Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
edabxv
Member
edabxv began at the beginning.
 
edabxv's Avatar
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NJ,USA
Device: kindle
connecting from one Calibre app to another Calibre server

Hi,

I don't know if title would be clear, so:

I have Calibre intalled on my home machine and have content server running.

I can connect with a browser to a content server from anywhere to my home without problems.

what I am looking for, is to connect my laptop Calibre to home content server and not from browser.

Is there a way?

Thank you
edabxv
edabxv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,094
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by edabxv View Post
Hi,

I don't know if title would be clear, so:

I have Calibre intalled on my home machine and have content server running.

I can connect with a browser to a content server from anywhere to my home without problems.

what I am looking for, is to connect my laptop Calibre to home content server and not from browser.

Is there a way?

Thank you
edabxv
Not really:
Calibre is not Multi-user (or multi-user proof)

You could remote control your Calibre Computer (server) with Remote desktop connection (built in to Windows Pro versions) or VNC. In either case, be sure to use a strong password on the connection logon.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 07-28-2012, 08:11 AM   #3
edabxv
Member
edabxv began at the beginning.
 
edabxv's Avatar
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NJ,USA
Device: kindle
Thanks for reply, but I now think that was probably wrong in my understanding. It has nothing to do with single or multi user. I can connect to Calibre Content server from more than one browser and this is what confused me.

The issue is that Calibre app itself does not have mechanism to connect to Content Server
edabxv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 08:21 AM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,094
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by edabxv View Post
Thanks for reply, but I now think that was probably wrong in my understanding. It has nothing to do with single or multi user. I can connect to Calibre Content server from more than one browser and this is what confused me.

The issue is that Calibre app itself does not have mechanism to connect to Content Server
The Content serve is a Read Only connection to Calibre.

The multiuser problem is because more that 1 Write capable user can cause a change data that the others do not know about (and could also be attempting a change on the same data).
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre Content Server and Windows Home Server 2011 HughMcC Calibre 8 10-01-2014 08:26 AM
500 Internal Server Error accessing content server Calibre 0.8.8 DaddyO57 Calibre 1 07-20-2012 07:08 PM
Connecting HTC G2 to Calibre eyeintheworld Devices 2 06-29-2012 11:30 PM
Calibre-server port not open issue on Fedora server stueyboy Devices 0 08-17-2011 05:57 PM
Touch Calibre and Touch Not Connecting Fishy1 Kobo Reader 9 06-11-2011 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.