Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
waveney
Junior Member
waveney began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: sony prs t1
Problems trying to get Calibre working with Sony PRS-T1

I am trying to get calibre working with my wife's Sony PRS-T1 and her PC (running XP).

I have Calibre 0.9.0 installed, and have prevented Sony's reader program from starting.

1) When I click on "Data transfer Mode" on the device I get a prompt from windows about what application to run - and as calibre is not listed - I say do nothing. This is annoying but I thought I would report it before the main problem:

2) If I click on "Device" in calibre - the prs-t1 respectably flashes between some message about charging having stopped and the main data transfer screen. Ending up displaying the notice: The Reader is unable to charge as no power supply is being detected. Please check the User guide for details.

Then Calibre reports an error communicating with the device with this as the details:


calibre, version 0.9.0
ERROR: Error: Error communicating with device

unable to open database file

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\device.py", line 85, in run
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\device.py", line 466, in _books
File "site-packages\calibre\devices\prst1\driver.py", line 162, in books
File "site-packages\calibre\devices\usbms\driver.py", line 246, in books
File "site-packages\calibre\devices\prst1\driver.py", line 245, in sync_booklists
File "site-packages\calibre\devices\prst1\driver.py", line 274, in update_device_database
OperationalError: unable to open database file

Bright ideas please...
waveney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:33 PM   #2
Katie1
Non-Techy
Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Katie1's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,111
Karma: 3275927
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: WV---USA
Device: Kindle Fire HD, K3 WiFi Also K3-3G that makes 3 LOL
Mind did that.. I have to remember to plug it into the computer then open calibre then hit transfer data bar then wait about a min then evey thing is fine. Done any other way I get errors! My K3 doesnt matter the order just plug & in with calibre open within seconds it ready! ugh Life in the slow lane vs life in the fast lane hehehehe

I just did the 0.9.0 update yep works the same.

Last edited by Katie1; 09-30-2012 at 01:46 PM.
Katie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 09-30-2012, 04:36 PM   #3
waveney
Junior Member
waveney began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: sony prs t1
Thanks that worked
waveney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:26 PM   #4
Katie1
Non-Techy
Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Katie1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Katie1's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,111
Karma: 3275927
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: WV---USA
Device: Kindle Fire HD, K3 WiFi Also K3-3G that makes 3 LOL
Your welcome! Glad it did as I am not techy just a hit or miss person LOL
Katie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:21 AM   #5
Grittson
Junior Member
Grittson began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Device: T2
Thanks for that but what is the 'transfer data bar'?
Grittson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-300 Sony PRS-300... PROBLEMS... HELP Mizdeanna Sony Reader 3 10-30-2012 12:45 AM
HELP! Calibre problems with Sony PRS 600 Murray67 Recipes 0 01-08-2011 04:49 AM
Sony prs 600 not working after calibre paolo antesitum Calibre 9 09-10-2010 05:50 PM
Problems with Sony PRS-600 tonyfordham Sony Reader 1 01-23-2010 11:43 AM
calibre problems with sony prs-900 hmt321 Calibre 13 12-27-2009 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.