Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2012, 04:33 PM   #1
Roel
Junior Member
Roel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Blank field in "Browse for folder"

Dear All. New to Calibre. New to this forum. Please help with the following. After a) a clean up of my computer registry using CCleaner or b) the latest version of Calibre 0.8.47 the program refuses to show a folder list in the "Browse for folder" box after Add books -> Add books from directories etc. Thus I can't select a folder to add new books anymore. Please help. Using Window XP. Thanks in advance. Best Regards, Roel.

Opened new thread named "Selection of root folder not possible while adding books".

Last edited by Roel; 04-16-2012 at 11:00 PM. Reason: Opened new thread with better name
Roel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:16 PM   #2
Roel
Junior Member
Roel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Selection of root folder not possible while adding books.

Dear All. New to Calibre. New to this forum. Please help with the following.
No root folder selection window appears in the "Browse for folders" box after Adding books -> Add boooks from directories ... So I can't select a folder to add books to Calibre. This started after a clean up of my computer registry using CCleaner. I also installed the latest version of Calibre (0.8.47) but I feel that Calibre itself is not the cause. Please help. Using Window XP 64 bit Service pack 2. Tried all ready the "sfc /command" trick in a DOS box, but that didn't help. Thanks in advance. Best Regards, Roel.
Roel is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 04-17-2012, 12:21 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,491
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roel View Post
Dear All. New to Calibre. New to this forum. Please help with the following.
No root folder selection window appears in the "Browse for folders" box after Adding books -> Add boooks from directories ... So I can't select a folder to add books to Calibre. This started after a clean up of my computer registry using CCleaner. I also installed the latest version of Calibre (0.8.47) but I feel that Calibre itself is not the cause. Please help. Using Window XP 64 bit Service pack 2. Tried all ready the "sfc /command" trick in a DOS box, but that didn't help. Thanks in advance. Best Regards, Roel.
Do Not keep posting the same question over and over. No one answered because no one had an idea.


I would ask the makers of CCleaner as their product seems to have damaged your registry.

AFAIK Calibre just calls the OS file explorer.

You could type
Code:
C:\
into the file name box, then click open.

Last edited by theducks; 04-17-2012 at 12:23 AM. Reason: additional
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:18 AM   #4
Roel
Junior Member
Roel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
1. Problem solved. Downloaded and installed Service Pack 2 of Window XP 64 bit. Now the window showing the folder tree in the "Browse for folder" pops up again.
2. Thank you for the reminder not posting a subject twice. But I couldn't change the subject name and found the 2nd one better.
Roel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:09 AM   #5
Roel
Junior Member
Roel began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
I' sorry to tell that the problem popped up again. It are the various windows updates that seem to cause the problem. After installation of "Windowsserver2003.WindowsXP-KB924961-SP2-X64-ENU.exe" and a restart of computer Calibre runs fine. But later on Windows XP Update collects an update from the site of Microsoft and after this update has been installed and the compuer had been restarted, the old problem occurs again. Bad bad bad.
Roel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:59 AM   #6
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,491
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roel View Post
2. Thank you for the reminder not posting a subject twice. But I couldn't change the subject name and found the 2nd one better.
to ask any (Calibre) forum Moderator to correct the title of YOUR post, just PM them a request.

Calibre Moderator names are at the bottom of the Main Calibre forum list.

For All other forums, the Moderators are Listed at the bottom of the Forum list
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:03 AM   #7
Rob Lister
Fanatic
Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Rob Lister ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 533
Karma: 3293888
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Device: Nook Simple Touch
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roel View Post
1. Problem solved. Downloaded and installed Service Pack 2 of Window XP 64 bit. ...
geez. are you kidding me?



If operating systems were cars, you'd probably get a lot for your Edsel.
Rob Lister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:13 AM   #8
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,491
Karma: 5567061
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Lister View Post
geez. are you kidding me?



If operating systems were cars, you'd probably get a lot for your Edsel.
My eyes must have convinced me he really meant: W7 64bit

Sheesh,
Well, I guess, he could have been running Windows ME
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change "Last, First" to "First Last" in author field EricLandes Library Management 3 11-26-2011 11:23 AM
Saving to disk with "Unknown" in author field Joe42 Calibre 20 11-08-2011 12:57 PM
Feature Request: configurable space setting for "Insert blank line" in "Look & Feel" therealjoeblow Calibre 15 07-25-2011 03:14 PM
PRS-505 PRS+: 2 Questions on "Browse Folders" and Dictionary Format crc Sony Reader 2 06-23-2010 01:36 AM
Feature Request - cover browse in the "Fetch Metadata from server" function nathander13 Calibre 1 01-30-2010 02:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.