, too, I used to get the best of the bargain, and thus effect considerable economies in the purchase of good tobacco. Nowadays, not only have I got to give away cigars for nothing, but they must be good ones. Formerly if I gave my friends bad cigars, it was from a box I was obviously smoking myself, and therefore they had at least the consolation of knowing I was a companion in misfortune. But to give others “evils from which you are yourself exempt” (to quote Lucretius) would be a terrible blend of bad taste and inhospitality. Under such circumstances a man looks on a bad cigar as an insult, and the greater insult because it is a gratuitous one. But my losses from these sources are trivial compared with the item for theatres. In the pure, innocent days, when I could not bear to let my pipe out of my mouth even for a moment, I was unable to go to theatres; but now that I have taken to not smoking, I have fallen a victim to my other craving—¬the passion for the play. Three stalls a week tot up frightfully in a year. No, decidedly I must check this extravagant habit of not smoking before I am irretrievably ruined.

This is forced, but Truth often dwells the bottom of a paradox.
This work is assumed to be in the Life+70 public domain OR the copyright holder has given specific permission for distribution. Copyright laws differ throughout the world, and it may still be under copyright in some countries. Before downloading, please check your country's copyright laws. If the book is under copyright in your country, do not download or redistribute this work..

To report a copyright violation you can contact us here.
Attached Files
File Type: imp Without Prejudice.imp (610.6 KB, 401 views)
RWood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unutterably Silly For fans of Pride and Prejudice... AnemicOak Lounge 2 07-18-2010 12:47 AM
Other Fiction Austen, Jane: Pride and Prejudice (Illustrated). v2, 2 Mar 2008 zelda_pinwheel IMP Books 11 09-01-2009 12:22 AM
Short Fiction Zangwill, Israel: Without Prejudice. 10 March 2008 RWood Kindle Books 0 03-10-2008 07:07 PM
Short Fiction Zangwill, Israel: Without Prejudice. 10 March 2008 RWood BBeB/LRF Books 0 03-10-2008 07:06 PM
Zangwill, Israel: The Big Bow Mystery. PDF for Sony Reader. 6 Sept 07. akiburis Other Books 0 09-06-2007 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.