Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2012, 06:49 AM   #1
Steven630
Zealot
Steven630 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 142
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite2
Repeated contents in The Economist

Sometimes, especially in the special report of The Economist, sentences would be quoted out of the main text. But Calibre doesn't seem to recognize them and treat those as ordinary paragraphs.

An example is this link: http://www.economist.com/node/21554747

You can see "Having been trapped in a bubble during the fascist dictatorship, once they were freed Spanish banks were able to leapfrog rivals in more developed markets" is in bigger size and is a quote from the article. Calibre, however, put this quote even before the sentence appears in the article.

Any way to fix the problem?
Steven630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:50 AM   #2
NotTaken
Connoisseur
NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
Posts: 65
Karma: 4640
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
You could try changing:

Code:
dict(attrs={'class':['dblClkTrk', 'ec-article-info',
                'share_inline_header', 'related-items']}),
,

in remove tags, to:

Code:
dict(attrs={'class':['dblClkTrk', 'ec-article-info',
                'share_inline_header', 'related-items',
                'pullquote']}),
I think the 'problem' was a feature to more accurately represent the published content

Last edited by NotTaken; 06-21-2012 at 07:56 AM.
NotTaken is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 06-21-2012, 08:24 AM   #3
Steven630
Zealot
Steven630 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 142
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite2
Thanks. Or perhaps Calibre can turn the quote into italics? (But having the quote come first would still be a problem)

Last edited by Steven630; 06-22-2012 at 04:57 AM.
Steven630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 10:21 AM   #4
Steven630
Zealot
Steven630 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 142
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite2
Just tried replacing the code. It works well. But I noticed that there are more images than was the case with the issue downloaded using the built-in recipe. (They all come from "blog" articles of TE like Charlemagne).

For example:
http://www.economist.com/node/21556949 (Charlemagne)
http://www.economist.com/node/21556983 (Myanmar)

With the built-in recipe, images in Charlemagnes of 2012 at the bottom were not downloaded (that's great, since they are just images from past column). But a series of news images in the article on Myanmar were downloaded. (which is also good)

However, with the modified recipe, both images of Charlemagne and Myanmar were downloaded. I can't figure out the reason since the modified version just took out the quote.

Is there a way to exclude images like " Charlemagnes of 2012" while including "Myanmar" at the same time?
Steven630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
NotTaken
Connoisseur
NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.NotTaken is fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.
 
Posts: 65
Karma: 4640
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
Anything is possible, just check the documentation.

Edit: if its only images at the bottom you could remove all tags after class=footnotes but I've no idea if that would wipe out other stuff that appears in that position that is useful.

Last edited by NotTaken; 06-21-2012 at 05:19 PM.
NotTaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 09:35 PM   #6
Steven630
Zealot
Steven630 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 142
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Device: Kindle Paperwhite2
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotTaken View Post
Anything is possible, just check the documentation.

Edit: if its only images at the bottom you could remove all tags after class=footnotes but I've no idea if that would wipe out other stuff that appears in that position that is useful.
Thank you so much!

Last edited by Steven630; 06-22-2012 at 04:57 AM.
Steven630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-350 Repeated syncing Jeanw Sony Reader 9 04-09-2012 04:28 PM
First Article Repeated for Friday Fax rjgrigaitis Recipes 2 02-21-2012 02:55 PM
Repeated crash after computer connection roguefan99 Kobo Reader 2 07-23-2010 11:36 PM
Repeated Chapter Headings in Kobo Table of Contents capsolo Sigil 5 06-20-2010 03:09 AM
ADE gives repeated instructions to update when it is already updated Seabound ePub 4 02-25-2010 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.