Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2013, 12:32 PM   #1
dicknskip
Zealot
dicknskip began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Okotoks, AB, Canada
Device: iPad V-3
0.7 Linux Ubuntu ppa

Relase 0.7 sounds terrific. I'd love to use it. The ppa that R Gibert so nicely keeps for us Ubuntu users shows that it now contains the 0.7 release. However, on Kubuntu 12.10 apt-get sigil or muon it only shows the 0.6.2 version and no updates available. Is anyone else having this issue? Could it be an issue with Qt5? Can I just install the QT5 a

TIAs shown in the build instructions for Linux?
dicknskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:51 PM   #2
teh603
Snarky Snark
teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
teh603's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,198
Karma: 6244877
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coastal Texas
Device: Asus TF300
Is Qt 5 even available for Ubuntu? I'm running version 4 on the desktop PC with 12.04 and AFIAK Qt 5 isn't an option.

Maybe in 13.04?
teh603 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-20-2013, 02:00 PM   #3
dicknskip
Zealot
dicknskip began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Okotoks, AB, Canada
Device: iPad V-3
The QT-Project website shows a QT5 download for Linux 64bit. I know that users of Sigil, the package I want to use, that are skilled at compiling are running it at QT5. I'm not that technically savvy so I thought I'd ask first, just in case I mess up my current system.
dicknskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,312
Karma: 42858084
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
I've not seen "official" Qt 5 packages anywhere yet.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:08 PM   #5
dicknskip
Zealot
dicknskip began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Okotoks, AB, Canada
Device: iPad V-3
Can you think of any other reason why R. Gibert's ppa wouldn't work? It has worked for the last couple of releases so this is strange.
dicknskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:14 PM   #6
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,312
Karma: 42858084
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
It looks to me like there are problems with all of the 0.7.0 builds on Gilbert's ppa. They all have red 'X's on them. Looks like a work in progress or maybe just placeholders of some kind.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:18 PM   #7
dicknskip
Zealot
dicknskip began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Okotoks, AB, Canada
Device: iPad V-3
Thanks, I didn't see those before, but I do now. I guess it is an issue so I'll await the fix OR maybe I'll just have to, finally, learn how to compile my own Self-reliance is a virtue I've been told.
dicknskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:26 PM   #8
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,312
Karma: 42858084
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
For the record, I wouldn't be nervous about installing Qt5 with the pre-compiled binary install program from the project's website. I've installed it on several versions/machines without messing up the existing system qt4 setup. Just install it in your home directory if you want to play it really safe. Then you can build Sigil using the instructions from the wiki on Sigil's website.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:33 PM   #9
dicknskip
Zealot
dicknskip began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 110
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Okotoks, AB, Canada
Device: iPad V-3
Much appreciated. I think I'll "struggle" along with 0.6.2 for a day or so and see what happens. At that point I can try a compile if needed. This is an amazing tool and the last few releases have made awesome improvements so it's a pretty minor struggle.
dicknskip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:58 PM   #10
teh603
Snarky Snark
teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.teh603 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
teh603's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,198
Karma: 6244877
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coastal Texas
Device: Asus TF300
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiapDealer View Post
It looks to me like there are problems with all of the 0.7.0 builds on Gilbert's ppa. They all have red 'X's on them. Looks like a work in progress or maybe just placeholders of some kind.
During an alpha/beta testcycle, we'd call that a "partial upgrade." Time to turn off the updater and wait a few hours or days for all the packages to get seated.
teh603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:43 AM   #11
signum
Connoisseur
signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.signum is that somebody.
 
Posts: 58
Karma: 45332
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: none
I'm also running (K)ubuntu 12.04. Qt5 hasn't appeared in the repositories yet. It's supposed to be included in 13.04, a couple of months from now. I'm hoping 12.04, the Long Term Support (5 years!) release, will get Qt5 backported sometime around the release of 13.04. So, I'm waiting a couple of months to try out Sigil 0.7.0.
signum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 03:56 AM   #12
paxmark1
Member
paxmark1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Device: Kobo Glo
Might be awhile (even quite awhile) for Debian to get QT5. I am currently using Debian testing. I downloaded the 300plus mb QT5.01 from the QT website to ~/bin. chmod +x and then ./ yields a QT5 environment to use. I do need to brush up on compilation flags for Sigil 0.70 to acess the QT5 in the cmake process.

Once successful I will keep Sigil 0.70 in a folder in ~/bin also. Another day I will try more.

I am still tickled pink about 0.62. It can stay in /usr/local -it compiled so easily.

Last edited by paxmark1; 02-24-2013 at 04:00 AM.
paxmark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:05 AM   #13
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,312
Karma: 42858084
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
Be careful keeping two versions. You'll be ok with those two particular versions because the change to Qt5 caused the .local (or .config, I always forget) files Sigil uses to be relocated. But usually, the location for those personal files (config, prefs, dictionaries, and the like) will be shared/mixed regardless of where you installed the binaries. Something to keep in mind moving forward.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:07 AM   #14
mrmikel
Book Twiddler
mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.mrmikel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 2,086
Karma: 1444487
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Device: PRS-300
Sounds almost as bad as windows with its handling of .dlls! In the program files, in system, the most current one or the first one called!!!!
mrmikel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 01:52 AM   #15
L_Oracle
Junior Member
L_Oracle began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: Sony Touch TS2
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxmark1 View Post
Might be awhile (even quite awhile) for Debian to get QT5. I am currently using Debian testing. I downloaded the 300plus mb QT5.01 from the QT website to ~/bin. chmod +x and then ./ yields a QT5 environment to use. I do need to brush up on compilation flags for Sigil 0.70 to acess the QT5 in the cmake process.

Once successful I will keep Sigil 0.70 in a folder in ~/bin also. Another day I will try more.

I am still tickled pink about 0.62. It can stay in /usr/local -it compiled so easily.
I am also using a Debian testing (wheezy). I was not able to install Sigil 0.7 yesterday night. Can you give me more tips about your installation please ?

Qt5 installation :
When you installed Qt5, did you use the script or download directly the sources ? If you use the script, did you install all features ? I understand your installation as far as chmod +x. But I do not get what you did next.

CMake :
I never use CMake before Sigil and I was not able to tell CMake where Qt5 was. (I definitely prefer gmake or autotools ^^).

Thanks in advance.
L_Oracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-T1 Prs T1 and Ubuntu, Linux - does it work ? JoelH Sony Reader 8 05-14-2012 11:47 AM
Scanner für Linux (Ubuntu) Jacques_N Erste Hilfe 6 10-13-2010 05:58 PM
PRS-300 Any problems with Linux (Ubuntu) ? Aristée Sony Reader 8 11-07-2009 10:20 AM
Linux Ubuntu rockingrector Calibre 4 01-23-2009 04:00 AM
Can not log in to Moblieread from Ubuntu Linux kacir Feedback 7 08-18-2007 08:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.