Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2012, 02:46 AM   #1
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
Help - Kindle Touch 3G + ADS partition image required

Hi,

I have bought the Kindle Touch 3G with ADS and managed to JB and install USBnet. I was doing a lot of hacking including flashing the mmcblk0p1 partition.

Never did I realize that after flashing, the 3G stop working! I tried a lot of kindle touch image posted around by kind forummers and discover that some images has ADS supported while others don't. And most crucially, all the images around do not enable my 3G!

If you happen to have a Kindle Touch 3G + ADS partition, please post it here.

Thanks! Need help desperately. :~(
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:48 AM   #2
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,067
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicalp View Post
Hi,

I have bought the Kindle Touch 3G with ADS and managed to JB and install USBnet. I was doing a lot of hacking including flashing the mmcblk0p1 partition.

Never did I realize that after flashing, the 3G stop working! I tried a lot of kindle touch image posted around by kind forummers and discover that some images has ADS supported while others don't. And most crucially, all the images around do not enable my 3G!

If you happen to have a Kindle Touch 3G + ADS partition, please post it here.

Thanks! Need help desperately. :~(
What is ADS? Normally, all capital letters indicates an acronym (the first letter of each of three words in this case). If you mean "ads" (advertisements), that is called "Special Offers" (SO). If you mean that it is a special offers kindle, those come WITHOUT special offers until you register them, at which point amazon activates special offers mode and sends advertising to it. If you later pay amazon the upgrade fee to remove special offers, then amazon removes special offers from your kindle.

All kindles start out as non-SO kindles, until you register.

If you mean something else by "Kindle Touch 3G + ADS", then please define "ADS".
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 08-24-2012, 07:58 AM   #3
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,456
Karma: 5840130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
And about enabling your 3G - I don't think there is anything "3G" about the images.
Try this command line command:
ifconfig
then try:
ifconfig -a

The first will show you all active InterFaces that are configured, the second will show you all InterFaces that are configured, even if not active.

You are looking for interface ppp0
OR, just post the output of both commands, we will read it back to you.

Next question:
Are you within range of 3G service?
Have you done anything to the 3G card? (either physically or via software)
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 09:43 AM   #4
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,067
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
The posted 3.0.2 firmware was recently extracted from a wifi-only K3. I think that the previous K3 firmware on gitbrew was from a K3 with 3G. Has anybody else had this 3G problem using the new firmware images? Has anybody had SUCCESS with 3G on the 3.0.2 images?
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 10:05 AM   #5
qlob
Official Lurker
qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.qlob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
qlob's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,048
Karma: 7096675
Join Date: Apr 2012
Device: Kindle 3.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
The posted 3.0.2 firmware was recently extracted from a wifi-only K3. I think that the previous K3 firmware on gitbrew was from a K3 with 3G. Has anybody else had this 3G problem using the new firmware images? Has anybody had SUCCESS with 3G on the 3.0.2 images?
From what I heard, (and put in the noob guide,) is that they are the same firmware, It determines what model based on the presence of a 3g modem.(I remember this being somewhere in one of the debricking forums somewhere, When I get to a computer I will try and find a link.) but I don't know if it is K3 only that does this or other models are the same between variations on hardware as well.
qlob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 01:41 PM   #6
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
ya ... apology for the ADS confusion. I am referring to special offers - SO.

I'm very sure there is 3G signal around. Tested in the same area before with the same Kindle Touch 3G. The signal was very good. I did not do anything physically to the hardware. only play with the software.

[root@kindle root]# ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:32249 (31.4 KiB) TX bytes:32249 (31.4 KiB)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:10.179.79.169 P-t-P:10.64.64.64 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:84 (84.0 B) TX bytes:54 (54.0 B)

usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <hidden>
inet addr:192.168.15.244 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:135 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:25691 (25.0 KiB) TX bytes:6894 (6.7 KiB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <hidden>
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:51 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:25854 (25.2 KiB) TX bytes:381 (381.0 B)


[root@kindle root]# ifconfig -a
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:32249 (31.4 KiB) TX bytes:32249 (31.4 KiB)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:10.179.79.169 P-t-P:10.64.64.64 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:84 (84.0 B) TX bytes:54 (54.0 B)

usb0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <hidden>
inet addr:192.168.15.244 Bcast:192.168.15.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:193 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:83 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:33639 (32.8 KiB) TX bytes:11892 (11.6 KiB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <hidden>
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:103 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

