Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2012, 10:26 AM   #1
Brocklage
Junior Member
Brocklage began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle4
cannot download metadata with calibre while on wifi

Maybe I missed something, but this is weird.

I cannot download any metadata with Calibre 0.8.63 portable while connected via WiFi. Once the cable is plugged in, everything works.
System is a Toshiba M30 Win7U. Internet, NAS - everything works via WiFi except the Calibre Metadata download. Calibre does not give an explanation, just says download failed.
Reproduced this behaviour with a friends Asua EEE Netbook - same effect. Wlan works fine except Calibre Metadata. Cable plugged in - Metadata download works.
Tried to increase waiting times to 99 seconds just in case of time-out - no success.
Wlan device is a Trendnet TEW 637AP
Brocklage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:41 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,059
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brocklage View Post
Maybe I missed something, but this is weird.

I cannot download any metadata with Calibre 0.8.63 portable while connected via WiFi. Once the cable is plugged in, everything works.
System is a Toshiba M30 Win7U. Internet, NAS - everything works via WiFi except the Calibre Metadata download. Calibre does not give an explanation, just says download failed.
Reproduced this behaviour with a friends Asua EEE Netbook - same effect. Wlan works fine except Calibre Metadata. Cable plugged in - Metadata download works.
Tried to increase waiting times to 99 seconds just in case of time-out - no success.
Wlan device is a Trendnet TEW 637AP
Check your Netbooks firewall settings FOR the WiFi connection (Yes Virginia, there are now different rules for connections and locations for your safety). WiFi tends to be used in public, so it may have tighter rules in force by default. I believe you can even have a rule per connection (your routers SID)
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:39 PM   #3
Brocklage
Junior Member
Brocklage began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle4
The firewall is completely disabled for all - privaten and public networks. There are no rules, neither in the access point nor in the computer itself - cable works, wireless not-
Could it be an issue of the portabel version?
Brocklage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
Brocklage
Junior Member
Brocklage began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle4
It IS a bug of the portable version. Installed the full 0.8.64 and metadata via WLan works. Closed installed version and restarted the portable one - failed.
Does anyone have an idea how to fix the portable one?
Brocklage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 02:17 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,059
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brocklage View Post
The firewall is completely disabled for all - privaten and public networks. There are no rules, neither in the access point nor in the computer itself - cable works, wireless not-
Could it be an issue of the portabel version?
Great feedback. I will now (taking your next message in mind) leave the rest to the developers to
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 02:21 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,317
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
There is no difference between the portable calibre and normal calibre as far as metadata download is concerned. You have some security settings on your computer thatdistibuish between portable and non portable apps accessing the network.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 04:52 PM   #7
Brocklage
Junior Member
Brocklage began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle4
You are probably right, but as no firewall nor virus scanner is at work, can youi please give me a hint where this rule might be set?
Brocklage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:55 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,317
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I have no idea, I'm not a windows user.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:47 PM   #9
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,059
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brocklage View Post
You are probably right, but as no firewall nor virus scanner is at work, can youi please give me a hint where this rule might be set?

Is your Wifi on the same subnet (Access point mode for a separate router) as the wired net?

(you should be able to share files directly with other computers on the same net)
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre, download cover, metadata not working mufc Calibre 9 06-19-2011 04:25 PM
New calibre metadata download Noughty Library Management 14 05-17-2011 05:11 PM
Help with metadata download settings in calibre 0.8 amyk0202 Calibre 2 05-06-2011 06:50 PM
0.7.44 - Edit Metadata - Download Cover - Crashes Calibre nynaevelan Library Management 2 02-05-2011 10:19 PM
Calibre's metadata download function crackhammer Calibre 8 09-20-2009 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.