Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2016, 09:28 PM   #1
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
Oasis on 5.8.2 stuck in Diag Mode

Jailbroke fine. Had KUAL and all extensions working fine. I was trying to test out the Coward's Rescue Pack by rebooting while plugged in. Now the Oasis is stuck in Diagnostic Mode. I SSH'd in and created "DISABLE_DIAGS" file in /mnt/us. Nothing. "Exit Reboot" and "Exit Disable" loop back. It seems like the Diagnostics are trying to do something because every minute or so the screen flashes.

Suggestions?

Aside: It did seem to glitch when I initially did a Restart while plugged in. The Kindle hung. After initiating a Restart it did nothing so I touched the Home icon, it turned black but locked up. I had to use the Power button to Power Cycle it. It came back in Diagnostic mode. Now here I sit...

picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:32 PM   #2
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Quote:
I SSH'd in and created "DISABLE_DIAGS" file in /mnt/us.]
Where did you find directions to do that?

ssh in and use the idme command to set the boot mode to main.

Which parts of that story where done with the USB cable plugged in?
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:41 PM   #3
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Where did you find directions to do that?
Well, I didn't realize the Export USB command would allow me to see the Kindle via USB so when I couldn't see it via USB I just did it that way through the login prompt...

BTW I now have it mounted and can see all files via USB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Which parts of that story where done with the USB cable plugged in?
Of course the Restart/hang/Power Cycle was while it was plugged in because I was trying to force the Diag menu via CRP. As far as the Exit Reboot and Exit Disable I have been trying it both ways. Power/No Power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
ssh in and use the idme command to set the boot mode to main.
Is it as simple as typing idme? Or do I have to be in a certain directory?
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:47 PM   #4
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Without any arguments, it should give a help message.

If not, then a search of this forum will tell you how it is used.
Perhaps quicker, search the original, manual, de-bricking threads (indexed in the sticky - "Where do I Start" thread).
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:57 PM   #5
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
OK - so I did this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmid View Post
Alternatively you can connect to Kindle via SSH and issue these commands to disable diagnostics:
Code:
rm /mnt/us/ENABLE_DIAGS
idme -d --bootmode main
sync
reboot
It rebooted and sadly I am back at the Diagnostics.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 10:02 PM   #6
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
When I SSH in as root Terminal tells me "Rootfs is mounted as read-only"

Is that a problem? The idme command looked like it worked fine:

[root@[192_168_15_244] root]# idme -d --bootmode main
Devmode enabled
Reading vars from temp storage...
...None found, Copying vars from /proc
Setting bootmode to main
Writing new vars to temp area
You must reboot before new values will take effect
[root@[192_168_15_244] root]# sync
[root@[192_168_15_244] root]# reboot
Connection to 192.168.15.244 closed by remote host.
Connection to 192.168.15.244 closed.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 10:08 PM   #7
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
There is also this suggestion from the same post (But it is 3 years old. Might it still apply?):

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmid View Post
The good news is that with the latest jailbreak, you don't need to "Disable diagnostics" at all. It will be disabled by the jailbreak installer when it's finished.
Now you can enable "USB Device mode", copy the latest jailbreak and reboot Kindle (twice). The jailbreak will be (re)installed, diagnostics disabled and Kindle will reboot to main mode without human interaction.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 06:26 AM   #8
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Quote:
Originally Posted by picree View Post
OK - so I did this:



It rebooted and sadly I am back at the Diagnostics.
And what messages do you get when you try to exit?
I suspect you forgot to mention one (or two - depending on your firmware version).
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 07:09 AM   #9
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
(x)-Exit just flashes the screen and doesn't do anything.

(EXIT REBOOT)-Does a pretty fast reboot back to diagnostics. The screen with the boy under the tree says "DIAGS EXIT Use serial port"

(EXIT DISABLE)-Takes a lot longer, hangs on the screen with the boy for a while, flashes and reports the same; "DIAGS EXIT Use serial port" and goes back to diagnostics.

I read that is nothing to worry about.

Last edited by picree; 08-26-2016 at 07:22 AM.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 07:11 AM   #10
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
There are 2 files in /mnt/us (or the user root folder) that I didn't put there. "DONT_DISABLE_LOGIN" and "NEW_BATTERY_FLAG"...there is also a diagnostic_logs folder. Maybe it is seeing that folder. Delete it and then try?

