Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2012, 03:07 PM   #1
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
Kindle Touch 5.0.4 back up needed

Can anyone give a back up of kindle touch? i realy nead it becuse i cant up-todate to 5.1.0 can someone help ? please . FYİ i take 006 eror when installing it.
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 04:15 PM   #2
ixtab
(offline)
ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ixtab ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ixtab's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,903
Karma: 6677485
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3, K4, K5, KPW, KPW2
Combine http://gitbrew.org/~dasmoover/kindle/touch/forensic/ with
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...&postcount=365 .This gives you 5.0.0.
ixtab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:32 AM   #3
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
stupid question but , how can i install mmc2 partiton with ssh?( fastboot i dont have a fastboot yet, what should i have to do to apply it? i have win 7 64 bit.
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 06:36 AM   #4
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
and there is no ssh diags for 5.0.0 ?
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:53 AM   #5
diba
Addict
diba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolatediba is generous with chocolate
 
Posts: 395
Karma: 33660
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3, Kindle 4, Kindle PW, Nexus7 3G
Emrexcem, you will have to go the hard way and read through the postings ixtab provided the links to. For me and some others it was the same. Everything is exlpained in detail and it can be done.
diba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 02:11 PM   #6
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by diba View Post
Everything is exlpained in detail and it can be done.
Actually, ixtab's link is to a simple step-by-step recipe, which assumes that you already understand the details.

For a more complete description of the general process, with download links for all required tools and resources, go here:

geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:25 AM   #7
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
Actually, ixtab's link is to a simple step-by-step recipe, which assumes that you already understand the details.

For a more complete description of the general process, with download links for all required tools and resources, go here:

İ actually İnstalled the mmc partiton (with ssh) but i dont know how can i do ssh connection over USB ? can u explain me step my step ? for example : Program,
Driver ,OS, 64 or 32 bit.
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:38 AM   #8
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrexcem View Post
İ actually İnstalled the mmc partiton (with ssh) but i dont know how can i do ssh connection over USB ? can u explain me step my step ? for example : Program,
Driver ,OS, 64 or 32 bit.
To get the USBnetwork working on your PC, you must manually assign IP address 192.168.15.201 to your kindle (RNDIS) USB network device. On windows, use PuTTY (a free download) for an SSH client.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #9
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
To get the USBnetwork working on your PC, you must manually assign IP address 192.168.15.201 to your kindle (RNDIS) USB network device. On windows, use PuTTY (a free download) for an SSH client.
How can i assign a manual ip adress ?>> control panel >> network settings >> right click >> adapter settings >> Finally ip4 settings , but its NOT working ! should i use another think.
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,562
Karma: 5840130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrexcem View Post
How can i assign a manual ip adress ?>> control panel >> network settings >> right click >> adapter settings >> Finally ip4 settings , but its NOT working ! should i use another think.
"NOT working"
A bit more descriptive a trouble report would help answering your question.

Let me guess at it anyway...

You don't see the USB network adapter to assign an address to...
Bring up the Kindle end of USB networking - your OS can't discover what isn't there.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:10 AM   #11
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by knc1 View Post
"NOT working"
A bit more descriptive a trouble report would help answering your question.

Let me guess at it anyway...

You don't see the USB network adapter to assign an address to...
Bring up the Kindle end of USB networking - your OS can't discover what isn't there.
Also, after activating USBnetwork on the kindle, you may have to disconnect and reconnect the USB cable so that windows can see a USB plug-in event. The connector at the kindle side of the USB cable is rated for MANY more insertions and removals than the standard USB plug at the PC side, so remove and reinsert the USB cable from the kindle (which is easier too).

Right-click "My Network Places", and select Properties. Right-click the network device that has "USB Ethernet/RNDIS Gadget" in the "Devices" column, and select Properties. Scroll down to "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" (at the bottom of the list), and double-click it. Click "Use the following IP address:", and type 192.168.15.201 in the IP address field. Click OK. Click OK.

Note that things can get messy if you have connected more than one kindle (K4 and/or K5) using the same IP address, so if you do not need advanced Diagnostic features like nfs, try a different IP address like 192.168.15.202, if you get an "already assigned to another adapter" error message.

NOTE TO DEVELOPERS: Here is a useful link to provide when responding to "hand-holding" questions: http://mattgemmell.com/2008/12/08/what-have-you-tried/


Last edited by geekmaster; 04-30-2012 at 11:36 AM.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:33 AM   #12
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
Also, after activating USBnetwork on the kindle, you may have to disconnect and reconnect the USB cable so that windows can see a USB plug-in event. The connector at the kindle side of the USB cable is rated for MANY more insertions and removals than the standard USB plug at the PC side, so remove and reinsert the USB cable from the kindle (which is easier too).

@Emrexcem: It appears that you are requesting "hand holding" here. Okay, so you want to burn more of my time and effort with no compensation, right? This falls into the class of questions that deserves a simple "What have you tried?" response, but I am feeling generous (like always, despite the cost to myself).

Right-click "My Network Places", and select Properties. Right-click the network device that has "USB Ethernet/RNDIS Gadget" in the "Devices" column, and select Properties. Scroll down to "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" (at the bottom of the list), and double-click it. Click "Use the following IP address:", and type 192.168.15.201 in the IP address field. Click OK. Click OK.

Note that things can get messy if you have connected more than one kindle (K4 and/or K5) using the same IP address, so if you do not need advanced Diagnostic features like nfs, try a different IP address like 192.168.15.202, if you get an "already assigned to another adapter" error message.


İ did the same think that u did . But i realized Avast has been blocked the way to usb net (i play WoW so i disabled avast eror messages) now i closed sandbox , and it might work.
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:39 AM   #13
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrexcem View Post
İ did the same think that u did . But i realized Avast has been blocked the way to usb net (i play WoW so i disabled avast eror messages) now i closed sandbox , and it might work.
Sorry about being harsh. I revised my post to be a bit more gentle, before I saw your post. Yes, some of those antivirus and security programs can get in the way now and then... Did it help to disable it?

Last edited by geekmaster; 04-30-2012 at 12:08 PM.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 11:57 AM   #14
Emrexcem
Turkish :)
Emrexcem began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 40
Karma: 26
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle Touch (5.03)
At first i used this driver >> http://goo.gl/VP6t4 (i didnt realized that avast has been blocking my way so i installed http://goo.gl/EUyAI this and now i unistalled both which one should i use?
Emrexcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 12:10 PM   #15
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emrexcem View Post
At first i used this driver >> http://goo.gl/VP6t4 (i didnt realized that avast has been blocking my way so i installed http://goo.gl/EUyAI this and now i unistalled both which one should i use?
In my case, Windows XP detected and installed ITS OWN driver for RNDIS. I did not download or install anything. Perhaps what you installed damaged the built-in driver settings...

You should probably do as DiapDealer did, and if that did not work try the other one. Or go get the original from Microsoft (install device driver from windows update).
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guess i bricked my Kindle Touch - Help needed :) mars77 Amazon Kindle 3 03-24-2012 10:02 PM
Oops - help needed, copying books back transmitthis Calibre 5 01-24-2012 09:15 AM
Kindle Touch Problem: I Often Go Back Instead of Going Forward ny10522 Amazon Kindle 2 01-20-2012 04:29 PM
original kindle touch screensavers needed demonseye316 Amazon Kindle 3 01-15-2012 10:19 PM
Help needed to install Sony Reader Touch PDufour Introduce Yourself 4 01-04-2010 06:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.