Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2014, 05:45 AM   #1
HisDudeness
Junior Member
HisDudeness began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2014
Device: Kindle PW2
Arrow Arch Linux on Paperwhite2

Hey guys,

I just managed to get Archlinux running in chroot on my paperwhite 2.
Now I am trying to set up xorg but for lack of experience i have no idea how to proceed

I can run xapps like xeyes, xclock... but they use the already running kindle xserver.
When trying to start a xserver in chroot, I always get '(EE) no screens found(EE)'

I installed the fbdev driver, but i actually have no idea how to set the xorg.conf XD
Does anyone know how I could get the screen and multitouch running?
Or is there a way to start a 2nd xserver 'as an app' on top of the other one?

cheers
HisDudeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 09:40 AM   #2
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,219
Karma: 5830430
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
The error is correct, you only have a single display (hardware) set.

If you can't just use the running x-server, you will have to stop the one which is using your display hardware first.

Could you post a *.tar.gz of your Arch chroot directory somewhere for others to work with?
Plus any of the start/enter/exit/stop scripting you are using.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-23-2014, 11:06 AM   #3
HisDudeness
Junior Member
HisDudeness began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2014
Device: Kindle PW2
sure!
here we go:

Code:
# To get ArchARM running on your Paperwhite2, do the following:

# SSH into your Kindle, then:

mkdir /mnt/us/archlinux             # create a directory of your choice
cd /mnt/us/archlinux
mkdir os 			
dd if=/dev/zero of=arch.img seek=750000000 bs=1 count=1 	# create image container
mke2fs -F -t ext3 arch.img	        # create ext3 filesystem of image
mknod /dev/loop7 b 7 7		# create loop device
losetup /dev/loop7 arch.img	# set loop device to image
mount -t ext3 /dev/loop7 os/	# mount it
			

# download the latest ArchARM v7 into your os directory
# either with wget:
wget http://os.archlinuxarm.org/os/ArchLinuxARM-armv7-latest.tar.gz

# or over ssh with scp:
scp ~/Downloads/ArchLinuxARM-armv7-latest.tar.gz root@192.168.2.2:/mnt/us/archlinux/os/ArchLinuxARM-armv7-latest.tar.gz

# extract the tar and then remove it
tar xzf ArchLinuxARM-armv7-latest.tar.gz
rm ArchLinuxARM-armv7-latest.tar.gz

#mount some directories for arch:
mount -o bind /dev/ /mnt/us/archlinux/os/dev
mount -t proc proc proc/
mount --rbind /sys sys/
mount --rbind /dev dev/

# copy the DNS settings
cp /etc/resolv.conf etc/resolv.conf

# and chroot into arch:
chroot /mnt/us/archlinux/os /bin/bash

#now try to run 
pacman -Syu

#and if it starts updating, everything is fine =)
you could now get some xapps like xclock or xeyes and display it:
Code:
xclock -geometry 300x300+150+250 -name "L:D_N:application_ID:xclock"
Thats where I am atm.

@knc1:
Thats what I thought...
The problem here is, everytime i stopped the xserver it immediately restarted, leaving me no chance to start mine. :/ I haven't figured out yet the service responsible for that...
HisDudeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 01:06 PM   #4
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,219
Karma: 5830430
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
You will have to dig through the upstart rules to find out what is keeping it running.

Some of the video examples (at least) have had to stop the x-server -
probably in posts by Geekmaster and/or twobob.

I have never needed to do it myself, so I don't have any links handy for you to check out.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 02:25 PM   #5
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,631
Karma: 4440239
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, PW & PW2
stop lab126_gui is your new best friend.
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 10:51 AM   #6
HisDudeness
Junior Member
HisDudeness began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2014
Device: Kindle PW2
Quote:
stop lab126_gui is your new best friend.
-> indeed

It works fine now to run programs from arch and display it with the kindle xserver =)
I played around with vnc and other stuff but the limited diskspace is annoying.

I might dig out my raspberry and look into x11 forwarding instead...
HisDudeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 03:14 PM   #7
Ecaz
Junior Member
Ecaz began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite
Hey can you post a few pictures of your Kindle running X?

I'd like to see that :-)
Ecaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 03:20 PM   #8
NiLuJe
BLAM!
NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.NiLuJe ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
NiLuJe's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,631
Karma: 4440239
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris, France
Device: Kindle 2i, 3g, 4, 5w, PW & PW2
@Ecaz: Look at your own? .

(Every Kindle running FW 5.x already runs X ).
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:43 AM   #9
HisDudeness
Junior Member
HisDudeness began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2014
Device: Kindle PW2
i just found out what triggers the xserver to automatically restart:

If you have a look into /etc/upstart/x_monitor.conf
you can see that the first line is responsible to start the lxinit in case of a crash. So if you are annoyed by frequent xorg resets -> uncomment it

I also played around with the X11 forwarding this morning. Parallel to the xforwarding on the kindle I run a synergy client on the arch chroot and the server on my laptop. (Synergy sends mouse and keyboard to a remote host).
This way I can use the touch of the pw as well as my mouse and keyboard =)

@Ecaz:
here a pic of the Kindle updating Steam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140725_131014.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	125824  
HisDudeness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
arch, archlinux, chroot, paperwhite, pw2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobiperl package in the Arch Linux AUR Synthead Amazon Kindle 3 07-05-2013 09:14 AM
Calibre, Arch Linux, and a failure to load nook touch dataknight Devices 3 07-22-2012 10:30 PM
Can't add plugins (Calibre 8.1 on Arch Linux) byrnerat101 Plugins 17 02-21-2012 06:06 AM
sigil Arch Linux wetterau Sigil 5 12-02-2010 12:59 PM
Installing Calibre in Arch Linux jatz Calibre 0 03-23-2010 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.