Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2012, 08:47 AM   #1
NetworkGuy
Junior Member
NetworkGuy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: Sony
Question Calibre Catalog Question

Hi,

I am thinking of installing Calibre on a Media Server that I have and using the Content Server to make books available on my network. But this system does not really have a monitor and keyboard attached unless I am doing trouble shooting.

My question is what would happen if I started Calibre on a different PC that was using the same catalog? Will the copy on the Media Server recognize the changes? Or will this cause problems and corrupt the catalog?

Thanks,
John
NetworkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 02:49 PM   #2
NetworkGuy
Junior Member
NetworkGuy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: Sony
123 views and no comments?

John
NetworkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 03-19-2012, 02:55 PM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,630
Karma: 5628865
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Calibre is Single User (single system).
The content server and the GUI are one system.

VNC/RDC to your headless server for all Calibre data(book) changes
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 12:35 PM   #4
NetworkGuy
Junior Member
NetworkGuy began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: Sony
The Content Server can be run seperate from the Calibre program. What would be the impact of running th content server on my Media Server and updating from a different PC?

John
NetworkGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 10:02 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,630
Karma: 5628865
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
The Content Server can be run seperate from the Calibre program. What would be the impact of running th content server on my Media Server and updating from a different PC?

John
Tat is 2 Systems involved
The SQL DB server is running on the Media Server in your case. AStarting a GUI on you PC stars ANOTHER SQL server

I use VNC or RDC to remote control the PC running Calibre if I am remote.
That is legal (DB wise )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Calibre to catalog AudioBooks read113 Library Management 11 04-17-2012 03:47 AM
Calibre catalog format skipray Library Management 1 02-17-2011 01:10 AM
Calibre as Catalog? jekkii Library Management 11 01-08-2011 12:15 PM
Question about Calibre Catalog "view" and Icons soloist66 Calibre 4 11-07-2010 08:41 PM
Catalog question Jabby Library Management 8 10-28-2010 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.