Also: the file I created with the touch command, DISABLE_DIAGS was erased after reboot (which is normal I suppose).

Firmware is 5.8.2. See thread title.

Last edited by picree; 08-26-2016 at 07:36 AM.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 07:44 AM   #11
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by picree View Post
I SSH'd in and created "DISABLE_DIAGS" file in /mnt/us.
Where did you find directions to do that?
Sorry-now I see the nature of your question. I thought you wanted to know why i did that via SSH instead of USB mode. Your point is that DISABLE_DIAGS is not a command? Only ENABLE_DIAGS? Well, if that's true then my mistake. I saw it in a thread and assumed it was a valid way to exit diagnostics...
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 08:22 AM   #12
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Quote:
Originally Posted by picree View Post
Sorry-now I see the nature of your question. I thought you wanted to know why i did that via SSH instead of USB mode. Your point is that DISABLE_DIAGS is not a command? Only ENABLE_DIAGS? Well, if that's true then my mistake. I saw it in a thread and assumed it was a valid way to exit diagnostics...
I do not remember it, that is why I asked you where to find it.

On the messages you see while doing the exit, disable, exit dance -
Is there any mention of the serial port made?
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 08:28 AM   #13
picree
Connoisseur
picree began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 54
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2016
Device: Kindle Oasis
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
On the messages you see while doing the exit, disable, exit dance -
Is there any mention of the serial port made?
My multiple consecutive posts may be confusing. See post #9 above. But, yes they reference the serial port.
picree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 08:30 AM   #14
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Quote:
Originally Posted by picree View Post
My multiple consecutive posts may be confusing. See post #9 above. But, yes they reference the serial port.
Would you please post the entire message.
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 08:35 AM   #15
knc1
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <- Clueless
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,591
Karma: 12109345
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Texas
Device: Nothing KV or newer, not interested.
Quote:
Originally Posted by picree View Post
(x)-Exit just flashes the screen and doesn't do anything.

(EXIT REBOOT)-Does a pretty fast reboot back to diagnostics. The screen with the boy under the tree says "DIAGS EXIT Use serial port"

(EXIT DISABLE)-Takes a lot longer, hangs on the screen with the boy for a while, flashes and reports the same; "DIAGS EXIT Use serial port" and goes back to diagnostics.

I read that is nothing to worry about.
My bad, I missed that post.

Message means exactly what it says, you must use the serial port to enter those commands.

There is no getting around it, open it up and connect to the serial port with a 1.8volt serial to USB adapter.

Oh, wait -
You have an Oasis -
Which means you have to find the serial port first.

So far, all we have seen is a photograph of one side of the board.

If you can't find it yourself, we will need hi-res pictures of BOTH sides of the board.

- - - -

You might try this before opening it up - -

In diags, export the USB area -
try adding the:
DO_FACTORY_RESTORE
trigger filename at the top of visible usb storage.
disconnect the USB cable
reboot
ref: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=223067

OR

Since you can see the USB storage area (once you export it) -
Try downgrading it using the KOA downgrade package linked to in the JB thread.
ref: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=275877 Step #3 and the following steps.

If that works, or a combination of those work -
be sure you do not upgrade to 5.8.2 again. **
See: Spoiler on Step #7

- - - -

** Which is probably not a useful warning.
It isn't 'main' that is the problem, it is the 'diags' system that is the problem.
In general, Amazon update packages never change the 'diags' system.
**In general**
I don't recall anyone reporting on the contents of the 5.8.2 update package.

We may need to come up with a "diags system downgrade" package, down to a version that allows you to exit via the screen commands. (if there is one)

Last edited by knc1; 08-26-2016 at 08:53 AM.
knc1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PW2 Kindle can't start after entering DIAG mode Mr.Samuel Kindle Developer's Corner 15 05-21-2016 06:17 AM
PW2 Does pw2 have a diag mode like kinde4? cxy560 Kindle Developer's Corner 1 02-04-2014 03:58 AM
K5 Kindle Touch bricked in diag mode tommytomtom Kindle Developer's Corner 3 09-05-2012 12:17 PM
PRS-T1 Stuck in Landscape mode Jcee Sony Reader 2 01-07-2012 10:49 PM
Need help! Stuck in udating mode SuzInKS enTourage Archive 9 04-21-2010 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.