Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2013, 02:40 PM   #1
odusto
Junior Member
odusto began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: none
Convert HTML to RTF with Page Breaks

I've been trying to convert HTML files to RTF to be edited in Word. I would like there to be page breaks at each page but have not been able to get Calibre to do so. This is what I'm working with. Any clues?

<pagenum page="normal" id="p6" smilref="Fudge_a_Mania00001.smil#p6">6</pagenum>
</level2>
<level2 id="level2_000004">
<h2 id="h2_000004">
<strong id="strong_000003" smilref="Fudge_a_Mania00001.smil#strong_000003">2</strong>
<span class="text" id="span_000019" smilref="Fudge_a_Mania00001.smil#span_000019">Pete and</span>
<span class="text" id="span_000020" smilref="Fudge_a_Mania00001.smil#span_000020">Farl ey</span>
</h2>
odusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:53 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,067
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Why do you need to convert the files to rtf? Word can read and edit html files.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 03:25 PM   #3
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,597
Karma: 18390312
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
Why not edit in Sigil and create an ePub that you can use as a source format?
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:47 AM   #4
odusto
Junior Member
odusto began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: none
The objective is to turn Daisy books into large print paper books for visually impaired kids. I get the Daisy books from Bookshare that contain 10 files including XML, XSL, CSS and OPF. Since not all our kids can have eReaders I make them paper books from this in Word. Any ideas? The way I do it now is very time consuming and I know there must be a quicker way.
odusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,597
Karma: 18390312
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
You could try using Calibre to convert to RTF and see how that goes.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:38 PM   #6
odusto
Junior Member
odusto began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: none
Calibre seems like a good option but I can't make it keep page breaks in Word. I thought maybe that was possible under Structure Detection when converting but I have had no luck. The output is a RTF with no page breaks.
odusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:51 PM   #7
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,831
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by odusto View Post
Calibre seems like a good option but I can't make it keep page breaks in Word. I thought maybe that was possible under Structure Detection when converting but I have had no luck. The output is a RTF with no page breaks.
Isn't Structure detection more of an Input source function?


Did you try setting the 'Page Setup' to 'Generic' ?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:09 PM   #8
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,604
Karma: 2183656
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by odusto View Post
The output is a RTF with no page breaks.
If there's 'something' in the output RTF that indicates 'force new page here' eg

Code:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then you could record a Word macro to convert it to a Page Break

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:15 PM   #9
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon
JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.JSWolf ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
JSWolf's Avatar
 
Posts: 37,597
Karma: 18390312
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roslindale, Massachusetts
Device: Sony Reader PRS-650, iPad, nook STR
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
If there's 'something' in the output RTF that indicates 'force new page here' eg

Code:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then you could record a Word macro to convert it to a Page Break

BR
That is a very good idea to add something to the source to indicate page breaks and then search/replace into a page break.
JSWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:44 PM   #10
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,604
Karma: 2183656
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
My assumption was that the 'something' comes via the input, and I hoped my conditional statement implied that, but let's be pedantically explicit

If there's 'something' in the output RTF that ORIGINATES FROM THE INPUT that indicates 'force new page here' eg a squiggly line

Code:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then you could record a Word macro to convert it to a Page Break

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:03 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,097
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
IIRC, there is no support for page breaks in the RTF output plugin (which is largely unmaintained anyway).
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:04 PM   #12
odusto
Junior Member
odusto began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
If there's 'something' in the output RTF that indicates 'force new page here' eg

Code:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then you could record a Word macro to convert it to a Page Break

BR
This is a good idea. I will try to find something to do this. Thanks for the suggestion.
odusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
page breaks in html document michaelsmith1983 Conversion 1 03-06-2012 10:32 PM
HTML to MOBI conversion ignores page breaks LeftHanded Matt Conversion 2 12-21-2011 12:25 PM
RTF conversion problem - no page breaks jhsrennie Conversion 7 06-16-2011 01:29 PM
Cannot Convert HTML to RTF LightGuard Calibre 1 06-27-2010 10:37 AM
RTF vs HTML---best way to convert my files? ficbot Workshop 16 05-06-2010 06:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.