Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2012, 11:55 PM   #1
Nicko
Groupie
Nicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toys
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 5590
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Initializing User Interface

Since I updated Calibre to V0.8.46, Initializing the User Interface seems to take a great deal longer. I can live with it but am curious if this is caused by the greater number of books I now have in Calibre, or something else?. I find Calibre to be a great program so don't think I am knocking it.
Nicko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:09 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,097
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That will happen only the first time you run calibre after the upgrade or after a reboot. Quit calibre and restart it, and it will take the same amount of time as before.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 04-10-2012, 12:51 AM   #3
Nicko
Groupie
Nicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toys
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 5590
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
That will happen only the first time you run calibre after the upgrade or after a reboot. Quit calibre and restart it, and it will take the same amount of time as before.
Do I understand you correctly. Does that mean that when I first switch on my PC and run Calibre it will take some time to Initialize, then on subsequent loading of Calibre it will continue to be almost instantaneous?. I was sure prior to this latest upgrade that Initialization was fast even with the first load?. Perhaps I am mistaken. I hope you can follow that.
Nicko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:45 AM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Moderator Notice
Moved thread. Please read the "PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING - The purpose of this subforum" sticky post at the top of the Development forum.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:20 AM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,834
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicko View Post
Do I understand you correctly. Does that mean that when I first switch on my PC and run Calibre it will take some time to Initialize, then on subsequent loading of Calibre it will continue to be almost instantaneous?. I was sure prior to this latest upgrade that Initialization was fast even with the first load?. Perhaps I am mistaken. I hope you can follow that.
Some Calibre upgrades fire off tasks that upgrade the DB structure, this takes time to complete.
Some of those upgrades add new User Metadata fields, those changes need to propagate to the (backup) OPF file kept with each title., maybe construct new (internal) Index files.
Killing the startup process that has been "Hanging" for a minute, just makes it happen again and Ultimatly will run the risk of damage to the Library.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 05:56 PM   #6
Nicko
Groupie
Nicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toysNicko shares his or her toys
 
Posts: 152
Karma: 5590
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Thanks for that explanation which has satisfied my curiosity. Cheers.
Nicko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Pherg
Junior Member
Pherg began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: Kindle
I'm having the same problem, but after up to 9 hours initializing it still won't start. I've tried it a number of times. If I re-install Calibre, will I lose everything including any metadata I have? Can I make a backup copy of this?
Pherg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:16 PM   #8
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,834
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pherg View Post
I'm having the same problem, but after up to 9 hours initializing it still won't start. I've tried it a number of times. If I re-install Calibre, will I lose everything including any metadata I have? Can I make a backup copy of this?
The Library is always left intact. The only way to really delete the library, is to use the File system and put it in the trash
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rethinking the user interface fesja Calibre 98 02-10-2012 02:02 AM
User Interface settings Ponderstibbons Calibre 1 09-05-2010 01:16 PM
BUG in user interface Giuseppe Chillem Calibre 9 05-10-2010 10:32 PM
iLiad User interface programming eth777 iRex Developer's Corner 3 12-23-2007 05:58 AM
Touch User Interface for paper Brian News 1 12-18-2005 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.