Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2008, 03:16 AM   #1
shousa
Groupie
shousa doesn't littershousa doesn't littershousa doesn't litter
 
Posts: 181
Karma: 232
Join Date: May 2006
Issue with libprs505

I have a problem with entering meta data in libprs500 - note talking about within the GUI.

Description of problem is as follows:
The author name shows as "Charles,Maturin" instead of "Maturin,Charles".

Why is it bizarre?
1) Because even if you type in "Maturin,Charles" then click OK it reverts back to "Charles,Maturin"!!!!......and.....
2) even if I use "Remove ebooks" (not detach the ebook file which leaves the record remaining) to delete the entire book record from the database and then run lrf-meta on a lrf version (generated from the .html using book designer) to make the author "Maturin,Charles" and author-sort "Maturin, Charles" and then use "Add books" the problem arises again - it reverts back to "Charles,Maturin"!!!!.

This is the ebook for reference
http://gutenberg.net.au/ebooks07/0700551h.html

My theories are (do not laugh kovid!):
1) Since this occurs only with one ebook and no other I believe it must be the ebook (2 computers have the same result also).
2) The ebook is made from a .html, does author data in this override the .lrf meta data when being read in using "add books"?
3) Does the .html corrupt the record in the database thereby not allowing saves to the record. This seems unlikely as I can add a cover image so the whole record is not locked.

General meta-data questions:
1) Anyone else want to comment on having the author as "Caesar,Julius" (no space) and the author-sort as "Caesar, Julius" (with a space)?
2) Does this way cause errors? Is there a better way for a Sony 505?
3) What way do you do and why?

Last edited by shousa; 02-06-2008 at 03:24 AM.
shousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 03:31 AM   #2
shousa
Groupie
shousa doesn't littershousa doesn't littershousa doesn't litter
 
Posts: 181
Karma: 232
Join Date: May 2006
Note the problem is fixed if use "Caesar,Julius" or "Maturin, Charles Robert" or even "AAAA".

It only did not work with "Maturin, Charles" - turning it into "Charles,Maturin"

Weird!
shousa is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-06-2008, 04:45 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That's because libprs500 uses the comma to detect multiple author. So when you type Charles,Maturin it thinks there are two authors Charles and Maturin. Use a semicolon instead.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 08:14 AM   #4
shousa
Groupie
shousa doesn't littershousa doesn't littershousa doesn't litter
 
Posts: 181
Karma: 232
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That's because libprs500 uses the comma to detect multiple author. So when you type Charles,Maturin it thinks there are two authors Charles and Maturin. Use a semicolon instead.
Oh I see.....is it best to have no space eg "Caesar; Julius" for author and space eg "Caesar; Julius" for author-sort or is another way best?

Or in other words why is there no space with mobileread .lrfs for author?

Sorry for that....should be my last question however as everything else is sorted.
shousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 08:15 AM   #5
alreds
Member
alreds began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Device: PRS505LC, iPad2, iPhone5, Kindle KB, Kindle PW
Issue re-installing libprs500

Sorry if the following has been answered but I could not find anything on this. My problem is that I'm trying to reinstall libprs500 latest version but I get the following message:

QUOTE
Cannot start libprs500

Another program is using the database. Perhaps libprs500 is already running? If not try deleting the file f:\_prs505\.library1.db.lock
UNQUOTE

I have deleted such file, however keep getting the message and I'm not able to open the program. Any suggestions on how to solve this?

Thanks,
alreds
alreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 08:21 AM   #6
shousa
Groupie
shousa doesn't littershousa doesn't littershousa doesn't litter
 
Posts: 181
Karma: 232
Join Date: May 2006
If your problem still happens after a restart (shut-down of your computer) I would be surprised. I guess it happened after a crash.

Since it uses a database I believe you need to give it time to do certain operations eg saving records rather than just clicking away as fast as you can.

My experience is that just backing off a little = no crashes EVER.

Damn stable program IMHO.
shousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 10:54 AM   #7
alreds
Member
alreds began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Device: PRS505LC, iPad2, iPhone5, Kindle KB, Kindle PW
Quote:
Originally Posted by shousa View Post
If your problem still happens after a restart (shut-down of your computer) I would be surprised. I guess it happened after a crash.

Since it uses a database I believe you need to give it time to do certain operations eg saving records rather than just clicking away as fast as you can.

My experience is that just backing off a little = no crashes EVER.

Damn stable program IMHO.
Thanks for responding; yes it does still happen even after re-starting.
alreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 12:58 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by shousa View Post
Oh I see.....is it best to have no space eg "Caesar; Julius" for author and space eg "Caesar; Julius" for author-sort or is another way best?

Or in other words why is there no space with mobileread .lrfs for author?

Sorry for that....should be my last question however as everything else is sorted.
Shouldn't make a difference whether there is a space or not. Use whatever form you prefer.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 01:00 PM   #9
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by alreds View Post
Sorry if the following has been answered but I could not find anything on this. My problem is that I'm trying to reinstall libprs500 latest version but I get the following message:

QUOTE
Cannot start libprs500

Another program is using the database. Perhaps libprs500 is already running? If not try deleting the file f:\_prs505\.library1.db.lock
UNQUOTE

I have deleted such file, however keep getting the message and I'm not able to open the program. Any suggestions on how to solve this?

Thanks,
alreds
After you delete the file and start the program you get the message again and the file is recreated? How are you starting the program?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 01:58 PM   #10
alreds
Member
alreds began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Device: PRS505LC, iPad2, iPhone5, Kindle KB, Kindle PW
Issue re-installing libprs500

Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
After you delete the file and start the program you get the message again and the file is recreated? How are you starting the program?
Yes I do get the message again and not able to open the program. Also, the file is not recreated and don't have it any longer. The way I try to open the program is double clicking the libprs500 icon that is created on the desktop.
alreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 01:59 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Did you move the database file some time in the past using the config dialog?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 02:29 PM   #12
alreds
Member
alreds began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Device: PRS505LC, iPad2, iPhone5, Kindle KB, Kindle PW
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Did you move the database file some time in the past using the config dialog?
No, did not do that.
alreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 02:36 PM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
But then why is the database being created in f:\_prs505 ?? By efault it should be created under C:\Documents and Settings
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 03:08 PM   #14
alreds
Member
alreds began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Device: PRS505LC, iPad2, iPhone5, Kindle KB, Kindle PW
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
But then why is the database being created in f:\_prs505 ?? By efault it should be created under C:\Documents and Settings
I beg your pardon. Yes, I did move the database from the default location in C:\Documents and Settings to an external hard drive F:\_prs505. I did do this in order to keep my books separate in a dedicated drive. Then after some time I tried to move it back to C:\Documents and Settings (due to conflict with the drives since when I connected the Sony Reader this one tried to use drive F:\ as well), however the program did not allow me to move it back. Then is when I decided to re-install the program, but now I'm stuck not being allowed to start it and getting the message that I mentioned.

Sorry if I confused you but I wanted to walk you through what I did and hope you are able to advise.

BTW Kovid, I'd like to take the opportunity to thank you for you contribution to us the readers community with your great program.
alreds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 03:46 PM   #15
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,116
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Search the registry (using the program regedit) for "libprs500". One of the keys will contain a database path. Delete it and you should be fine.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Stanza issue Tamara Apple Devices 3 03-31-2010 09:30 AM
Cool-er issue sassanik Calibre 5 08-11-2009 04:42 AM
0.5.2 Issue drmathprog Calibre 3 03-25-2009 10:33 PM
Next issue..... DeathtoToasters iRex 5 12-05-2007 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.