Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2012, 09:17 PM   #16
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by legenda128 View Post
Ok thank you, but how do I ''zero persistent user store''? Could you explain that a bit more to me?
One more thing, I've bought my Kindle 10 days ago and I put max 10 books on it. How did I then occupied so much memory? I've also rebooted my device couple times.

Today I tried with newest version of Duokan ((K4 None Touch)2012-06-29.C12125.rtm) and now I lack 40 Mb of space??

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/32/kidle.jpg/
It is documented MANY times in this forum. Just dd about 1K from /dev/zero to /dev/mmcblk0p3. There is no indication that it will help you. It was just a guess after running out of other options. It really looks like a problem with Duokan. What does that error message mean, EXACTLY? WHICH "space" is it out of? WHY is it saying not enough space, if you have no hacks installed? These are quesitons to ask the Duokan developers, I am not interested enough in Duokan myself to divert my attention away from other projects enough to ask the Duokan developers your questions FOR YOU... Sorry. You need to do some things yourself (including searching this forum -- "simple debricking" is a good place to start).

Like knc1 said... I doubt that the Duokan developers monitor this thread. You should go ask them these questions in whatever location their documentation suggests (i.e. not here). You DID read their documentation, right? Does it say what to do when you get this error message? (I am not going to read your documentation for you right now).

Last edited by geekmaster; 06-29-2012 at 09:24 PM.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:50 PM   #17
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,664
Karma: 5850002
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.

Last edited by knc1; 06-29-2012 at 10:03 PM.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 03:34 AM   #18
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
It is Duokan that is trying to use more space than you have available on a stock kindle firmware (no hacks installed, and not too many books). That is a Duokan problem.

Any halfway decent documentation should list the possible error messages that the program can display, with a list of possible causes, and a list of remedies to fix the problem. Doukan has been around long enough, and it is apparently being developed by a professional organization (i.e. paid programmers), so it SHOULD have decent documentation by now. Because it is a PROFESSIONAL program (which happens to be free for now while in development), it should have what you need to solve your problem (or at least provide technical feedback and support). Of course, there may be a slight language barrier issue.

What does the Duokan documentation tell you to do about your error message?

P.S. You may get more support in this forum if you post to a Duokan thread that is monitored by Duokan fans, but starting a new thread (like this one) is less likely to get noticed by those who COULD help you. WE can help you with KINDLE problems. The Duokan people can help you with DUOKAN problems. What you describe certainly looks like a DUOKAN problem, NOT a Kindle problem. Duokan may only install reliably on some localized versions of the K4, but not on yours. They need to test their program on a broader base of K4 versions, but they are still early in the K4 development cycle, so give them time. But at least contact them for assistance so that they CAN fix the problem, or the next version of Duokan may fail on your K4 as well...

Last edited by geekmaster; 06-30-2012 at 03:46 AM.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 05:35 AM   #19
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
I see that others are reporting this problem in the Duokan thread (where this should have been), saying that Duokan needs more "space" than stock firmware with no mods has available.

I wonder how well it is tested if it cannot even install on a standard firmware...
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tools Duokan 2013 thomass Kindle Developer's Corner 1392 09-15-2014 05:31 AM
Duokan Lite released by duokan.com, English menus? Nigovic Kindle Developer's Corner 7 02-18-2013 08:08 AM
Having trouble installing Duokan or Duokan Lite on firmware 3.3? multiprose Kindle Developer's Corner 12 02-18-2013 07:24 AM
Arabic support in Duokan/Duokan Lite? Doitsu Kindle Developer's Corner 11 11-28-2011 04:46 PM
Kindle with Duokan? ebookrights Calibre 1 12-15-2010 05:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.