Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2013, 09:19 AM   #1
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
I have trouble sync

I can't open http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com/kin.../wifistub.html due to my ISP.

Of course,i can contect isp with this problem

But i find that i can visit it using ip's way:http://72.21.211.167/kindle-wifi/wifistub.html

At first,we may think is DNS problem,but it's not.
Using `dig` command,i can see that it convert to ip properly
So i write
ip name
in /etc/hosts
But it doesn;t work as i expect.

what should i do
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:32 AM   #2
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,828
Karma: 6314522
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shia86 View Post
I can't open http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com/kin.../wifistub.html due to my ISP.

Of course,i can contect isp with this problem

But i find that i can visit it using ip's way:http://72.21.211.167/kindle-wifi/wifistub.html

At first,we may think is DNS problem,but it's not.
Using `dig` command,i can see that it convert to ip properly
So i write
ip name
in /etc/hosts
But it doesn;t work as i expect.

what should i do
Copy what you wrote into /etc/hosts please, use the 'CODE' tags around it please.
(Note: the Windoze and the Linux hosts file use different formats and line endings.)

Also explain what you expected it to do and what it does.
"Does not work as expected" is worthless, since none of us can get inside your mind.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 02-10-2013, 09:49 AM   #3
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Copy what you wrote into /etc/hosts please, use the 'CODE' tags around it please.
(Note: the Windoze and the Linux hosts file use different formats and line endings.)
Code:
72.21.195.161 spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Also explain what you expected it to do and what it does.
I expect the /etc/hosts file can take effect and then i can open the website using name not ip
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:01 AM   #4
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,828
Karma: 6314522
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shia86 View Post
Code:
72.21.195.161 spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com
I expect the /etc/hosts file can take effect and then i can open the website using name not ip
Check that your /etc/nsswitch.conf lists 'files' as the first choice, like this **SAMPLE**:
Code:
# /etc/nsswitch.conf
#
# Example configuration of GNU Name Service Switch functionality.
# If you have the `glibc-doc-reference' and `info' packages installed, try:
# `info libc "Name Service Switch"' for information about this file.

passwd:         compat
group:          compat
shadow:         compat

hosts:          files mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns mdns4
networks:       files

protocols:      db files
services:       db files
ethers:         db files
rpc:            db files

netgroup:       nis
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:13 AM   #5
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021146
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by shia86 View Post
Code:
72.21.195.161 spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com


I expect the /etc/hosts file can take effect and then i can open the website using name not ip
72.21.211.200 also resolves to this... as does 205.251.242.101, 72.21.215.165

You sure that IP is still good?

Last edited by twobob; 02-10-2013 at 10:18 AM.
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:14 AM   #6
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
@Knc1
>Check that your /etc/nsswitch.conf lists 'files' as the first choice,
yes, file is in first place
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:16 AM   #7
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by twobob View Post
72.21.211.200 also resolves to this...

You sure that IP is still good?
everytime i can open using this ip.
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:19 AM   #8
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021146
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Why not use someone else's nameserver? IIRC that is not such a hard thing to setup.

Still an extra NS record in your DNS resolution thingy - point at someone with decent results?
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:20 AM   #9
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021146
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by shia86 View Post
everytime i can open using this ip.
okay yeah I see http://aws.amazon.com/s3/

fair enough
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:22 AM   #10
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021146
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
[root@kindle root]# cat /etc/hosts
Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost kindle
192.168.15.200 usbnet-host-gw

72.21.195.161 spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com
and you have that?
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:26 AM   #11
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by twobob View Post
[root@kindle root]# cat /etc/hosts


and you have that?

Code:
$: dig http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 51052
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com. IN	A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
http://spectrum.s3.amazonaws.com. 7519 IN CNAME	s3-directional-w.amazonaws.com.
s3-directional-w.amazonaws.com.	294 IN	CNAME	s3-directional-w.a-geo.amazonaws.com.
s3-directional-w.a-geo.amazonaws.com. 47 IN CNAME s3-1-w.amazonaws.com.
s3-1-w.amazonaws.com.	24	IN	A	176.32.100.64


;; Query time: 676 msec
;; SERVER: 211.137.130.3#53(211.137.130.3)
;; WHEN: Sun Feb 10 22:23:33 2013
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 155

yes,i also add bold part into /etc/hosts
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:27 AM   #12
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
@twobob yes
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:28 AM   #13
shia86
Member
shia86 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 13
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Device: kindle4.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by twobob View Post
Why not use someone else's nameserver? IIRC that is not such a hard thing to setup.

Still an extra NS record in your DNS resolution thingy - point at someone with decent results?
But it is not the DNS problem as many people pointed out
shia86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:29 AM   #14
knc1
Helpdesk Junkie
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,828
Karma: 6314522
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by twobob View Post
72.21.211.200 also resolves to this... as does 205.251.242.101, 72.21.215.165

You sure that IP is still good?
And if you should, in the future, choose to add the BBB firewall . . .
Remember that those ranges will be blocked on the Kindle.
You will need to manually comment out the block on the access point to the S3 services you want to use.

And the file which twobob mentioned is: /etc/resolv.conf
Which may be over-written by things like your network manager thingy, dhcp, and other "we know best" applications.
Meaning you may have to tweak each of those "we know best" application configurations to make a lasting change in DNS nameserver.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:37 AM   #15
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,552
Karma: 6021146
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
Just so I am 100% clear on this..

It's YOUR ISP that is in some way messing up the resolution of the name. OR SOMETHING.
correct?

That is to say IT DOES WORK when you connect via 3g? correct?

Just trying to figure out how you know it's NOT working. Like, exactly what are you trying to do?

Okay USE CASE:


I open my browser on the kindle (for arguments sake) and type in your IP
72.21.195.161

The browser goes off and RESOLVES this (In the address bar where we can see it) to the aws.amazon.blah.blah.blah

What happens when you do this?

thanks.
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle Paperwhite Sync Trouble brandoncaldwell Devices 1 10-21-2013 12:30 AM
PRS-T1 piggy sync or peggy sync or something...? multiprose Sony Reader 3 01-08-2012 12:50 PM
Multicomputer Sync users - Do you sync the Config directory? Starson17 Calibre 4 07-29-2010 02:07 AM
Classic Application sync (in process com.bravo.sync) is not responding sdspieg Barnes & Noble NOOK 5 03-29-2010 09:41 AM
Automatic Sony Read Sync Script for Mac and Mekentosj Papers Sync smash0190 Sony Reader 1 03-12-2009 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.