Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
luis_ox
Junior Member
luis_ox began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: kindle touch
Exclamation Problem to exit ENABLE DIAGS in kindle touch

Hi everyone

First, I want to introduce in this forum, I read a lot about him and and they have been useful.
Recently, I have a problem with my kindle touch.
I intended to make the jailbreak Yifan Lu following his method, but finally it dont said “You are Jailbroken”, so that following his explanation create a blank file with the name of the root DIAGS ENABLE, but now I can not go to normal mode because when I give "disable diagnostics", instead of going out usually says "device_info.xml not found, check device settings".
please help
thank you very much
luis_ox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:58 AM   #2
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
There are several threads in the kindle developer's corner forum that cover details of this.

What you need to do is execute some linux commands inside your kindle. You can do that with a RUNME.sh script, or with an SSH session.

The commands you need (from diagnostics) are:

idme -d --bootmode main
rm -f /mnt/us/ENABLE_DIAGS
reboot


The threads that contain details are:
Select Boot: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=169645

Simple Debricking: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=170929
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:11 AM   #3
RaistlinKiwi
Junior Member
RaistlinKiwi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chennai, India
Device: Kindle Touch
I had a similar problem. When the diag mode comes up in the touch, select "device settings". Screen will flash once. go back and disable the diagnostics. This worked for me to bring it back to normal mode.
If this does not work, try out the imgtool suggested by geekmaster in the above post. That is an awesome tool to get out of difficult situations when you are not very familiar with things like me
RaistlinKiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 11:52 AM   #4
shorty5
Junior Member
shorty5 began at the beginning.
 
shorty5's Avatar
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bremen, Germany
Device: kindle touch
same problem

very buggy, but selecting device settings and go back to disable diags works for me too ... hope that will be fixed in a new version ...

greets
shorty5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
For the exit menu "disable diags" to work, you need to create a folder and file on your USB drive. There are instructions in the hacking wiki. Or you can run the first test on the top menu, which creates the missing files, then "disable diags" should work...
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:21 PM   #6
yoda.stands
Junior Member
yoda.stands began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2012
Device: Kindle Touch 4
The problem is that with my Kindle Touch 4 I can't access through SSH even if can ping it...

Code:
simone@ktiger:~$ ping 192.168.15.244
PING 192.168.15.244 (192.168.15.244) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.15.244: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=1.64 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.15.244: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.604 ms
^C
--- 192.168.15.244 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.604/1.125/1.647/0.522 ms

simone@ktiger:~$ ssh root@192.168.15.244
ssh: connect to host 192.168.15.244 port 22: Connection refused
Is there a way to solve this issue?

Thanks for your support.
yoda.stands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:53 PM   #7
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda.stands View Post
The problem is that with my Kindle Touch 4 I can't access through SSH even if can ping it...

Code:
simone@ktiger:~$ ping 192.168.15.244
PING 192.168.15.244 (192.168.15.244) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.15.244: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=1.64 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.15.244: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.604 ms
^C
--- 192.168.15.244 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.604/1.125/1.647/0.522 ms

simone@ktiger:~$ ssh root@192.168.15.244
ssh: connect to host 192.168.15.244 port 22: Connection refused
Is there a way to solve this issue?

Thanks for your support.
What is a "Kindle Touch 4"? Kindle 4 models DO NOT have a touchscreen.

In this forum, K4 = Kindle 4 (Mini), and K5 = Kindle 5 (Touch).

I (and others) have had problems accessing K4 SSH when booted from main, so we use WiFi instead. When booting from diags, SSH works fine. If you have a K5, SSH is not installed unless you added it using the "simple debricking" method and/or the simple USBnetwork hack.

To access an SSH terminal shell through WiFi, you need to enable that in the kindle's firewall, which you can do by adding a line to the "iptables" config file:
http://wiki.mobileread.com/wiki/Kind...s_through_wifi

Although that link points into the K4 hacking wiki, it will also work on a K5.

Last edited by geekmaster; 07-29-2012 at 01:58 PM.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:01 PM   #8
mspark
Junior Member
mspark began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Device: kindal
I encountered the same problem, trying to jail break my kindle (with instructions by yifan.lu) so I could install new screen savers. Finally solved it: I went into USB mode from the diagnostics menu. I deleted the ENABLE_DIAGS text file I had been instructed to put in the root of the kindle and put in the RUNME.sh and data.tar.gz (files available in http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=169645). I ejected (safely removed) the kindle. Then I then chose “D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags” then “D) Disable Diagnostics” and “Q) To continue” -- until it rebooted. The screen said runme.sh was running then returned me to my original homescreen. I deleted the runme files from the root of the kindle. The kindle is also now successful jailbroken.

Last edited by mspark; 08-04-2012 at 09:09 PM.
mspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle 4 Crashed in Diags Mode drajov Amazon Kindle 6 07-25-2012 04:34 PM
Enable Bluetooth on Rooted Simple Touch hard_boiled Nook Developer's Corner 7 02-29-2012 05:55 AM
Kindle Touch Problem: I Often Go Back Instead of Going Forward ny10522 Amazon Kindle 2 01-20-2012 05:29 PM
Troubleshooting kindle touch problem, book list does not renew now paix Amazon Kindle 5 01-08-2012 09:25 PM
Touch how to enable third-party input method in rooted nook touch tigerszheng Barnes & Noble NOOK 5 10-24-2011 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.