Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2012, 11:34 PM   #1
KDA1
Member
KDA1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle 4 wifi
Move books to a Collection without Calibre?

Will someone please tell me how to move a book to a specific Collection on my Kindle 4 NT without using Calibre? Yes, I assume it's done locally.

It would be easier and faster for me to add a book to a Collection without having to reset my Kindle or manage my collection content with Calibre.
KDA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,230
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDA1 View Post
Will someone please tell me how to move a book to a specific Collection on my Kindle 4 NT without using Calibre? Yes, I assume it's done locally.

It would be easier and faster for me to add a book to a Collection without having to reset my Kindle or manage my collection content with Calibre.
This is a Kindle forum type question.
On the Home Menu, select the book, IIRC (My wife has the K4NT) hit the Menu again. You should see a add to collection item (existing collections).
New collections are created from the home level menu
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-09-2012, 07:01 AM   #3
KDA1
Member
KDA1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle 4 wifi
Understood

I should've mentioned I know how to do that one.

It's too slow when you have a whole lot of books to put into collections.

I want to be able to do it while connected to the USB cord and opening and working within the Kindle folders themselves.
KDA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:48 AM   #4
Synamon
Lunatic
Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Synamon ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Synamon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,556
Karma: 3790808
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Land of the Loonie
Device: Kindle Paperwhite and Keyboard, Kobo Aura, iPad mini, iPod Touch
Others here with Kindle 4s make their collections using Kindle for PC and and then import them to their Kindle. See this thread for more information.
Synamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 04:40 PM   #5
KDA1
Member
KDA1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: Kindle 4 wifi
Thank you but I only run Linux. Perhaps there's a version for Linux?
KDA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 04:39 AM   #6
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,773
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDA1 View Post
Thank you but I only run Linux. Perhaps there's a version for Linux?
Perhaps you would have better luck getting an answer if you ask this question in the Kindle Forum.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Move Document to Collection Spoudason Kindle Developer's Corner 4 07-16-2011 09:49 PM
copy / move books between calibre libraries cybmole Calibre 4 02-18-2011 01:58 AM
calibre removes the collection on my device that I made for my library books LadyHeather Calibre 5 01-06-2011 10:01 AM
set calibre to move books gheatza Calibre 0 10-19-2010 01:10 PM
How do I move Calibre to a new laptop? ladyloriana Calibre 3 08-12-2010 11:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.