Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
tosim
Junior Member
tosim began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: Nook Color
Redo Metadata after update to 0.8.7.0

Been using Calibre for approximately 6 months on Windows(XP Pro, and 7), and Linux Mint13. I've always installed each update and all was good. However, with this 0.8.7.0, it did not automatically load my library. I had to click on add books, and point it to my Calibre library (in My Documents). Then the metadata was somewhat mixed up. Anyone else have this problem, and, should I stop doing the (frequent) updates?
tosim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,503
Karma: 5567067
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosim View Post
Been using Calibre for approximately 6 months on Windows(XP Pro, and 7), and Linux Mint13. I've always installed each update and all was good. However, with this 0.8.7.0, it did not automatically load my library. I had to click on add books, and point it to my Calibre library (in My Documents). Then the metadata was somewhat mixed up. Anyone else have this problem, and, should I stop doing the (frequent) updates?
Please tell us that you are not accessing the same library from 2 systems at the same time, that can corrupt it.

Also, even simply (Win<->Linux dual boot type) sharing of a library can lead to file name case issues.
Corruption of the users profile is rare (the location of the current Library is in the profile). I have not had it happen in any of the releases covering V6 to V7 to V8. YMMV
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 09-24-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Adoby
Handy Elephant
Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Adoby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Adoby's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,044
Karma: 3824376
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Sweden, far out in the quiet woods
Device: Ubuntu Linux, Cybook Opus, Motorola Xoom with Mantano Premium
Also, even if you have fixed metadata for books in the Calibre library, the books most likely have not been updated with the new metadata. The new metadata is stored in metadata.db and only written to the books when you save them to disc or send to device.

It is possible to update ePubs inside the Calibre library using the Modify ePub plugin, or by converting the file to the same format it already has.
Adoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:10 PM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,809
Karma: 12535517
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tosim View Post
However, with this 0.8.7.0, it did not automatically load my library. I had to click on add books, and point it to my Calibre library (in My Documents).
Clicking Add books is not the way to switch to an existing library. You should have simply clicked the library icon and pointed to the library location (folder where metadata.db was) and in 2 seconds everything would have been as it was before you updated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tosim View Post
Then the metadata was somewhat mixed up.
The metadata was messed up because the books did not have the metadata embedded in them. You just readded a bunch of imperfect books to your "new" library. The previous metatadata was in the metadata.db file in the root directory of your previous library.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tosim View Post
Anyone else have this problem, and, should I stop doing the (frequent) updates?
It looks like you're on your own with this problem. If I had to guess I might guess that you were using the Portable calibre version and pointed the installer to a different directory.

How often you update is up to you. I have applied every update promptly for 3.5 years without any hitch. Over those 3.5 years a wide array of glitches and bugs have popped up after an update, but I can safely say that no one has lost any books (including you) in their library due to an update.
DoctorOhh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:25 AM   #5
tosim
Junior Member
tosim began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2012
Device: Nook Color
Thanks to all of you for the replies. I have Calibre, and Calibre Library(in MyDocs), installed separately, in each computer, and have not cross-accessed. I.e., am not accessing same library from both systems, although each library is an exact duplicate, as I try to keep them in sync. I am using the installed, not the portable, version.
Again, thanks to all.
tosim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Redo OptWare CaelThunderwing Kindle Developer's Corner 8 08-21-2012 01:04 PM
Metadata update not working since latest update... Rickkins Library Management 4 10-04-2011 03:12 AM
Update metadata without re-converting? TheD0ct0r Library Management 15 06-20-2011 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.