Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2012, 10:49 PM   #1
Pezzie
Junior Member
Pezzie began at the beginning.
 
Pezzie's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle, Calibre
Moving Calibre Library from on computer to another?

I've tried copying my library from one computer to another, but seem to loose all my metadata (Covers etc) when I open the library on another machine.

Is there a way to export the library completely to another machine without loosing all your covers and other metadata?

If I look in the directory for a book the files appear to be there, but they don't show up in Calibre when I look at the meta data.

I'm trying to re-convert the files and put all the meta data into the actual books, but with 1400 odd books, this is taking a while.

Last edited by Pezzie; 01-14-2012 at 10:57 PM.
Pezzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 10:53 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,109
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....ter-to-another
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:13 PM   #3
Pezzie
Junior Member
Pezzie began at the beginning.
 
Pezzie's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle, Calibre
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Thanks for such a quick reply,

I did copy the entire library directory to the other machine, but Calibre doesn't appear to be reading the file metadata.db correctly. The copy on the new machine doesn't show the Covers and metadata I added into the metadata on the other machine.

I've even tried re-adding all the files, but it still won't show my edits from the other machine.

Is the edited metadata not being stored in the book directory on the first machine? (Eg. I've messed my settings up some how?)

I don't know if it makes any difference if I'm switching from a Windows 7 to a Windows XP machine? (XP being the one I'm trying to copy to)

What is stored in the Application Data in Windows 7 and XP? Am I missing something from there when I copy to the other machine?
Pezzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:21 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,109
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
No. If you copy the library folder correctly, all metadata and covers will show up.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:36 PM   #5
Pezzie
Junior Member
Pezzie began at the beginning.
 
Pezzie's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle, Calibre
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
No. If you copy the library folder correctly, all metadata and covers will show up.
The directory is called C:\Books in my C:\ (root)

I copy the entire directory with all the sub directories.

I then put it in the same place on the other machine. C:\Books

Maybe I'm doing something wrong when I open Calibre on the other machine?

I open Calibre (empty library)

I select "Add Books" - All directories, including sub-directories....

It processes all the titles, but it appears to be reading data from the book files (mobi) and not the metadata files (opf).

Some books had all their metadata prior to using Calibre, some I've added with Calibre. The data is there, but not showing up in Calibre as it did on the first machine.

Is running the add books creating a new metadata.db file and overwriting what I did on the other machine? If so, how do I tell Calibre to just read the original metadata.db instead of creating a new one.
Pezzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,109
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Read the link I posted before, it tells you exactly how to do that.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:59 AM   #7
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezzie View Post
I open Calibre (empty library)

I select "Add Books" - All directories, including sub-directories....
Do NOT "Add Books."

Kovid gave you a link to instructions yet you make up your own.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezzie View Post
how do I tell Calibre to just read the original metadata.db instead of creating a new one.
Outlined in the instructions linked in post 2.
DoctorOhh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 03:10 PM   #8
Wally953
Junior Member
Wally953 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezzie View Post
I've tried copying my library from one computer to another, but seem to loose all my metadata (Covers etc) when I open the library on another machine.

Is there a way to export the library completely to another machine without loosing all your covers and other metadata?

If I look in the directory for a book the files appear to be there, but they don't show up in Calibre when I look at the meta data.

I'm trying to re-convert the files and put all the meta data into the actual books, but with 1400 odd books, this is taking a while.
Hi Pezzie. I have exactly the same problem... did you solve it? please let me know.
Wally
Wally953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 03:18 PM   #9
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,933
Karma: 43999669
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
Did you follow the link that Kovid supplied?????
PeterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 03:21 PM   #10
Divingduck
Fanatic
Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.Divingduck never is beset by a damp, drizzly November in his or her soul.
 
Posts: 558
Karma: 59934
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Device: Sony PRS-650
Sorry for the question, but what is wrong with Kovids post (post no. 2)? There you will find exactly pointed out how to do this. There is no problem as fare I know; only reading and following the instruction is necessary.
Divingduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:48 PM   #11
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 3,610
Karma: 2183656
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
Hi Pezzie,
  1. Right click the Library Icon in the toolbar
  2. Select Switch/Create Library...
  3. Click the blue diskette icon to the right of the New Location box
  4. Navigate to (find) the library folder and select it
  5. Select the Use the previous existing library at the new location radio pushbutton
  6. Click OK
Hope this helps

BR

The manual says in part ...right-click the calibre icon in the toolbar and point it to the newly copied directory.

This is an IT-centric colloquial use of the verb 'to point', with which even those whose first language is English may not be familiar. Someone whose first language is not English, and who is not familiar with IT-speak, will probably find it even harder.
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:26 AM   #12
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,839
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
Hi Pezzie,
  1. Right click the Library Icon in the toolbar
  2. Select Switch/Create Library...
  3. Click the blue diskette icon to the right of the New Location box
  4. Navigate to (find) the library folder and select it
  5. Select the Use the previous existing library at the new location radio pushbutton
  6. Click OK
Hope this helps

BR

The manual says in part ...right-click the calibre icon in the toolbar and point it to the newly copied directory.

This is an IT-centric colloquial use of the verb 'to point', with which even those whose first language is English may not be familiar. Someone whose first language is not English, and who is not familiar with IT-speak, will probably find it even harder.
BR
But my mouse cursor has a Arrow Point
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:12 AM   #13
Pezzie
Junior Member
Pezzie began at the beginning.
 
Pezzie's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle, Calibre
Thanks everyone. Problem fixed.

Sorry to not get back to the board sooner to reply. I hadn't realized that people were still posting until I got an email saying there was activity on the board. (Bit of a time delay there) Just goes to show that whatever you put on the web, stays on the web......... for ever and ever and ever.

I couldn't find the Calibre logo mentioned by Kovid in the help, but did eventually find the library button and did what "BetterRed" & "TheDuck" said, though I hadn't read the post at the time. (Like your "Staff to 4 cats" by the way, I'm staff to just one kitten (Lunna, middle name Tic) at the moment)

Again, thanks everyone.

Is it just me or are digital books just the best thing ever?

Last edited by Pezzie; 03-22-2013 at 01:16 AM.
Pezzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 01:59 PM   #14
Goldie112299
Junior Member
Goldie112299 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2013
Device: Kindle HD
Thank you BetterRed, I needed to see it in step by step list form....



Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterRed View Post
Hi Pezzie,
  1. Right click the Library Icon in the toolbar
  2. Select Switch/Create Library...
  3. Click the blue diskette icon to the right of the New Location box
  4. Navigate to (find) the library folder and select it
  5. Select the Use the previous existing library at the new location radio pushbutton
  6. Click OK
Hope this helps

BR

The manual says in part ...right-click the calibre icon in the toolbar and point it to the newly copied directory.

This is an IT-centric colloquial use of the verb 'to point', with which even those whose first language is English may not be familiar. Someone whose first language is not English, and who is not familiar with IT-speak, will probably find it even harder.
Goldie112299 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, export library, moving

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What am I doing wrong (Re: moving the library to another computer). Marok Library Management 6 09-19-2011 07:59 AM
Moving library folder outside calibre - than change within. myle00 Calibre 6 08-16-2011 07:08 AM
Moving Entire calibre Installation to a different computer bcamp47 Library Management 4 08-09-2011 11:17 PM
Moving Calibre from one computer to another? Synful Library Management 7 04-16-2011 01:17 PM
Moving my library: calibre error dotancohen Library Management 4 02-10-2011 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.