Last edited by dicalp; 08-24-2012 at 01:44 PM.
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:09 PM   #7
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,067
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
I think that you cannot use 3G until you register your kindle with amazon. Is it registered? If so, try unregistering and registering it again. You could also try doing a factory reset on it (or clear the persistent user store partition.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 02:29 PM   #8
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
tested many times. register, unregister, factory reset, ... all not working.
only wifi is working.

seriously, anybody has an image from kindle touch 3g?! i just need to test it and it can confirm my findings.
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:23 PM   #9
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,456
Karma: 5840130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicalp View Post
tested many times. register, unregister, factory reset, ... all not working.
only wifi is working.

seriously, anybody has an image from kindle touch 3g?! i just need to test it and it can confirm my findings.
Seriously, you already did:
Code:
ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
          inet addr:10.179.79.169  P-t-P:10.64.64.64  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
          RX bytes:84 (84.0 B)  TX bytes:54 (54.0 B)
Looks like it is up and running to me. That **IS** the 3G communications link.

Move the Kindle to where you have good 3G service.
Your problems are not the fault of this system image.

Last edited by knc1; 08-24-2012 at 03:28 PM.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:43 AM   #10
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
I respect all experts out there who can recommend something useful rather than pounding on something that only the 1st level support can gives. i can hack the kindle so I'm not so stupid until forgetting to turn the power on and claim that kindle touch 3g is not connecting. the link looks working at os level but the UI is not showing the 3g. The IP is wrong also compared to other IPs my device got. I have my iPhone and iPad with me, all connecting to 3g happily. and I already said, kindle touch 3g has good connection in the same location previously at the same location until I flash the image from internet. so it is NOT the 3g service that has problem.
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:45 AM   #11
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
I respect all experts out there who can recommend something useful rather than pounding on something that only the 1st level support can give. i can hack the kindle so I'm not so stupid until forgetting to turn the power on and claim that kindle touch 3g is not connecting. the link looks working at os level but the UI is not showing the 3g. Whenever I tries to connect to internet, kindle will ask me to setup the wifi. The IP is wrong also compared to IPs my other devices got. I have my iPhone and iPad with me, all connecting to 3g happily. and I already said, kindle touch 3g has good connection in the same location previously at the same location until I flash the image from internet. so it is NOT the 3g service that has problem.
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:46 AM   #12
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
if you guys have a kindle touch 3g, feel free to dd it with the images from internet and tell me if your 3g is still working after that.
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:48 AM   #13
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,456
Karma: 5840130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
Ever hear of a line break?

Did you notice **what** is special about the IP addresses reported on the PtP link?

So you feel certain you are in a good 3G coverage area - - then where else might the problem be?

I wrote that the problem is not with the system image that is loaded.
I.E: There would be no code to establish the ptp link with the 3G modem/radio (a seperate ARM SoC) if there was no code to support 3G in the image.

So you have a problem, but it is something other than the image you flashed.

Next question(s):
Give us the specifics - what system image and kernel image are you now running?
Did you flash **both** parts of the matched pair?

You have other 3G devices - did you change out the SIM card in the Kindle?

Last edited by knc1; 08-25-2012 at 04:05 AM.
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 04:01 AM   #14
dicalp
Enthusiast
dicalp began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 3G + Ads
i just know that inet addr is wrong compared to other 3g devices ip.
what did you see?
what's the command to shutdown and startup/restart the ppp0?
dicalp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 04:07 AM   #15
knc1
Embedded Cheerleader
knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.knc1 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
knc1's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,456
Karma: 5840130
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Too many.
10.0.0.0/8
knc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K5 kindle touch partition within a partition? geekmaster Kindle Developer's Corner 8 03-12-2012 08:53 AM
Ad-supported Kindle Touch - no ads? HarryT Amazon Kindle 31 03-10-2012 02:39 PM
Kindle Touch, can't get rid of the ads. Conserv Amazon Kindle 7 02-25-2012 09:31 PM
Kindle v kobo touch. Some questions answered and some feedback required. Wakingdreamer Which one should I buy? 17 01-14-2012 04:51 AM
Cover Image required by iTunes in the GUIDE, fails epubcheck 3 Oxford-eBooks ePub 5 12-09-2011 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.