Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2012, 12:54 AM   #1
entity
Junior Member
entity began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: SONY PRS-T1
Calibre crashes on menu Button selection

Just installed Calibre 64 bit on my new Win 7 Pro 64 bit machine.
Whenever I select any buttons on the menu, the program freezes.
I have managed to open some menus, ONLY SOMETIMES, if I use the side arrow on the menu button but even this crashes the program after one or two attempts.
I have NEVER been able to open the Preferences, even using the side arrow menu.
entity
entity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:05 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by entity View Post
Just installed Calibre 64 bit on my new Win 7 Pro 64 bit machine.
Whenever I select any buttons on the menu, the program freezes.
I have managed to open some menus, ONLY SOMETIMES, if I use the side arrow on the menu button but even this crashes the program after one or two attempts.
I have NEVER been able to open the Preferences, even using the side arrow menu.
entity
You probably have a corrupted font (or a non-font) in the Windows font folder
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:17 AM   #3
PeterT
Taking a break; Fed up
PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.PeterT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
PeterT's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,433
Karma: 46824989
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Wife: Touch, Arc, Vox Me: Nexus 7, Glo
Or maybe RoboForms installed?
PeterT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:30 AM   #4
entity
Junior Member
entity began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: SONY PRS-T1
Thanks to you both
WOW! I've never heard of Fonts being a cause of anything like this!
Never heard of RoboForms, so probably not installed.
How do I find the culprit Font and get rid of it?
________________________________
entity
entity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:26 AM   #5
Quelch
Groupie
Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Quelch ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Quelch's Avatar
 
Posts: 155
Karma: 977036
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Device: Kobo Touch and iPad 4 hers, Nexus 7 mine !
I recommend using 'RevoUninstaller' to remove Calibre, RevoUninstaller gets rid of all the related files including the naughty ones
Google 'Ninite.com/' click on 'Revo' then click on 'Get Installer' this will download RevoUninstaller just follow the prompts
Run Revo to remove your corrupted copy of Calibre
Then download the latest version of Calibre !
Quelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:32 AM   #6
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by entity View Post
Thanks to you both
WOW! I've never heard of Fonts being a cause of anything like this!
Never heard of RoboForms, so probably not installed.
How do I find the culprit Font and get rid of it?
________________________________
entity
1st Use your Eyeball MkI in the windows font folder (icon view makes it easy). If it ain't a (TT, O or Red A) font, it don't belong there.

Try this M$ W7 answer http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-00c05794b914
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 04:44 AM   #7
entity
Junior Member
entity began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Device: SONY PRS-T1
I had a fiddle around with the Fonts but I don't think I made any difference. I couldn't tell which were the corrupted fonts. (How DO you tell?)
I then uninstalled Calibre with RevoUninstaller. That did the trick. All is OK. Thanks again
entity
entity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-505 Menu button does not work. pivirgil Sony Reader 1 07-13-2011 07:18 PM
Kobo constantly crashes back to Reading menu avalanches Kobo Reader 0 04-11-2011 10:35 PM
Menu button acting up canezila enTourage Archive 6 02-18-2011 04:53 PM
903 Menu button not working at all P.A. PocketBook 4 02-05-2011 07:16 AM
The Menu (physical) button is your friend! sarah11918 enTourage Archive 0 04-15-2010 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.