Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
smallhagrid
Hillbilly
smallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoon
 
smallhagrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 166
Karma: 131954
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vermont
Device: EZReader
Question Library vs. files question...

I understand what Calibre does and so forth and refreshed my memory by completely reading this so as to TRY and avoid getting chewed out for asking:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=119175

Having said that, please (re-?) educate me, here's what I'm asking:


I've an existing collection with many titles stored in an existing mess on it's own drive letter.

Been using windows right along and now I'm starting with a Linux distro with Calibre already included in it.

The OS happily sees and mounts the NTFS drive with all it's books.

I am concerned that once I start this Linux version of Calibre and point it at the mount point with all those books it will commence to do what it did before; namely importing and copying all of them to my 'home' space or wherever it does that to (?).

Is there any way to get Calibre to USE what is already there without making a 2nd copy of each title someplace else ?

Please don't beat me for asking this, I know there is a philosophical difference between BOOKS and FILES, but at the same time having copies of copies and copies of the same stuff can make a huge and undesirable mess which I'd sooner not have to trace & clean up.

Thanks !
smallhagrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:08 PM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,039
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
You do not mention if there is an existing Calibre library at that location? If there is then you can switch Calibre to using it. What you cannot do is tell Calibre to use an existing set of folders and files that are not structured correctly as a Calibre library.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 06-01-2012, 02:11 PM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,439
Karma: 5560777
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallhagrid View Post
I understand what Calibre does and so forth and refreshed my memory by completely reading this so as to TRY and avoid getting chewed out for asking:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=119175

Having said that, please (re-?) educate me, here's what I'm asking:


I've an existing collection with many titles stored in an existing mess on it's own drive letter.

Been using windows right along and now I'm starting with a Linux distro with Calibre already included in it.

The OS happily sees and mounts the NTFS drive with all it's books.

I am concerned that once I start this Linux version of Calibre and point it at the mount point with all those books it will commence to do what it did before; namely importing and copying all of them to my 'home' space or wherever it does that to (?).

Is there any way to get Calibre to USE what is already there without making a 2nd copy of each title someplace else ?

Please don't beat me for asking this, I know there is a philosophical difference between BOOKS and FILES, but at the same time having copies of copies and copies of the same stuff can make a huge and undesirable mess which I'd sooner not have to trace & clean up.

Thanks !
IMHO (and dual boot user experience ) Mixing access (even if only 1 at any time) Windows and Linux is not a great idea. Filename Case issues will crop up.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:28 PM   #4
smallhagrid
Hillbilly
smallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoon
 
smallhagrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 166
Karma: 131954
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vermont
Device: EZReader
Ooops - I was trying to keep my query short & it looks like I left out some needed details:

Quote:
You do not mention if there is an existing Calibre library at that location?
Nope - Calibre has not even run - just installed the OS & asked before doing anything else.

Thank you, that's very good to know:
Quote:
IMHO (and dual boot user experience ) Mixing access (even if only 1 at any time) Windows and Linux is not a great idea. Filename Case issues will crop up.
I've not been using Calibre for book management under windows & it will ONLY be used for that under Linux.

The only previous usage of Calibre by me has been for it's conversion and such via the portable version's separate EXE files.

My plan going forward is to switch totally to Linux & get done with windows...and this PC has an existing very stripped-down installation of win2k only anyhow which I left there for just-in-case.

Since it looks like Calibre MUST copy all these into another location & structure of it's own creation=> how may I point that specifically to an empty/new mount point which I can create just for that purpose please ?

Last edited by smallhagrid; 06-01-2012 at 02:31 PM. Reason: bad memory ?
smallhagrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:34 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,439
Karma: 5560777
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallhagrid View Post
Ooops - I was trying to keep my query short & it looks like I left out some needed details:


Nope - Calibre has not even run - just installed the OS & asked before doing anything else.

Thank you, that's very good to know:


I've not been using Calibre for book management under windows & it will ONLY be used for that under Linux.

The only previous usage of Calibre by me has been for it's conversion and such via the portable version's separate EXE files.

My plan going forward is to switch totally to Linux & get done with windows...and this PC has an existing very stripped-down installation of win2k only anyhow which I left there for just-in-case.

Since it looks like Calibre MUST copy all these into another location & structure of it's own creation=> how may I point that specifically to an empty/new mount point which I can create just for that purpose please ?
Calibre puts the files wherever you put the Library.
After that is done,you can archive the originals.


Mount point? Unless you have a separate volume just for your Library and that is NOT auto-mounted at boot time, you should just specify the Path when you configure the Library.


I have a second drive (Vault ), mounted in the Home folder.
I have 777 Group rights to the entire drive
That is it.

BTW Most Distro versions of Calibre are behind.
The preferred install is to use the command line on the Calibre Linux download page.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:01 PM   #6
smallhagrid
Hillbilly
smallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoonsmallhagrid knows that there *is* no spoon
 
smallhagrid's Avatar
 
Posts: 166
Karma: 131954
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vermont
Device: EZReader
Thank You !!!

I'll just create the needed space, re-install Calibre, and set it up as you've described... then wait as it copies everything and so forth - and dismount the un-needed archive afterwards.

Looks like that is the best way to go about it.

Best Wishes.

mark
smallhagrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, collection, files, mess, storage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to Add Other Files to Library bartelbygainez Library Management 2 10-26-2011 11:05 AM
Newbie Question: Separate XHTML files become separate ePub files marck Conversion 3 09-02-2011 12:58 PM
Library files for syncing North19 enTourage eDGe 1 06-01-2011 07:09 AM
Android Syncing some but not all library files North19 enTourage Archive 3 05-31-2011 02:25 PM
Cant get files into library. rocklyons enTourage Archive 1 04-05-2010 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.