Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
bosun120
Member Retired
bosun120 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 40
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Android
Port Calibre settings/plugins/etc. on one computer to another?

Hi,

I was wondering if it was possible to port Calibre settings/installed plugins/etc. from one computer to another (Windows). For example, I have Calibre set up the way I want it on a laptop, and I want it the exact same way on a desktop with a fresh install of Calibre. Is there a way to move a settings file/folder or something so that the new install is mirrored exactly as it is on the other computer?

Note I am talking about settings/plugins here, I know about the way you can move the Calibre library folder (books + metadata) around.

Thanks.
bosun120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,100
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosun120 View Post
Hi,

I was wondering if it was possible to port Calibre settings/installed plugins/etc. from one computer to another (Windows). For example, I have Calibre set up the way I want it on a laptop, and I want it the exact same way on a desktop with a fresh install of Calibre. Is there a way to move a settings file/folder or something so that the new install is mirrored exactly as it is on the other computer?

Note I am talking about settings/plugins here, I know about the way you can move the Calibre library folder (books + metadata) around.

Thanks.
Some settings are part of metadata.db,
So I would create an empty library (from the existing one) using the copy structure tick
The other place for settings is the configuration directory.

BUT
AFAIK plugins still need to be installed the standard way
(Kiwidude or crew can probably answer the Before or After the configuration folder that was copied is placed)
The operating system should be the same
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:06 PM   #3
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,230
Karma: 1345754
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
If you do a search you can find threads that discuss the plugins issue. The short answer to your question is unless your calibre configuration folder ends up in exactly the same place (i.e. same OS, same user account to get the same user profile folder path) then as theDucks says you will need to reinstall the plugins.

Once installed, if you close calibre and then copy across the json configuration files for the plugins that should allow you to keep any specific plugin configuration. Not guaranteed to work for every plugin, but should work for most. One gotcha however will be that if you take theducks advice on creating a brand new library, it will have a different library id. So plugins that have library specific settings (like Kindle Collecitons, Reading List and others) won't know about that library id. So you will either have to manually edit the relevant json files or re-do your settings.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:30 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,100
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwidude View Post
One gotcha however will be that if you take theducks advice on creating a brand new library, it will have a different library id. So plugins that have library specific settings (like Kindle Collecitons, Reading List and others) won't know about that library id. So you will either have to manually edit the relevant json files or re-do your settings.


Learned something
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 12:53 AM   #5
bosun120
Member Retired
bosun120 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 23
Karma: 40
Join Date: Sep 2011
Device: Android
The only plugins I'm using are Reading List, Quality Check, and Extract ISBN, which are fairly easy to set up.

What about porting over the settings file (ie. UI setup, etc.)? Is that possible and if so how?

Thx.
bosun120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:31 PM   #6
ilovejedd
hopeless n00b
ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ilovejedd ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,312
Karma: 5761596
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: PRS-350, Nexus S, Galaxy S, Nook Color, iPhone4, iPT4, iPad 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosun120 View Post
What about porting over the settings file (ie. UI setup, etc.)? Is that possible and if so how?
One reason I like to use Calibre Portable instead of a normal install. Settings are easily transferred over to a different machine. So far, all of the plug-ins I've used have no issues with changing locations (e.g. from "F:\PortableApps\Calibre Portable" in PC1 -> "G:\PortableApps\Calibre" Portable in PC2).
ilovejedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to export settings to another computer? Dars Veider Library Management 4 11-06-2011 07:03 PM
Calibre can't find zipped plugins Henry Flower Calibre 2 06-14-2011 12:10 PM
Best Calibre plugins/tweaks baronrus Kobo Reader 2 05-25-2011 12:09 AM
Troubleshooting Calibre Settings to replicate Amazon store settings? kdwosk Amazon Kindle 0 02-22-2011 03:34 PM
Computer connection issues with PP - port trouble? Doranwen Astak EZReader 1 10-18-2010 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.