Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Plugins

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
eosrose
Enthusiast
eosrose began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 43
Karma: 14
Join Date: May 2010
Location: WI
Device: Sony PRS-T1
[Generate Cover Plugin] I selected a font it didn't like and now it freezes up!

I was customizing a new template, testing the look of different fonts in the Generate Cover plugin, and apparently I selected a font that the plugin didn't agree with. Calibre instantly froze up. I forced the program to close and then restarted calibre. I tried starting the Generate Cover plugin button and again calibre froze. The only thing I can think to do is to uninstall and reinstall the plugin, but then I'll lose all my old templates, won't I?

I need some troubleshooting advice.

Update: I went ahead and uninstalled Generate Cover plugin, restarted calibre, and reinstalled the plugin. Calibre STILL freezes up when I try to use the plugin.

Last edited by eosrose; 04-13-2014 at 06:36 PM.
eosrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:42 PM   #2
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,623
Karma: 2183656
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
@eosrose - when you uninstall a plugin its config data is not deleted - that is consistent with calibre itself

Open calibre's config folder, close calibre. Go into the config\plugins folder, there you will find a file named Generate Cover.json, copy it to Generate Cover.jsonsave.

A json file is an editable text file. A simple way to fix it would be to open Generate Cover.json in say Notepad, and replace all occurrences of 'the bad font name' with 'a known good font name'

If you want to do more than that you'll probably need to use a 'smart' editor that will layout the text in a readable structure, google "edit json file on <your os>". On Windows I like Notepad++.

If you break something, replace the .json with the .jsonsave and start over.

If you're uncomfortable editing the the json file, then you can delete it and the PI will build a fresh one, you will of course lose your templates.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Reply

Tags
generate cover

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[GUI Plugin] Generate Cover kiwidude Plugins 502 10-10-2014 06:47 AM
0.9.5 Generate Cover plugin pbw Plugins 2 11-03-2012 10:45 AM
Calibre's collections plugin didn't work atp Library Management 4 03-12-2012 08:01 PM
Generate Cover Mythlandia Calibre 27 06-27-2010 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.